Marvel's Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 24, 2013
Season #: 1, 2, 3
Marvel's Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D Image
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 728 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Agent Phil Coulson (Clark Gregg) leads a group of S.H.I.E.L.D. agents: Grant Ward (Brett Dalton), Melinda May (Ming-Na Wen), Leo Fitz (Iain De Caestecker), Jemma Simmons (Elizabeth Henstridge), and new recruit Skye (Chloe Bennet) to investigate and protect the world from the unknown. TheAgent Phil Coulson (Clark Gregg) leads a group of S.H.I.E.L.D. agents: Grant Ward (Brett Dalton), Melinda May (Ming-Na Wen), Leo Fitz (Iain De Caestecker), Jemma Simmons (Elizabeth Henstridge), and new recruit Skye (Chloe Bennet) to investigate and protect the world from the unknown. The first live-action series set in the Marvel Cinematic Universe comes from The Avengers director Joss Whedon, along with Jed Whedon and Maurissa Tancharoen. Expand
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Science Fiction
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Sep 23, 2013
    100
    As with "The Avengers," Whedon's ear and sensibilities match the material perfectly.
  2. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Sep 24, 2013
    83
    Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. looks to be the most fun you’ll find in an hour of prime time this fall.
  3. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Sep 24, 2013
    80
    Beyond the breezy dialogue, MAoS is terrific-looking and has action scenes that are above par for primetime. Not enough to wow you, but a fun date.
  4. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Sep 22, 2013
    75
    Just enough geeky insider stuff to keep the fan-boys from grousing too much, but an even bigger portion of well-written action, drama, humor and intricate plot details to hook viewers who gave up comic books before Steve Canyon was grounded.
  5. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Sep 24, 2013
    75
    Gregg’s resurrected Coulson so far is the much-needed glue, lending a familiar presence and sturdy countenance.
  6. Reviewed by: Sarah Rodman
    Sep 24, 2013
    70
    Everything works and the actors range from fine to good--although the fast-talking chatter between De Caestecker and Henstridge gets old quickly--but it doesn’t exactly crackle with excitement. It’s fun, but a little flat in spots.
  7. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Sep 24, 2013
    40
    The shame is that a series about a band of heroes trying to hunt down more potential heroes could be the perfect antidote to TV’s own overly dark cliché: the anti-hero. But instead it resists the call, too self-serious to be really goofy, and yet too fan-boyish to rescue even one hour of television from mediocrity.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 160
  2. Negative: 55 out of 160
  1. Sep 24, 2013
    10
    Great pilot, delicious teasers, more than a few nods to the Marvel movie history. There is just enough CGI to be interesting and the ratio ofGreat pilot, delicious teasers, more than a few nods to the Marvel movie history. There is just enough CGI to be interesting and the ratio of reality and fantasy is perfect to keep you immersed and enamored.

    And the casting, of course, is just perfect.
    Expand
  2. May 30, 2015
    10
    There's a lot of reviews from 2013 here. This has slowly become the best show on TV. It's FUN. Not realistic, not shocking (although there areThere's a lot of reviews from 2013 here. This has slowly become the best show on TV. It's FUN. Not realistic, not shocking (although there are is a great story, full of twists and surprises), it's not gritty or gory or anything like that. It's fun, and there isn't enough of that on TV. They have a great trend of taking things you may find unconvincing or even weak, and turning it on its head, using any potential weakness as a strength... which is a stunning habit to have in a show! Expand
  3. May 25, 2015
    9
    A lot of people didn’t like the show until Captain America: The Winter Solider’s events impacted the show. Honestly, as I was catching up toA lot of people didn’t like the show until Captain America: The Winter Solider’s events impacted the show. Honestly, as I was catching up to the show, I enjoyed the show already from the second episode. However, it was understandable why many people didn’t like the show because the first couple of episodes felt more of a procedural. However, I am glad those episodes helped establish the characters because by the time I reached the post Winter Solider episodes, my feels were leaked.

    The cast performances in the show are actually great and I would totally disagree with the people who think the acting in the show is bad. All of the main cast played their roles so well that they became icons for Marvel Cinematic Universe nerds like me. However, the ones who had the best performances are Clark Gregg and Chloe Bennett as Phil Coulson and Skye respectively.

