• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: May 24, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Men at Work Image
Metascore
36

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 38 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: After he is dumped by his cheating girlfriend, Milo's (Danny Masterson) three friends: ladies man Gibbs (James Lesure), pretty boy Tyler (Michael Cassidy), and accountant Neal (Adam Busch)try to help Milo find a new woman.
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 12
  2. Negative: 5 out of 12
  1. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    May 23, 2012
    50
    Rays of charm do break through the haze of the ordinary and obvious, even if just for a line or a line reading.
  2. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    May 22, 2012
    42
    You might not want to have a TV relationship with these guys either. They're just not much fun on any level.
  3. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    May 23, 2012
    42
    None of Men at Work is funny, but the greater sin is how uninspired it feels.
  4. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    May 22, 2012
    40
    Mostly, though, there's just nothing terribly distinctive about Men at Work, so much so it's almost impossible to imagine how the pitch went without these actors to instill its tired one-liners with some modest zing.
  5. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    May 24, 2012
    30
    Men at Work is junk of the most disposable nature, a sex-obsessed comedy set at a phony-even-by-sitcom-standards magazine.
  6. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    May 23, 2012
    30
    Men at Work is mostly an unfunny, uninteresting look at four work buddies.
  7. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    May 14, 2012
    25
    If this show was premiering even a decade ago, it might not feel as stale and out of place as it does in today's sitcom world.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. Aug 29, 2012
    10
    If you actually give this series a chance and watch a few episodes it gets really funny. It's obviously intended for men and probably the somewhat younger mind. It is easily better than Two and a half men and other similar sitcoms. Expand
  2. Aug 7, 2012
    10
    I don't get why this show has such a low rating...It is so funny...I think that there should be more funny light shows out there like this one. I have recommended this show to at least 40 people and every one of them love it and I had many people make comments to me like why did it have so little episodes...I really liked this show and i hope they make another season. I am a total lover of shows like Law and order svu and other shows that are on the more serious side but for a comedy this show gives exactly what a comedy should. Expand
  3. Jun 1, 2012
    10
    I haven't the slightest clue in why there's so many negative reviews out there. I've seen worse shows that have better reviews than this one.

    Wake up call to all those who don't like it, it probably wasn't intended for you as a viewer. The show appears to be geared toward the younger mind. Not one show out there is a universal fit-all program. That would be very difficult to accomplish as people have different interests.

    Also second point, every show is cheesy, repeats the same thing as 10 years ago, and is at times boring.

    Men at Work however is far from those things. It is one of the few comedy shows that has actually made me laugh.
    Expand
  4. Feb 4, 2013
    8
    Hilarious! Hilarious! Hilarious! I can only describe this show as being an expert cross of That 70's Show and How I Met Your Mother. Seriously, that's how funny it is. I have no idea why the critic reviews are so negative. Expand
  5. Jun 21, 2012
    5
    This show has potential over time. I agree with srshep in the fact that its impossible to make a universal fit-all program, and this show was definitely made for a younger audience. I'm 19 and i find this show to be pretty funny, but sometimes the jokes do fall flat, and while i was happy to see Masterson back on tv, he is definitely the weakest link. James Lesure is certainly the funniest of the 4. This show certainly is not perfect but don't expect an emmy winner, its a comedy directed toward younger men, if you dont fit that class, you most likely won't enjoy it. Hopefully it'll only get better if it lasts. 5.5/10 Expand
  6. May 31, 2012
    4
    Sometimes dreams can come true. Other times they can go terribly wrong. After a painful 30 minutes of Men at Work, I was sure this was all wrong. I had been waiting for years to see Danny Masterson (Milo) return to a well written comedy, and even given the fact that this sit-com sounded as canned as they come, I still had my dreams. But, I was wrong. Men at Work is loaded with sexual referrence, ready made situational set-ups, and every other cheap trick to write a show and still it is a nightmare. Thankfully I know that TBS will wake up and cancel this bomb. Then maybe the consideral talent involved with this show can move on to something worthy of their fine acting skills. Expand
  7. Jul 18, 2012
    0
    I'm not quite sure how to describe how bad this show is. Forget the fact that it's completely unoriginal and that "it's been done," because most 90's sitcoms were like that but were still enjoyable. Let's even forget the fact that it uses a laugh track, because as much as I regret saying it, the masses like laugh tracks even if it detracts from the comedy. Except it doesn't really. Why? Because there is no comedy. You'll have a conversation between a couple characters, and there won't be anything remotely funny but the laugh track will be thrown in there. And then you're just sitting there awkwardly wondering what the hell you missed until you realize the producers don't even know when it's supposed to be funny. The characters are just really irritating. They're all douches to the point where they're unlikeable. I'm talking beyond the point where you want bad things to happen to them, I mean to the point where you don't care what happens. I'm 18, and I understand they're trying to depict my generation but it's being done so poorly. Same way that the Big Bang Theory completely misrepresents nerds in every way. But the worst part about this show is that TBS plays reruns of this show(even though it has like 10 episodes???) every now and then in the 12am timeslot, which is when they normally show the Office, a much much better and funnier show that I look forward to watching every night before going to bed. This awful show is cutting into my very way of life! Expand

See all 14 User Reviews