Marvel's Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 24, 2013
Season #: 1, 2, 3
Marvel's Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D Image
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 660 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Agent Phil Coulson (Clark Gregg) leads a group of S.H.I.E.L.D. agents: Grant Ward (Brett Dalton), Melinda May (Ming-Na Wen), Leo Fitz (Iain De Caestecker), Jemma Simmons (Elizabeth Henstridge), and new recruit Skye (Chloe Bennet) to investigate and protect the world from the unknown. TheAgent Phil Coulson (Clark Gregg) leads a group of S.H.I.E.L.D. agents: Grant Ward (Brett Dalton), Melinda May (Ming-Na Wen), Leo Fitz (Iain De Caestecker), Jemma Simmons (Elizabeth Henstridge), and new recruit Skye (Chloe Bennet) to investigate and protect the world from the unknown. The first live-action series set in the Marvel Cinematic Universe comes from The Avengers director Joss Whedon, along with Jed Whedon and Maurissa Tancharoen. Expand
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Science Fiction
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Sep 23, 2013
    100
    As with "The Avengers," Whedon's ear and sensibilities match the material perfectly.
  2. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Sep 24, 2013
    83
    Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. looks to be the most fun you’ll find in an hour of prime time this fall.
  3. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Sep 24, 2013
    80
    Beyond the breezy dialogue, MAoS is terrific-looking and has action scenes that are above par for primetime. Not enough to wow you, but a fun date.
  4. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Sep 22, 2013
    75
    Just enough geeky insider stuff to keep the fan-boys from grousing too much, but an even bigger portion of well-written action, drama, humor and intricate plot details to hook viewers who gave up comic books before Steve Canyon was grounded.
  5. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Sep 24, 2013
    75
    Gregg’s resurrected Coulson so far is the much-needed glue, lending a familiar presence and sturdy countenance.
  6. Reviewed by: Sarah Rodman
    Sep 24, 2013
    70
    Everything works and the actors range from fine to good--although the fast-talking chatter between De Caestecker and Henstridge gets old quickly--but it doesn’t exactly crackle with excitement. It’s fun, but a little flat in spots.
  7. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Sep 24, 2013
    40
    The shame is that a series about a band of heroes trying to hunt down more potential heroes could be the perfect antidote to TV’s own overly dark cliché: the anti-hero. But instead it resists the call, too self-serious to be really goofy, and yet too fan-boyish to rescue even one hour of television from mediocrity.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 157
  2. Negative: 55 out of 157
  1. Sep 24, 2013
    10
    Great pilot, delicious teasers, more than a few nods to the Marvel movie history. There is just enough CGI to be interesting and the ratio ofGreat pilot, delicious teasers, more than a few nods to the Marvel movie history. There is just enough CGI to be interesting and the ratio of reality and fantasy is perfect to keep you immersed and enamored.

    And the casting, of course, is just perfect.
    Expand
  2. Feb 8, 2014
    10
    The show is engaging and taking real time to develop new characters. There are plots and twists around every bend as is pretty typical of aThe show is engaging and taking real time to develop new characters. There are plots and twists around every bend as is pretty typical of a Joss Whedon vehicle. Currently, they've really tightened up the story arc while not laying all the cards on the table. I love Marvel's Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. and eagerly wait for Tuesdays, despairing of the long breaks between critical episodes.

