• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 29, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Masters of Sex Image
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 205 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Michael Sheen and Lizzy Caplan star as pioneering human sexuality researchers William Masters and Virginia Johnson in a 1950s-set drama based on a book by Thomas Maier.
  • Genre(s): Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 13, 2013
    100
    The characters get better and more complex, the story builds, strange things start to happen and now I can’t wait to see how its interweaving plots unfold.... It’s rare that a show can intuit what the viewer wants and deliver it, but that’s precisely what happened.
  2. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Sep 27, 2013
    100
    There is no more fascinating, or entertaining, new series this fall season.
  3. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Sep 27, 2013
    100
    Performance is never a problem for the cast of Masters of Sex. Caplan, Sheen and the supporting players keep everything humming in the best new drama of the fall season. You’ll want to watch.
  4. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Sep 23, 2013
    88
    It makes the most of its pay-TV platform by showing plenty of skin, but the sex scenes service a bigger story made all the more compelling by a couple of strong leads in Michael Sheen and Lizzy Caplan.
  5. Reviewed by: Terri Schwartz
    Sep 30, 2013
    80
    All together Masters of Sex makes an engaging pilot, but it is as yet untested as a premise for a series.
  6. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Sep 27, 2013
    80
    It’s an inviting, beautifully acted, and smartly written period drama set in the 1950s
  7. Reviewed by: Jesse Hassenger
    Sep 30, 2013
    50
    Regardless of historical veracity, though, some of the drama here is shopworn.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Sep 29, 2013
    10
    Saw the first two episodes and they're great. Michael Sheen and Lizzy Caplan will get Emmy nods next year. Happy that Showtime finally have a good series after Homeland. This is very promising. Expand
  2. Sep 29, 2013
    10
    Masters of Sex is definitely the best new show of the fall season, and probably the best premiere I've seen in the past year. Sheen and Caplan are great as Masters and Johnson, and the quality of the show is top notch. It's not only a show about sex, but a smart, witty, real life tale of two historical figures. Expand
  3. Sep 30, 2013
    10
    This is a series of promises. The first two episodes were outstanding and I am looking forward to the next episode. The characters are well-treated and original. Who is looking for an excellent series this is the one. Expand
  4. Sep 29, 2013
    10
    I give this show a 10 after the first episode. I went into this show knowing about Masters & Johnson and wondering how it would be handled well, to my surprise it was brilliant. At least the pilot episode. It caught me immediately and kept my interest. The acting, the dialogue/writing is so intentional that it becomes an even richer experience for me. The subject of sex for these pioneers is NOT a joke or a game but rather a real interest in the understanding of human sexuality. The respect in his work along with his passion for science and the sexual experience makes Masters worthy of respect, truly. I look forward to this show and to the whole journey of understanding how these two people changed the way we look our sex, sensuality, and sexuality and how we operate in these arenas as human beings. I cannot leave without saying that Johnson (Virginia) is a powerhouse--her intensity and intelligence is something to behold!! Expand
  5. Oct 14, 2013
    9
    Compelling, well acted and crafted show with an interesting premise unlike anything else on television. Impeccable writing, authentic to it's period, rare and engrossing. Expand
  6. Jan 3, 2014
    9
    Masters of Sex is exceptionally well-crafted, and quite sensitive to the times in which it is set. More importantly, the show has unflinchingly given voice to its female characters, whose sexuality and person-hood is heavily policed in a male dominated world. This has obviously created room for tense and emotive drama, wrought with intelligence and wit without devolving into a showcase of unnecessary histrionics. Expand
  7. Dec 26, 2013
    5
    Certainly not a terrible series, especially with its boldness and the various emotional conflicts the series explores, but definitely overrated. Personally, I found the actors somewhat unbelievable in their roles, and that at times it is severely underacted. Though less may be more, zero is still zero. Nonetheless, I do not think it is as awful as I have seen some call it, and it is nice to see a show with no fear towards the still controversial topics it addresses. If only it was just slightly better at doing this, I would probably love it. Expand

See all 31 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2013 Golden Globe Nominations

    2013 Golden Globe Nominations Image
    Published: December 12, 2013
    Find a full list of the 71st Annual Golden Globe nominations in film and television, and a look at the year's surprises and snubs.
  2. The Best New TV Shows of 2013

    The Best New TV Shows of 2013 Image
    Published: December 11, 2013
    We reveal the 10 best-reviewed first-year TV series that debuted this year. Plus, get a list of the top TV movies, miniseries, and specials, and rankings of all new shows by network.
  3. 2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 10, 2013
    What were critics' favorite television shows of the year? Find their individual top 10 lists inside, as well as composite standings. (And check back for daily updates throughout the month).