Man Up! : Season 1

  • Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 18, 2011
Metascore
36

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 20
  2. Negative: 11 out of 20

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Oct 18, 2011
    30
    Man Up!, to its credit, is the better of the three: it's at least scantly funnier than the retro Last Man Standing, and the upcoming cross-dressing comedy, Work It, will make Last Man Standing look like Mamet.
  2. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Oct 18, 2011
    30
    A charmless buddy comedy where three tiresome stooges question their embattled masculinity.
  3. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Oct 17, 2011
    30
    It's just the sheer bone-idle laziness of the writing, which is a dumbed-way-down "Modern Family" crossed with watered-way-down "Two and a Half Men."
  4. Reviewed by: Dorothy Rabinowitz
    Oct 14, 2011
    30
    The real deficiency, the one that matters, that's evident in all of them is in the writing of comedy, the capacity to imagine characters--a lack impossible to overcome, and this case is no exception.
  5. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Oct 10, 2011
    30
    Subtlety is not this show's strong suit. That lack of tonal balance dooms the show.
  6. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Oct 28, 2011
    25
    The only thing that might make them come to their senses would be a violent but salutary shock. Like Cancellation. [7 Nov 2011, p.45]
  7. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Oct 17, 2011
    25
    The problem with this trio isn't that they're unmanly; it's that they're morons.
  8. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Oct 11, 2011
    25
    Allen's show may be a clone of "Home Improvement," but it's somewhat watchable. Man Up just isn't.
  9. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 21, 2011
    25
    There's no zing whatsoever left in leftover Patio Man material like that, but the cast members (including Christopher Moynihan and Dan Folger as Will's unlikable fellow man-children) give it whatever energy they can muster.
  10. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Oct 18, 2011
    20
    The setup could be mildly amusing if it weren't more common than Starbucks.
  11. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Oct 18, 2011
    10
    No show in the history of television has more relentlessly defamed the male gender as ABC's Man Up!, an alleged sitcom that debuts Tuesday and with any luck will be dead and buried, along with its producers, by Wednesday.
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Nov 5, 2011
    8
    Please let this show find an audience. It is funny as hell, quirky, different, and thoroughly entertaining. It has an excellent cast, andPlease let this show find an audience. It is funny as hell, quirky, different, and thoroughly entertaining. It has an excellent cast, and the first episodes I've seen show REAL promise. Full Review »
  2. Oct 22, 2011
    10
    It has a great cast and a lot of potential. Critics are vastly wrong on this one. It is so funny, and Dan Fogler is by far the funniest guy inIt has a great cast and a lot of potential. Critics are vastly wrong on this one. It is so funny, and Dan Fogler is by far the funniest guy in this show. I've been a fan of his for years. I really hope this show lasts!! Full Review »
  3. Oct 20, 2011
    10
    I have to say, despite even seeing a bunch of clips online, I still was pleasantly entertained. I think critics need to stop analysing it soI have to say, despite even seeing a bunch of clips online, I still was pleasantly entertained. I think critics need to stop analysing it so 'fluffin' hard and like it for what it is....a comedy about some real-type guys who feel familiar and are fun to watch.

    Is it brand new type comedy? No. But I dare you to show me something that is? I have watched Last Man Standing (blah) and Modern Family (good) and I think Man Up! beats them both hands down.

    If you don't over-analyse it, you will enjoy it for what it is...SIMPLE FUN COMEDY!

    Sometimes it's not about pushing the envelope, or being different and more about just being the guys next door! It's a character show. Like the characters, like the show.
    Full Review »