    The arcs in this season were excellently executed and well-planned. I liked how the arcs had satisfying answers yet asks more questions about the same arc in the next season. I also liked how everything that has happened in the show is tracked back to one thing which I won’t spoil even though it’s already a year since the first season ended by the time I posted this review.

    The character development has made me care about the characters and even though some of the characters were not given much development until the Winter Solider’s events that impacted the show, it helps to relate to those characters because those characters, especially FitzSimmons will have a bigger, much more emotional character development in the next season in which I am currently catching up by the time I posted this review.

    The first season of Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. may not be everyone’s favorite but this season is totally underrated and I suggest that everyone who is considering watching this show to be patient with the filler episodes because it’s going to be worth it when you watch the episode that has turned the show around.
    Expand
  4. Nov 30, 2013
    7
    An enjoyable show but so far it seems too procedural to me. If you're missing an episode usually you don't miss much. Sure there are signsAn enjoyable show but so far it seems too procedural to me. If you're missing an episode usually you don't miss much. Sure there are signs that there's something bigger going on but most episodes don't relate to that storyline. If Agents of Shield wants to keep its ratings on a decent level then I think it needs to rely less on standalone-episodes. There would be a lot potential here. And maybe put conflicts between the main characters more in the center. Expand
  5. Mar 18, 2016
    4
    Kind of show where they keep making new story if they keep getting money from the studio. Predictable story and bad acting. I only like SkyeKind of show where they keep making new story if they keep getting money from the studio. Predictable story and bad acting. I only like Skye and may. It's the Arrow of Marvel if you want really watch superhero show go watch Daredevil, million times better. Expand
  6. Oct 13, 2013
    3
    Really boring show. I´m a big Whedon & Marvel´s fan but this series make me yawn. I miss a black character here, not just only a small stellarReally boring show. I´m a big Whedon & Marvel´s fan but this series make me yawn. I miss a black character here, not just only a small stellar appearance of mr. Jackson. The two scientist... I know they´re trying the Xander-Willow rol stuff here, but c´mon, I think with one of these guys is enough. The McGuffins used until now are mediocre. An hydra laser?? Please... I´m stuck with the third episode, I stopped two days ago to go to the bathroom and... well... I dont really care what happens next so I left to see the season three of Teen Wolf, the worthy successor of a Joss Whedon tv show. So this is Agents of Shield, really flat characters and mediocre plots. I don´t expect the show goes better so i´ll stop watching this by now. Sorry if i had spelling mistakes, i haven´t written on english in a long time Expand
  7. Mar 7, 2014
    0
    I made it through 3 or 4 episodes before giving up on this show. Bad acting, dull characters, boring storylines, awful special effects. All II made it through 3 or 4 episodes before giving up on this show. Bad acting, dull characters, boring storylines, awful special effects. All I could think was "Why bother?" for everyone involved. Expand

See all 160 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Best/Worst TV Shows Based on Comic Books

    Ranked: Best/Worst TV Shows Based on Comic Books Image
    Published: June 18, 2015
    Find rankings for all TV series based on comics and graphic novels from the past 30 years.
  2. Ranked: The Best & Worst TV Shows Based on Movies

    Ranked: The Best & Worst TV Shows Based on Movies Image
    Published: June 11, 2014
    Making the jump from the big screen to the TV screen is something that few television shows have pulled off successfully. We look at the best and worst film-to-TV adaptations of the past 30 years, including shows like The Returned, Fargo, and Buffy the Vampire Slayer.
  3. Fall TV 2nd Look: Marvel's Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.

    Fall TV 2nd Look: Marvel's Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. Image
    Published: November 14, 2013
    After a promising start, ABC's freshman drama has been tumbling in the ratings and disappointing critics and fans. What exactly is wrong with Agents of SHIELD? Get the latest assessments from a variety of TV critics.
  4. 2013 Fall TV Preview: Our Comprehensive Guide to the Season's New and Returning Shows

    2013 Fall TV Preview: Our Comprehensive Guide to the Season's New and Returning Shows Image
    Published: August 28, 2013
    Get a detailed look at every new and returning show coming to broadcast and cable networks this fall, including Marvel's Agents of SHIELD, Sleepy Hollow, The Crazy Ones, Homeland, Boardwalk Empire, The Walking Dead, Sons of Anarchy, and much more.