• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Aug 17, 2010
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3
Melissa & Joey Image
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 29 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Mel (Melissa Joan Hart) is a local politician who ends up with her sister's two children, Lennox and Ryder. She ends up hiring an out of work commodities trader named Joe (Joey Lawrence) to be the nanny.
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 9
  2. Negative: 2 out of 9
  1. Reviewed by: Tanner Stransky
    83
    Because this is on ABC Family, it comes with a big helping of cheesy jokes, but Hart and Lawrence share a buoyant, delightful chemistry.
  2. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    75
    The "Melissa & Joey" pilot is no great shakes. But Melissa and Joey could be.
  3. Old-chestnut premise notwithstanding, the show wants to be modern, and the humor occasionally pushes further than one might expect from a family comedy.
  4. It's far from unwatchable, and there's potential in its leads, if they're left to their own devices. It's also possible that this middle-of-the-road sitcom will hit nostalgic buttons in former "Sabrina" and "Blossom" fans.
  5. 50
    Despite the backstory, the humor is conventionally jolly. [30 Aug 2010, p.38]
  6. 40
    The network has brought back Hart and Lawrence, who are both 34 (whoa!), in a sitcom called Melissa & Joey, premiering Tuesday night, which isn't half-bad. You could do worse--say, "Hot in Cleveland."
  7. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    30
    It's not only the trash that's stinking on Melissa & Joey.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 14
  2. Negative: 4 out of 14
  1. Aug 24, 2010
    10
    Ask yourself one question. Have you ever seen anything from Meliissa Joan Hart and Joey Lawrence that you actually thought was worth a crap? That's right! I haven't seen the show and I'm already judging it based on their previous body of work. Expand
  2. Jan 15, 2012
    10
    i like it am huge fan of Melissa since Sabrina the teenage witch and joey is really good looking and funny guy i cant stop watching him what ever he is doing Expand
  3. Jan 6, 2014
    10
    I have followed the show from its first season and have to say it's become one of my favorite sitcoms by now. It's not that the jokes are so much better than those of other sitcoms but it's really up to Melissa Joan Hart and Joey Lawrence who have great chemistry on screen and were given great characters. Am really glad the show has been picked up for a fourth season (although when you consider the breaks in between season one and three and that these seasons have 30+ episodes the fourth season would actually be season six!). Expand
  4. Sep 17, 2010
    7
    I originally gave Melissa & Joey a 4. After watching for the next couple of weeks I've decided to raise it. The show has progressed a bit and over time has become more and more watchable and fun. I'd recommend it now, although there's still a few episodes left, and it certainly isn't the surprise hit like 'Cougar Town' was last year that I was hoping for. Expand
  5. Apr 29, 2011
    6
    I originally gave Melissa & Joey a 4. After watching for the next couple of weeks I've decided to raise it. The show has progressed a bit and over time has become more and more watchable and fun. I'd recommend it now, although there's still a few episodes left, and it certainly isn't the surprise hit like 'Cougar Town' was last year that I was hoping for. Expand
  6. Aug 7, 2013
    5
    The show has its moments, but its comedic material is so heavily overused that it never gains independence as an original comedy, depositing fewer laughs than it should. Expand
  7. Nov 5, 2010
    0
    i have to say this reminds my a lot of the new are we there yet series(also another horrible show). This show is just so predictable its sad and the jokes were never funny. I would not even watch this show if they paid me to. I hope this series is canceled soon so something better came come along. Expand

See all 14 User Reviews