Mental : Season 1

  • Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: May 26, 2009
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 39 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 39
  2. Negative: 14 out of 39

Where To Watch

Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. MaryD
    May 31, 2009
    1
    Insultingly bad.
  2. JokieS
    Jun 2, 2009
    1
    Stupid story lines, terrible acting, very UNSEXY "sex" scene, no connection with the characters, female hospital administrator not strong at all, ridiculous dialogue, one of the worst shows I've ever seen.
  3. JayS
    Jun 2, 2009
    3
    House lite with a little jump the shark plot.And right from the start.
  4. AndyA
    Jul 31, 2009
    0
    Well I was liking Foxes new show Mental until I saw the episode, "Do Over" and it suggests reincarnation may be valid. Mental's concept of psychiatry is living in a dream world; too bad. Psychiatry doesn
  5. DavidW
    May 28, 2009
    3
    Starts out quirky (the naked men scene), hinting at possibilities but ultimately boring. Also, the crowd of snobby, smirking, know-it-all main characters in recent new shows like the Mentalist and Eleventh Hour are wearisome and a turn-off.
  6. RJ
    Jun 19, 2009
    1
    As a clinical provider, this show fails by perpetuating many common misconceptions about psychiatric inpatient care.
  7. BrianS
    Jun 23, 2009
    1
    This is a terrible HOUSE knock off, except they make a mockery (like my spelling) out of the mental heath community. Don't get me wrong it has SOME really good actors / cast. However, the writing, the LACK of complete understanding and knowledge of what a mental health wing of a hospital is really like. They portrait so many false stereo types and make it seem like Mental illnesses / This is a terrible HOUSE knock off, except they make a mockery (like my spelling) out of the mental heath community. Don't get me wrong it has SOME really good actors / cast. However, the writing, the LACK of complete understanding and knowledge of what a mental health wing of a hospital is really like. They portrait so many false stereo types and make it seem like Mental illnesses / patients just need a few hours with the right doctor, the real kind of doctor the kind that's well..... This show is so BADLY written. If they hired some real professional advisors, people in the field (take the ER template) and make it REAL-like. This- what they are making now is a cross between the absurdity of "SCRUBS" and the UN-REALISM of "24". Save an hour every week and go read a book or watch Re-Runs of the Mentalist all summer! Expand
Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 18
  2. Negative: 7 out of 18
  1. 40
    It's a stubbornly mediocre product that really, really, really wants to be "House" in a hospital psych ward.
  2. 50
    Gallagher's played by Chris Vance ("Prison Break"), who tries to overcome the cheesy script with a British accent and a little dignity. He fails.
  3. Mental's plots are trite and secondary to establishing Gallagher as a policy-defying Brit who says ''Bang on!'' to express enthusiasm.