• Network: TBS
  • Series Premiere Date: May 24, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2
User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 38 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 38
  2. Negative: 7 out of 38

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 23, 2014
    10
    Great show that keeps getting better and better. The first few episodes were slower to give you a chance to get a feel for the characters. Guaranteed laughs, and everyone has a friend like each of the four leads.
    No idea why so much dislike, maybe people see themselves in the characters and don't like what they see?
  2. Feb 4, 2013
    8
    Hilarious! Hilarious! Hilarious! I can only describe this show as being an expert cross of That 70's Show and How I Met Your Mother. Seriously, that's how funny it is. I have no idea why the critic reviews are so negative.
  3. Aug 29, 2012
    10
    If you actually give this series a chance and watch a few episodes it gets really funny. It's obviously intended for men and probably the somewhat younger mind. It is easily better than Two and a half men and other similar sitcoms.
  4. Aug 17, 2012
    9
    You need to watch more than the pilot to come to the conclusion with the show. The pilot was very weak and after I had watched the pilot I had thought this show was going to underachieve especially with the crazy amount of commercials and ads it had. However, this show gets more and more humorous after every episode passes by. There is also a nice storyline within the show which always makes it interesting. It isn't just pure comedy. I'm glad TBS renewed a 2nd season with this show because this show also has tons of potential. I'm looking forward to it. Expand
  5. Aug 7, 2012
    10
    I don't get why this show has such a low rating...It is so funny...I think that there should be more funny light shows out there like this one. I have recommended this show to at least 40 people and every one of them love it and I had many people make comments to me like why did it have so little episodes...I really liked this show and i hope they make another season. I am a total lover of shows like Law and order svu and other shows that are on the more serious side but for a comedy this show gives exactly what a comedy should. Expand
  6. Jul 18, 2012
    0
    I'm not quite sure how to describe how bad this show is. Forget the fact that it's completely unoriginal and that "it's been done," because most 90's sitcoms were like that but were still enjoyable. Let's even forget the fact that it uses a laugh track, because as much as I regret saying it, the masses like laugh tracks even if it detracts from the comedy. Except it doesn't really. Why? Because there is no comedy. You'll have a conversation between a couple characters, and there won't be anything remotely funny but the laugh track will be thrown in there. And then you're just sitting there awkwardly wondering what the hell you missed until you realize the producers don't even know when it's supposed to be funny. The characters are just really irritating. They're all douches to the point where they're unlikeable. I'm talking beyond the point where you want bad things to happen to them, I mean to the point where you don't care what happens. I'm 18, and I understand they're trying to depict my generation but it's being done so poorly. Same way that the Big Bang Theory completely misrepresents nerds in every way. But the worst part about this show is that TBS plays reruns of this show(even though it has like 10 episodes???) every now and then in the 12am timeslot, which is when they normally show the Office, a much much better and funnier show that I look forward to watching every night before going to bed. This awful show is cutting into my very way of life! Expand
  7. Jul 3, 2012
    10
    Perfect off-season/summer comedy. I gave this show a 10 for what it is. It doesn't have the greatness of Curb Your Enthusiasm or Louie, but for a 30 minute sitcom on TBS it is as good as it gets. You can miss a show and not have to worry about any overarching story lines. This show is targeting men ages 20 to probably late 30s or early 40s. I enjoyed the show My Boys that TBS did a few years ago and this show has a lot of the same qualities. Expand
  8. Jun 28, 2012
    8
    I completely understand why the show was poorly reviewed. The first episode was terrible and the second wasn't much better. Starting on Episode 3 and from then on the show has been very good. The characters mesh very well and the setups are funny. My only real criticism is that the laugh track is obviously fake and needs better editing. It feels like I'm watching a 1995 sitcom because of that. Besides the issue with the laugh track, I really enjoy the show and will continue watching. Happy to see it was picked up for another season. Expand
  9. Jun 23, 2012
    2
    Its really dull and there's nothing new in it. Same type of characters we have seen in many other shows .It does not have any spark and i will be surprised if it continues for more than 1 season.
  10. Jun 21, 2012
    5
    This show has potential over time. I agree with srshep in the fact that its impossible to make a universal fit-all program, and this show was definitely made for a younger audience. I'm 19 and i find this show to be pretty funny, but sometimes the jokes do fall flat, and while i was happy to see Masterson back on tv, he is definitely the weakest link. James Lesure is certainly the funniest of the 4. This show certainly is not perfect but don't expect an emmy winner, its a comedy directed toward younger men, if you dont fit that class, you most likely won't enjoy it. Hopefully it'll only get better if it lasts. 5.5/10 Expand
  11. Jun 1, 2012
    10
    I haven't the slightest clue in why there's so many negative reviews out there. I've seen worse shows that have better reviews than this one.

    Wake up call to all those who don't like it, it probably wasn't intended for you as a viewer. The show appears to be geared toward the younger mind. Not one show out there is a universal fit-all program. That would be very difficult to
    accomplish as people have different interests.

    Also second point, every show is cheesy, repeats the same thing as 10 years ago, and is at times boring.

    Men at Work however is far from those things. It is one of the few comedy shows that has actually made me laugh.
    Collapse
  12. May 31, 2012
    4
    Sometimes dreams can come true. Other times they can go terribly wrong. After a painful 30 minutes of Men at Work, I was sure this was all wrong. I had been waiting for years to see Danny Masterson (Milo) return to a well written comedy, and even given the fact that this sit-com sounded as canned as they come, I still had my dreams. But, I was wrong. Men at Work is loaded with sexual referrence, ready made situational set-ups, and every other cheap trick to write a show and still it is a nightmare. Thankfully I know that TBS will wake up and cancel this bomb. Then maybe the consideral talent involved with this show can move on to something worthy of their fine acting skills. Expand
  13. May 30, 2012
    4
    Not nearly as good as "My Boys" or "Franklin & Bash", but it's do-able as something on the background while you're working on the computer, or playing your banjo, or reading a magazine. Masterson is the weak link.
  14. May 25, 2012
    4
    This show has it's good moments. Many jokes however feel like they were written by a 12 year old. It is uninspired and bland. Just stick with The Big Bang Theory if u want actual funny.
Metascore
36

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 12
  2. Negative: 5 out of 12
  1. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    May 24, 2012
    30
    Men at Work is junk of the most disposable nature, a sex-obsessed comedy set at a phony-even-by-sitcom-standards magazine.
  2. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    May 23, 2012
    42
    None of Men at Work is funny, but the greater sin is how uninspired it feels.
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    May 23, 2012
    50
    Rays of charm do break through the haze of the ordinary and obvious, even if just for a line or a line reading.