• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 24, 2013
  • Season #: 1
Marvel's Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D Image
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 425 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Agent Phil Coulson (Clark Gregg) leads a group of S.H.I.E.L.D. agents: Grant Ward (Brett Dalton), Melinda May (Ming-Na Wen), Leo Fitz (Iain De Caestecker), Jemma Simmons (Elizabeth Henstridge), and new recruit Skye (Chloe Bennet) to investigate and protect the world from the unknown. The first live-action series set in the Marvel Cinematic Universe comes from The Avengers director Joss Whedon, along with Jed Whedon and Maurissa Tancharoen. Expand
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Science Fiction
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Sep 23, 2013
    100
    As with "The Avengers," Whedon's ear and sensibilities match the material perfectly.
  2. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Sep 24, 2013
    83
    Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. looks to be the most fun you’ll find in an hour of prime time this fall.
  3. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Sep 24, 2013
    80
    The pilot does a deft job of managing expectations for a world we're used to seeing splashed on a larger screen.
  4. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Sep 22, 2013
    75
    Just enough geeky insider stuff to keep the fan-boys from grousing too much, but an even bigger portion of well-written action, drama, humor and intricate plot details to hook viewers who gave up comic books before Steve Canyon was grounded.
  5. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Sep 24, 2013
    75
    Gregg’s resurrected Coulson so far is the much-needed glue, lending a familiar presence and sturdy countenance.
  6. Reviewed by: Sarah Rodman
    Sep 24, 2013
    70
    Everything works and the actors range from fine to good--although the fast-talking chatter between De Caestecker and Henstridge gets old quickly--but it doesn’t exactly crackle with excitement. It’s fun, but a little flat in spots.
  7. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Sep 24, 2013
    40
    The shame is that a series about a band of heroes trying to hunt down more potential heroes could be the perfect antidote to TV’s own overly dark cliché: the anti-hero. But instead it resists the call, too self-serious to be really goofy, and yet too fan-boyish to rescue even one hour of television from mediocrity.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 124
  2. Negative: 49 out of 124
  1. Sep 24, 2013
    10
    Great pilot, delicious teasers, more than a few nods to the Marvel movie history. There is just enough CGI to be interesting and the ratio of reality and fantasy is perfect to keep you immersed and enamored.

    And the casting, of course, is just perfect.
    Expand
  2. Nov 17, 2013
    10
    SHIELD is increasingly achieving what it is intended to do for its fan base.

    It is delivering on both the graphic novel/comic book and
    long-arc plot genres. It has action, tech, emotions and romantic overtures that other programs can only hope for. It can appeal to a range of demographics. From a arc perspective, each week pulls back the curtain on tech gee wiz (the plane hover!), character back-story and undercurrents (internal SHIELD intrigue and villains).

    Balance is difficult. Unfolding too fast and superficial would disappoint core fans hungering for depth. Too slow will make it more difficult to engage new-comers. Some criticize for insufficient tie from episode to episode. Yet, how many times have series failed by being so serialized, new-comers can't easily join in?

    Stress is on the strengths. As the storyline unfolds it's generally getting better and planting seeds for a rich list of future episodes. While I have my favorite episodes (6 & 7 were especially strong in many ways compared to the pilot), mostly would be delighted to be a fly on the wall in the writing room to see the chemistry that produces the scripts and inspired the casting. Recall, it was the writing team and Clark Gregg that breathed life into Phil Coulson a character not in the the Marvel canon. That's a fan accomplishment.

    Consider the business model. ABC's, really Disney's, commitment to the franchise and excellent track record in managing such franchises, gives SHIELD runway to unfold in this balanced way that could weave together the movies and games for years to come. Too many reviewers emphasize the number drop without realizing numbers are still respectable and the integrated business model might be quite respectable including the Verizon tag-on. SHIELD's demographics also are pleasing buyers for key advertisers.
    Expand
  3. Sep 25, 2013
    8
    I'm so glad to see Joss back on TV! My only concern is common folk don't appreciate his humor. Which was classic Whedon!
    If he can control a
    pace of twists it could work. But cramming all that stuff in the first episode is gonna make mainstream confused and lack comprehension. Out of all people he should know that wont work for ratings.
    Loved the pilot!!!!
    Great hour and I fracking thought it was amazing.
    Anything Mr. Whedon does is always a joy to participate in.
    Expand
  4. Sep 29, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I really hope that the pilot episode is not a sign of things to come. I found it relied too heavily on links to the Marvel Phase One group of movies via references and even plot elements like Extremis (personally I did not want to be so blatantly reminded of Iron Man 3). I did not like the computer hacker character Skye very much, as she seems to be a Mary Sue, although that could be remedied with character development and better writing down the road, so I'm not going to write her off just yet. The character played by J. August Richards, an out-of-work factory worker and single father, unfairly fired by his greedy, evil employers could not have had a more trite background if they'd tried to give him one; he ends up being an angry black man (never a good cliche) who signs up to be a guinea pig for medical experiments being conducted by some shadowy organization (probably A.I.M. or maybe Hydra), whose anger threatens to cause him to explode... literally. There's definitely room for improvement, and I hope this show does. It has the potential to remind fans of the better Marvel superhero movies rather than the middling ones (like Iron Man 2, Iron Man 3, Thor). Expand
  5. Sep 27, 2013
    3
    Pilot episode was boring and predictable.Cheap casting and meaningless dialog and want be last than first season because surely rating gonging to be down an ABC network has notorious history of canceling shows, Expand
  6. Oct 9, 2013
    2
    Coulson is OK, but compared to the rest of the characters he is dazzling. The others are dull and many of them overact to an annoying degree, particularly the hacker. It is really off-putting. Furthermore, they seem to use the Warehouse 13 method of Unexplained Devices. That is, they have devices that can put the characters in jeopardy, but they never bother to explain where the devices come from or why they are there--not a single spec of back story. OK, I may be wrong about this, as I didn't finish watching the second episode because I was so bored. But if they did use the Unexplained (or barely explained) Devices method, then it is lazy writing that leaves viewers unsatisfied. I hope they don't continue in this vein. Also, how old are most of these characters? Twelve? Let's have some variety in race, age, and looks. Everybody doesn't have to be pretty. I expected more from Whedon. I thought the Avengers film was very good and I never watch that type of film. Collapse
  7. Nov 6, 2013
    0
    The writing is lackluster and cliche, but it's really the characters that damn the series. The actors have absolutely no presence or chemistry with each other. Is Joss Whedon even involved with this show? He's known for his ability to take mediocre actors and build a powerhouse ensemble performances out of them and it's really hard to believe he had any hand in this mess whatsoever. Expand

See all 124 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall TV 2nd Look: Marvel's Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.

    Fall TV 2nd Look: Marvel's Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. Image
    Published: November 14, 2013
    After a promising start, ABC's freshman drama has been tumbling in the ratings and disappointing critics and fans. What exactly is wrong with Agents of SHIELD? Get the latest assessments from a variety of TV critics.
  2. 2013 Fall TV Preview: Our Comprehensive Guide to the Season's New and Returning Shows

    2013 Fall TV Preview: Our Comprehensive Guide to the Season's New and Returning Shows Image
    Published: August 28, 2013
    Get a detailed look at every new and returning show coming to broadcast and cable networks this fall, including Marvel's Agents of SHIELD, Sleepy Hollow, The Crazy Ones, Homeland, Boardwalk Empire, The Walking Dead, Sons of Anarchy, and much more.