• Network: TBS
  • Series Premiere Date: May 24, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3
Metascore
36

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 12
  2. Negative: 5 out of 12
  1. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    May 23, 2012
    50
    Rays of charm do break through the haze of the ordinary and obvious, even if just for a line or a line reading.
  2. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    May 23, 2012
    42
    None of Men at Work is funny, but the greater sin is how uninspired it feels.
  3. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    May 22, 2012
    42
    You might not want to have a TV relationship with these guys either. They're just not much fun on any level.
  4. Reviewed by: Rob Brunner
    May 18, 2012
    42
    Not funny. [25 May 2012, p.73]
  5. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    May 23, 2012
    40
    Not much about Men at Work feels fresh.
  6. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    May 23, 2012
    40
    The turf [conversations revolving around sex] is so familiar in sitcoms these days that even funny lines feel recycled. Like Men at Work.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    May 22, 2012
    40
    Mostly, though, there's just nothing terribly distinctive about Men at Work, so much so it's almost impossible to imagine how the pitch went without these actors to instill its tired one-liners with some modest zing.
  8. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    May 24, 2012
    30
    Men at Work is junk of the most disposable nature, a sex-obsessed comedy set at a phony-even-by-sitcom-standards magazine.
  9. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    May 23, 2012
    30
    Men at Work is mostly an unfunny, uninteresting look at four work buddies.
  10. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    May 23, 2012
    30
    Collectively, the four men are derived from a hundred other canceled sitcoms about men being men while trying to navigate the single life.
  11. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    May 22, 2012
    25
    TBS' entry only lacks "Sex and the City's" craft in writing, characterizations, plot, production and wit.
  12. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    May 14, 2012
    25
    If this show was premiering even a decade ago, it might not feel as stale and out of place as it does in today's sitcom world.
User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 39 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. Jun 1, 2012
    10
    I haven't the slightest clue in why there's so many negative reviews out there. I've seen worse shows that have better reviews than thisI haven't the slightest clue in why there's so many negative reviews out there. I've seen worse shows that have better reviews than this one.

    Wake up call to all those who don't like it, it probably wasn't intended for you as a viewer. The show appears to be geared toward the younger mind. Not one show out there is a universal fit-all program. That would be very difficult to accomplish as people have different interests.

    Also second point, every show is cheesy, repeats the same thing as 10 years ago, and is at times boring.

    Men at Work however is far from those things. It is one of the few comedy shows that has actually made me laugh.
    Full Review »
  2. Jun 28, 2012
    8
    I completely understand why the show was poorly reviewed. The first episode was terrible and the second wasn't much better. Starting onI completely understand why the show was poorly reviewed. The first episode was terrible and the second wasn't much better. Starting on Episode 3 and from then on the show has been very good. The characters mesh very well and the setups are funny. My only real criticism is that the laugh track is obviously fake and needs better editing. It feels like I'm watching a 1995 sitcom because of that. Besides the issue with the laugh track, I really enjoy the show and will continue watching. Happy to see it was picked up for another season. Full Review »
  3. Aug 7, 2012
    10
    I don't get why this show has such a low rating...It is so funny...I think that there should be more funny light shows out there like thisI don't get why this show has such a low rating...It is so funny...I think that there should be more funny light shows out there like this one. I have recommended this show to at least 40 people and every one of them love it and I had many people make comments to me like why did it have so little episodes...I really liked this show and i hope they make another season. I am a total lover of shows like Law and order svu and other shows that are on the more serious side but for a comedy this show gives exactly what a comedy should. Full Review »