• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 28, 2005
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3
Masters of Horror Image
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 23 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Steven Weber, Michael Moriarty, Warren Kole
  • Summary: The cable network has enlisted some of the genre's top directors (John Landis, John Carpenter, Tobe Hooper, Joe Dante) for this weekly horror anthology.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Fantasy, Horror, Suspense
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Reviewed by: Paul Katz
    91
    Happy Halloween. [28 Oct 2005, p.79]
  2. It's simply a great idea that, if early indications are accurate, could stand as a horror classic for a television genre that's been inconsistent at best over the years.
  3. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    80
    Any doubts the tube can get graphic enough for today's gore-heads disappear almost instantly with tonight's premiere installment.
  4. 75
    Horror isn't my thing, but this is pretty good. [7 Nov 2005, p.41]
  5. True, it's not quite "Tales From the Crypt" but is better than "Tales From the Darkside."
  6. 63
    And that's the problem. Is it horror or just horrible? Is it scary or just bloody?
  7. Reviewed by: Bill Gibron
    50
    If the first offering, "Incident On and Off a Mountain Road," is any indication, the hoped-for resurrection of in-your-face frights is still a couple of corpses away.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 17
  2. Negative: 6 out of 17
  1. RyanM
    Dec 22, 2005
    10
    This series isn't for everyone. For people that know movies and know horror, you won't be dissapointed. (For the most part) I wasn't too thrilled about chocalate, however jenifer, Cigarrette Burns, and one other i cant recall, are just damn good. No if's ands or buts...... well maybe a few butts. Expand
  2. Stiff
    Oct 31, 2005
    10
    Simply amazing, bravo!
  3. CanG
    Nov 12, 2005
    9
    ?'ve waiting for a show like this since "twilight zone".But this is far more better than twilight zone, not only because of its' directors but also there's much more quality in pictures and there are great effects these days and using these at maximum quality really makes a film to scare people. i have quite a big horror films archieve in my home but this series will be above all... But i wanna warn you that this series are only for horror film fans.i don't think any other people would love this as i do! Expand
  4. Cables
    Oct 29, 2005
    8
    Didn't quite live up to the expectations... still far better than anything else cable has given us horrorfans since Tales from the Crypt. We'll have to wait and see if it can stand the test of time. Expand
  5. thomasv
    Dec 3, 2005
    5
    I watch shows like this for their escape value. A political agenda posing as entertainmet is a turm off which is what I did midway through your last episode. Expand
  6. farkleb
    Dec 3, 2005
    1
    1 for most of them for being generic, non-scary, and pointless. (And really, I know it's horror, but do we HAVE to have so many gratuitous topless shots?) But 10 for tonight's episode, "Homecoming," which blew them all away. Tightly written, angry, funny, and scary...what horror (and, heck, TV in general) should be. Expand
  7. BobH
    Oct 30, 2005
    0
    Worst television episode I've ever seen. Absolute sensless, opaque, unintelligible crap. Dark, annoying, unexplained, weird, pointless, made no sense, wasn't scary. A COMPLETE WASTE OF TIME. Huge disappointment. Expand

See all 17 User Reviews