Man Up! : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 18, 2011
Man Up! Image
Metascore
36

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 29 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 20
  2. Negative: 11 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Sep 21, 2011
    67
    The actors are likable, including the Ty Burrell-y Zickel, but this is familiar bromantic terrain.
  2. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Oct 17, 2011
    58
    There's a smoldering ember of promise here, mainly in the cast, even if the pilot tended to smother it.
  3. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Oct 17, 2011
    50
    The whole enterprise seems way too wobbly to walk upright under its own power.
  4. Reviewed by: Dorothy Rabinowitz
    Oct 14, 2011
    30
    The real deficiency, the one that matters, that's evident in all of them is in the writing of comedy, the capacity to imagine characters--a lack impossible to overcome, and this case is no exception.
  5. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Oct 18, 2011
    30
    A charmless buddy comedy where three tiresome stooges question their embattled masculinity.
  6. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Oct 28, 2011
    25
    The only thing that might make them come to their senses would be a violent but salutary shock. Like Cancellation. [7 Nov 2011, p.45]
  7. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Oct 18, 2011
    10
    No show in the history of television has more relentlessly defamed the male gender as ABC's Man Up!, an alleged sitcom that debuts Tuesday and with any luck will be dead and buried, along with its producers, by Wednesday.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Oct 22, 2011
    10
    It has a great cast and a lot of potential. Critics are vastly wrong on this one. It is so funny, and Dan Fogler is by far the funniest guy inIt has a great cast and a lot of potential. Critics are vastly wrong on this one. It is so funny, and Dan Fogler is by far the funniest guy in this show. I've been a fan of his for years. I really hope this show lasts!! Expand
  2. Oct 20, 2011
    10
    Had no expectaion, checked it out on Hulu. Loved it, watched it two times in a row. Very funny. Strongly insist that everyone give it aHad no expectaion, checked it out on Hulu. Loved it, watched it two times in a row. Very funny. Strongly insist that everyone give it a shot. You will not be disapointed. Expand
  3. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    I think this is the funniest new show on this season. The humor may be simple but it is true to real life. As a man I enjoy seeing a sitcomI think this is the funniest new show on this season. The humor may be simple but it is true to real life. As a man I enjoy seeing a sitcom that is simple, smart, irreverant, and very funny, Anyone I know that has seen it has laughed very hard. ABC would be making a huge mistake if they do not give this show a real chance to make it. Please keep my faith that at least one or two of the shows that I can stand watching, Modern Family is the other, will stay on the air. Expand
  4. Oct 20, 2011
    10
    I have to say, despite even seeing a bunch of clips online, I still was pleasantly entertained. I think critics need to stop analysing it soI have to say, despite even seeing a bunch of clips online, I still was pleasantly entertained. I think critics need to stop analysing it so 'fluffin' hard and like it for what it is....a comedy about some real-type guys who feel familiar and are fun to watch.

    Is it brand new type comedy? No. But I dare you to show me something that is? I have watched Last Man Standing (blah) and Modern Family (good) and I think Man Up! beats them both hands down.

    If you don't over-analyse it, you will enjoy it for what it is...SIMPLE FUN COMEDY!

    Sometimes it's not about pushing the envelope, or being different and more about just being the guys next door! It's a character show. Like the characters, like the show.
    Expand
  5. Nov 5, 2011
    8
    Please let this show find an audience. It is funny as hell, quirky, different, and thoroughly entertaining. It has an excellent cast, andPlease let this show find an audience. It is funny as hell, quirky, different, and thoroughly entertaining. It has an excellent cast, and the first episodes I've seen show REAL promise. Collapse
  6. Mar 18, 2012
    7
    And the critics strike again! Giving this way lower score than '2 Broke Girls' or even 'How to Be a Gentleman' is a disgrace. This show is notAnd the critics strike again! Giving this way lower score than '2 Broke Girls' or even 'How to Be a Gentleman' is a disgrace. This show is not the best thing ever, but it's pretty good. It was smart, funny and had many detailed characters that were brilliantly acted by a great cast. Shame it got cancelled. It's definitely better than '2 Broke Girls', which is currently rated 66 on Metacritic. Expand
  7. Dec 1, 2011
    3
    ABC usually gets shows right but Man Up! is in my opinion a terrible comedy. It has the essence of been there done that and I have a feelingABC usually gets shows right but Man Up! is in my opinion a terrible comedy. It has the essence of been there done that and I have a feeling it will be cancelled before Season 1 is over. It's a lame and boring comedy about men that are too childish to be adults. This show is like How to be a Gentleman on CBS. How to be a Gentleman is about a Gentleman that teaches a jock on how to be a gentleman. Almost the same thing, Man Up! is about 3 guys that are too childish too be adults. You see how it pieces out? How to Be a Gentleman got cancelled after 4 episodes and pretty soon Man Up! will be gone.
    I'll give it a 3 because it's not entirely terrible, it's still has some funny parts to it.
    Expand

See all 9 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2011 TV Scorecard: The Best & Worst New Shows

    Fall 2011 TV Scorecard: The Best & Worst New Shows Image
    Published: December 1, 2011
    The fall season is over, so it's time for our annual rankings of the best and worst new shows of the season. Plus, compare the records of the five broadcast networks, and see how 2011 stacks up to the year before.