• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Dec 7, 2009
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Men of a Certain Age Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 127 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Three friends nearing the age of fifty come together to discuss their lives.
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Reviewed by: Paige Wiser
    100
    Men of a Certain Age is strung together by small moments of triumph that make life worth living--and this show worth watching.
  2. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    91
    It's a midlife triumph, a series that takes a well-worn theme and makes it unpredictable, freshly funny, and sometimes moving.
  3. While at times it feels like a bleak HerskoZwick drama--"Fortysomething Going on Fiftysomething"--the stories are leavened with humor, and the chemistry between the leads, and their fine performances.
  4. Although Romano is the keystone of the group, it is very much an ensemble drama buoyed by writing that protects the characters from the perils of self-pity and self-indulgence with quick and gentle humor and plot points that capture the forces a middle-aged, middle-class man might actually battle.
  5. There's some spot-on and sharp humor throughout, but it never gets too light and breezy.
  6. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    70
    Men isn't a great series yet, but it has the assets to grow into one. And in the interim, watching it certainly isn't a Sisyphean task.
  7. Too much of Men, despite Romano's skill at observational humor, feels slow and uncomfortably downbeat.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 54
  2. Negative: 6 out of 54
  1. Nov 12, 2010
    10
    I love this show! I think there is a moral to the story to every episode and the acting is brilliant to the point that is executed of regular ordinary guys in their own unique situations of life. I am glad season 2 is coming out and I am excited. I really hope that this is one of those series that will have about 10 seasons in the future or at least 8? I was disappointed when they ended Kyle XY, Sliders, Dark Angel to name a few of my favorite episodes (cancelled) but I hope that Men of a Certain Age is not going to be one of them and is here to stay for the next several years. I also watch this show because of Ray ROmano because I am used to him from everybody loves raymond. Expand
  2. Jan 13, 2011
    10
    Thumbs up from Sweden cuz I just love this clever show with it's brilliant actors!
    I've just turned 25 now but Ray Romano has been making me
    laugh since ELR, which in my opinion is the best sitcom ever made. I hope this show continues from many seasons to come. Collapse
  3. Oct 12, 2010
    9
    Great show! all three guys stand out, especially Ramano, who makes a triumphant return to television. The direction is great, and though the middle-aged theme of Men of a Certain age has been done before you get the sense that it refuses to let the show drift off into pittyville. Expand
  4. May 19, 2011
    9
    Have just watched most of the 2nd season episodes. I liked the first season and the 2nd season is better. They've improved the dramatic pacing. But it's Ray Romano's acting which makes this show a must see. I can't think of another actor who realizes their role in such a natural, "non-actor-ly" way. I suspect that Romano never thought of himself as an actor until his sitcom, and in the best of ways, this is the result. I'm familiar with the world of recovering gambling addicts, and Romano's Joe feels as real to me as anyone I've met. He is just terrific and deserving of the highest accolades (which I'm sure he'll never get.) Expand
  5. Apr 12, 2014
    8
    As a man in my late 20s I can still relate to a show about men in their late 40s. This is a quality dramedy that feels very sincere every episode. The characters are very well acted and I enjoyed it until the end. Expand
  6. Feb 11, 2011
    6
    After the first season, I would have given this a 9, but more recently the show has begun to disappoint. Would like to see more stories involving how divorce affects the children. They are softening the Scott Bakula character up from the womanizing cad he started out as. They just have to get him into a pat, contrived romance like any other boring show. Also, I could do without the diner scenes which inevitably feature Andre Brougher talking with his mouth full. This show no longer interests me as it once did. Expand
  7. Feb 21, 2011
    0
    Ray Romano is a ****

See all 54 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2009-10 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks

    2009-10 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks Image
    Published: May 3, 2010
    "Modern Family" is among the 2009-10 season's best new TV shows. Find out which other shows made the cut, and which ones were the biggest failures.
  2. This Week in Metacritic: Not So Lovely Bones

    This Week in Metacritic: Not So Lovely Bones Image
    Published: December 10, 2009
    Our quick roundup of the newest releases in movies, music, games and TV found at Metacritic.com for the week of 12/7 - 12/11.