    Those folks who want more superheroes obviously can't read a synopsis since this show is about the regular people who exist in the background as personified by Agent Coulson. It's taken time for me to grow to love all the team, but I have and I don't miss the Avengers one bit. I wanted a show about the behind the scenes, about the lives of agents, and that's what we're getting.
    Expand
  3. May 13, 2014
    9
    Marvels Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. - It started slow and for a time, I drifted away from it. But as I caught back up with the show, I was slowlyMarvels Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. - It started slow and for a time, I drifted away from it. But as I caught back up with the show, I was slowly but surely being attracted to it. It has been getting better and better ever since. I look forward to the season finale and season two. Expand
  4. Nov 30, 2013
    7
    An enjoyable show but so far it seems too procedural to me. If you're missing an episode usually you don't miss much. Sure there are signsAn enjoyable show but so far it seems too procedural to me. If you're missing an episode usually you don't miss much. Sure there are signs that there's something bigger going on but most episodes don't relate to that storyline. If Agents of Shield wants to keep its ratings on a decent level then I think it needs to rely less on standalone-episodes. There would be a lot potential here. And maybe put conflicts between the main characters more in the center. Expand
  5. Dec 22, 2013
    4
    Add in mentions of Marvel's beloved world into your typical weekly TV show, and you have a gist of what this series is like. While not exactlyAdd in mentions of Marvel's beloved world into your typical weekly TV show, and you have a gist of what this series is like. While not exactly cerebral or witty, it's alright for your background entertainment you don't really need to pay attention to know what happened/will happen. I just feel a bit disappointed that what could have potentially been a very interesting perspective of this universe has turned into yet another flat storyline I'm someone in between the general categories of fanboy and casual viewer, but sentiment garnered from this franchise's predecessing flicks can only stretch so far, and the more I watch, the thinner the veneer of interest in this particular addendum to the franchise. Expand
  6. Aug 12, 2014
    3
    I feel very sad for Joss Whedon, who seems now to care more about buying a few more villas in the south of France than leaving a legacy ofI feel very sad for Joss Whedon, who seems now to care more about buying a few more villas in the south of France than leaving a legacy of good shows. The series is so riddled with clichés and tropes that it looks like a 1990's twin brother of The New Adventures of Superman. The plot is extremely predictable. Episode three: Oh I'm a hacker working for SHIELD, but in this episode I pretend that I am back to my rebellious past for the bad guy and the audience. Oh lol 5 minutes after I reveal that I didnt change after all and I was just luring the bad guy! And it goes on for the rest of the season... The underpinning ideology is quite horrifying: I'm an Anonymous member who turns cloak to work for the NSA, because they are a FAMILY! Common, these NSA guys only want to do good after all, they're nice people deep down and just want to protect you by hiding things and possibly killing people.
    After a bland plot, blend characters. Couldn't they find better actors? I dont know how these guys got their job but it surely wasn't through auditions. The two-headed scientist team is quite a good comic relief, they are very smart scientists so obviously they have British accents. I like British accents. The big boy action man is a bland as.. well I cant find an analogy. And the hacker girl, oh my.. I can tell you that hackers very rarely takes their time every morning to straighten their hair, buy top of fashion clothes every month, or try to be a clone of Jessica Alba. The whole cast is actually so well dressed and so attractive that it seems they were being shot for the new Vogue and ended up on the wrong set. Seems like being a secret agent in this universe requires perfect facial traits, and a heightened sense of fashion.
    Bland scenario, bland actors, cringy clichés, this is almost an insult to the self-conscious viewer and the Joss Whedon fan in particular.The only remains of the Whedon spirit are witty jokes here and there. Waste your time with it only if you're home with the flu and want to watch a cheesy show.
    Expand
  7. Mar 7, 2014
    0
    I made it through 3 or 4 episodes before giving up on this show. Bad acting, dull characters, boring storylines, awful special effects. All II made it through 3 or 4 episodes before giving up on this show. Bad acting, dull characters, boring storylines, awful special effects. All I could think was "Why bother?" for everyone involved. Expand

See all 157 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Best/Worst TV Shows Based on Comic Books

    Ranked: Best/Worst TV Shows Based on Comic Books Image
    Published: June 18, 2015
    Find rankings for all TV series based on comics and graphic novels from the past 30 years.
  2. Ranked: The Best & Worst TV Shows Based on Movies

    Ranked: The Best & Worst TV Shows Based on Movies Image
    Published: June 11, 2014
    Making the jump from the big screen to the TV screen is something that few television shows have pulled off successfully. We look at the best and worst film-to-TV adaptations of the past 30 years, including shows like The Returned, Fargo, and Buffy the Vampire Slayer.
  3. Fall TV 2nd Look: Marvel's Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.

    Fall TV 2nd Look: Marvel's Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. Image
    Published: November 14, 2013
    After a promising start, ABC's freshman drama has been tumbling in the ratings and disappointing critics and fans. What exactly is wrong with Agents of SHIELD? Get the latest assessments from a variety of TV critics.
  4. 2013 Fall TV Preview: Our Comprehensive Guide to the Season's New and Returning Shows

    2013 Fall TV Preview: Our Comprehensive Guide to the Season's New and Returning Shows Image
    Published: August 28, 2013
    Get a detailed look at every new and returning show coming to broadcast and cable networks this fall, including Marvel's Agents of SHIELD, Sleepy Hollow, The Crazy Ones, Homeland, Boardwalk Empire, The Walking Dead, Sons of Anarchy, and much more.