Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Reviewed by: Allison Keene
    Nov 13, 2012
    70
    Though there are millennia being covered, some may find the material oversimplified or oversanitized, but it's still an engaging and appealingly presented overview.
  2. Reviewed by: Gail Pennington
    Nov 13, 2012
    63
    Historical re-enactments almost always seem cheesy, especially when accompanied by a soaring score and melodramatic narration (by Josh Brolin). But these are arguably better than most.
  3. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Nov 13, 2012
    75
    Mankind: The Story of All of Us is that college freshman survey course, a buffet of tasty data, a little bit about a lot. It might leave you hungry for more.
  4. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Nov 13, 2012
    88
    This excellent series has too many of the usual experts and way too many ridiculous sound effects.
  5. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Nov 12, 2012
    67
    Stuck on hyper-drive and stuffed with hyperbole, Mankind: The Story of All of Us is history a-go-go from a programmer that used to obey a few speed limits.
  6. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Nov 12, 2012
    75
    The show works and it's fun. [12 Nov 2012, p.43]
  7. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Nov 12, 2012
    75
    This is history lite, to be sure, but it's probably a lot livelier than your sixth-grade history class was.
  8. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Nov 12, 2012
    75
    The series' historic recreations are convincing, for the most part, although at times, the History Channel can't help itself and falls back into some of it cheesier bad habits.
  9. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Nov 12, 2012
    83
    It aims for epic, and sometimes hits epic--but it's a bit shallow.
User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 6
  2. Negative: 4 out of 6
  1. Dec 12, 2012
    1
    I've watched this series and saved the episodes for possible watching by visiting grandchildren. Having seen all the episodes through episodeI've watched this series and saved the episodes for possible watching by visiting grandchildren. Having seen all the episodes through episode 15, my wife and I have decided that we wouldn't want our grandchildren to watch the series. Much of the photography is well done and the series is fairly entertaining, but we are dumbfounded by the number of historical factual inaccuracies and the burdensome biased political philosophy that is stated as historical fact. The writing is so bad, I tried to find out who the writers were. I discovered that no names are credited for the series, and I understand as I would want to hide my name as well. My wife and I have just deleted the series from my DVD. Full Review »
  2. Dec 12, 2012
    2
    the show is entertaining but its history is flawed and revisionist . It is full of self loathing for the west, portraying the crusades as anthe show is entertaining but its history is flawed and revisionist . It is full of self loathing for the west, portraying the crusades as an evil conquest of muslim lands instead of an attempt to stem islamic expansion into the west . It was a response to muslim attempts at world domination . It then went on to perpetuate the myth of islamic science and tolerance . The renaisance in Europe was a direct result of a christian and jewish brain drain from islamic tyrany . Who put up the money for this show , Saudi Arabia? Full Review »
  3. Jul 21, 2013
    3
    Story of us all? Really? Looks to me the only story about the Americans and English inventors, explorers and revolutionaries. The film barelyStory of us all? Really? Looks to me the only story about the Americans and English inventors, explorers and revolutionaries. The film barely even touches on the Age of Enlightenment or the Renaissance, or the contributions by Japan, India, Russia, Germany, French and all other great nations. Thanks to the China Wall and their invention of gunpowder, the Chinese gets some mention. There is really no mention of music and literature. And hello, there are also other significant religions like Buddhism and Hinduism that deserve mention. Do Asians, Africans, Australians (oh yes, they mentioned the Aboriginals!), Russians, Scandinavians (yes, they mention the Vikings!) count at all because it sounds like they didn't contribute much to human kind. I just hope whoever wrote the script and directed the film will never be world history teachers of our children. Just watch this as entertainment. And seriously, why do they have some TV news reader among the experts to talk about history when he has no expertise at all. But I like the ex Navy Seals guy among the interviewees who says the most obvious things. I like the way he is dramatic. Humorous. I would rate this 3 out of 10 but thanks to the great graphics, animations and photography, the saviours of this awful show Full Review »