• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 24, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Marvel's Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D Image
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 590 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Agent Phil Coulson (Clark Gregg) leads a group of S.H.I.E.L.D. agents: Grant Ward (Brett Dalton), Melinda May (Ming-Na Wen), Leo Fitz (Iain De Caestecker), Jemma Simmons (Elizabeth Henstridge), and new recruit Skye (Chloe Bennet) to investigate and protect the world from the unknown. TheAgent Phil Coulson (Clark Gregg) leads a group of S.H.I.E.L.D. agents: Grant Ward (Brett Dalton), Melinda May (Ming-Na Wen), Leo Fitz (Iain De Caestecker), Jemma Simmons (Elizabeth Henstridge), and new recruit Skye (Chloe Bennet) to investigate and protect the world from the unknown. The first live-action series set in the Marvel Cinematic Universe comes from The Avengers director Joss Whedon, along with Jed Whedon and Maurissa Tancharoen. Expand
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Science Fiction
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Sep 23, 2013
    100
    As with "The Avengers," Whedon's ear and sensibilities match the material perfectly.
  2. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Sep 24, 2013
    83
    Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. looks to be the most fun you’ll find in an hour of prime time this fall.
  3. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Sep 24, 2013
    80
    Beyond the breezy dialogue, MAoS is terrific-looking and has action scenes that are above par for primetime. Not enough to wow you, but a fun date.
  4. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Sep 22, 2013
    75
    Just enough geeky insider stuff to keep the fan-boys from grousing too much, but an even bigger portion of well-written action, drama, humor and intricate plot details to hook viewers who gave up comic books before Steve Canyon was grounded.
  5. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Sep 24, 2013
    75
    Gregg’s resurrected Coulson so far is the much-needed glue, lending a familiar presence and sturdy countenance.
  6. Reviewed by: Sarah Rodman
    Sep 24, 2013
    70
    Everything works and the actors range from fine to good--although the fast-talking chatter between De Caestecker and Henstridge gets old quickly--but it doesn’t exactly crackle with excitement. It’s fun, but a little flat in spots.
  7. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Sep 24, 2013
    40
    The shame is that a series about a band of heroes trying to hunt down more potential heroes could be the perfect antidote to TV’s own overly dark cliché: the anti-hero. But instead it resists the call, too self-serious to be really goofy, and yet too fan-boyish to rescue even one hour of television from mediocrity.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 78 out of 149
  2. Negative: 54 out of 149
  1. Sep 24, 2013
    10
    Great pilot, delicious teasers, more than a few nods to the Marvel movie history. There is just enough CGI to be interesting and the ratio ofGreat pilot, delicious teasers, more than a few nods to the Marvel movie history. There is just enough CGI to be interesting and the ratio of reality and fantasy is perfect to keep you immersed and enamored.

    And the casting, of course, is just perfect.
    Expand
  2. Feb 8, 2014
    10
    The show is engaging and taking real time to develop new characters. There are plots and twists around every bend as is pretty typical of aThe show is engaging and taking real time to develop new characters. There are plots and twists around every bend as is pretty typical of a Joss Whedon vehicle. Currently, they've really tightened up the story arc while not laying all the cards on the table. I love Marvel's Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. and eagerly wait for Tuesdays, despairing of the long breaks between critical episodes.

    Those folks who want more superheroes obviously can't read a synopsis since this show is about the regular people who exist in the background as personified by Agent Coulson. It's taken time for me to grow to love all the team, but I have and I don't miss the Avengers one bit. I wanted a show about the behind the scenes, about the lives of agents, and that's what we're getting.
    Collapse
  3. Apr 20, 2014
    9
    Now that it's broken free of its former episodic format and moved on to continuous story a la Lost, this show's gotten so much better. If youNow that it's broken free of its former episodic format and moved on to continuous story a la Lost, this show's gotten so much better. If you can make it past the first six or so episodes, you'll find a much better show than the one you began with. Expand
  4. Sep 25, 2013
    6
    I have to say i expected more i have nothing to say...everything about the pilot is average, i really expect the show get better with time, iI have to say i expected more i have nothing to say...everything about the pilot is average, i really expect the show get better with time, i like the mistery of Agent Coulson, where he was?, what happened to him? Expand
  5. Nov 28, 2013
    4
    The series has a great potential which has been not unveiled yet.
    I think the story and the dialogs should be more lively and less
    The series has a great potential which has been not unveiled yet.
    I think the story and the dialogs should be more lively and less theatrical.
    Also the action and the storyline should be more intense and complex.
    Seems like I am watching a teen series. Please Mr Whedon, make the series more like Firefly and less like Buffy!
    Expand
  6. Nov 11, 2013
    3
    I have to say I am disappointed. I love the Avengers line of Marvel movies and about everything Joss Whedon has done, but this is crap. I haveI have to say I am disappointed. I love the Avengers line of Marvel movies and about everything Joss Whedon has done, but this is crap. I have watched five episodes and each is more boring than the last. The acting is... bad, very bad... terrible. I hope I really hope this show doesn't make it past 12 episodes because if it makes it past firefly I will not be happy. Expand
  7. Nov 20, 2013
    0
    When there's nary a negative critic review to be found and a significant number of people who really dislike the show, it's a pretty fairWhen there's nary a negative critic review to be found and a significant number of people who really dislike the show, it's a pretty fair indicator that critic reviews are bought and paid for. Expand

See all 149 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: The Best & Worst TV Shows Based on Movies

    Ranked: The Best & Worst TV Shows Based on Movies Image
    Published: June 11, 2014
    Making the jump from the big screen to the TV screen is something that few television shows have pulled off successfully. We look at the best and worst film-to-TV adaptations of the past 30 years, including shows like The Returned, Fargo, and Buffy the Vampire Slayer.
  2. Fall TV 2nd Look: Marvel's Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.

    Fall TV 2nd Look: Marvel's Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. Image
    Published: November 14, 2013
    After a promising start, ABC's freshman drama has been tumbling in the ratings and disappointing critics and fans. What exactly is wrong with Agents of SHIELD? Get the latest assessments from a variety of TV critics.
  3. 2013 Fall TV Preview: Our Comprehensive Guide to the Season's New and Returning Shows

    2013 Fall TV Preview: Our Comprehensive Guide to the Season's New and Returning Shows Image
    Published: August 28, 2013
    Get a detailed look at every new and returning show coming to broadcast and cable networks this fall, including Marvel's Agents of SHIELD, Sleepy Hollow, The Crazy Ones, Homeland, Boardwalk Empire, The Walking Dead, Sons of Anarchy, and much more.