• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 20, 2010
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 78 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Creator: Mark Roberts
  • Show Type: Between Seasons
  • Season 1 premiere date: Sep 20, 2010
  • Episode Length: 30
  • Air Time: 08:30 PM
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 23
  2. Negative: 1 out of 23
  1. 88
    Melissa McCarthy and Billy Gardell star in a sweet, old-fashioned sitcom. [Sep 27 2010, p.55]
  2. Mike & Molly may not at first seem to offer much (other, that is, than streams of fat jokes), but it boasts a cast with distinctive looks and a capacity to deliver quick comedic jabs that can make you howl. That these come unexpectedly in the midst of endless gross clatter is one of those mysteries of the creative process best not to dwell upon.
  3. 75
    While many of the weight jokes are very funny, there are a few too many of them. Still, what matters most for the show's future health is that it does not define Mike and Molly as "fat." They're nice, normal, relatable people who eat too much and want to eat less.
  4. 67
    Underneath the crude humor, there's a sweetness and an honesty to the show. The duo's struggle with weight is believable.
  5. The new sitcom Mike & Molly won't change your life, but it will make 30 minutes of it happier and more fun.
  6. Many of those gags are mechanical and flat, although they are delivered as though they were not. But when the leads are focused on each other, size no longer matters and the show flickers to life.
  7. There are a lot of fat jokes in Mike & Molly. Unfortunately, all of them are easy, most of them are stupid and worse than anything is that they are spewed in what is being spun as a sympathetic look at people with eating problems.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 27
  2. Negative: 10 out of 27
  1. Nov 27, 2013
    10
    I have only seen two episodes and I am DRAWN to this magnetic show. Melissa McCarthy's talent is highlighted beautifully and luckilyI have only seen two episodes and I am DRAWN to this magnetic show. Melissa McCarthy's talent is highlighted beautifully and luckily accompanied by a costar and cast that ISN'T in her shadow, like most sitcoms tend to do by pulling all attention to 1 "star", but also great, genuine characters. The two title characters are adorable! They are believable as they acknowledge they have weight issues and have fun of it. I discovered this show when it appeared after another of my favorite shows "How I Met Your Mother" which is also fabulous and has similar comedic writing, and though I at first saw it as yet another sitcom, I couldn't stop watching. Expand
  2. Nov 3, 2010
    10
    At first I the constant fat jokes irked me, being plus sized myself, but I still found the show funny and sweet. I have noticed the fat jokesAt first I the constant fat jokes irked me, being plus sized myself, but I still found the show funny and sweet. I have noticed the fat jokes have been toned down a lot in the recent episodes, so that's good. I also really love Billy Gardell, even garnering a little bit of a crush on him. What can I say, I like sweet, funny guys with a nice smile.

    It's just nice to see a break from the fat guy/hot wife sitcoms that have been around for ages, not to say that Melissa McCarthy isn't beautiful, because she is. It's also great that the show is a hit. Maybe the show will help everyone realize that overweight people are just that: people.

    I really like the show and am looking forward to see the series progress.
    Expand
  3. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    the first season was magnificent with charismatic characters like Mike's mom, Peggy with his cantankerous ways and his dog Jim with his scarythe first season was magnificent with charismatic characters like Mike's mom, Peggy with his cantankerous ways and his dog Jim with his scary look, is so funny Expand
  4. Sep 24, 2010
    7
    Out of all the new crap I've watched this so far this season this one makes the top 10. The two partners played by Billy Gardell and CarlOut of all the new crap I've watched this so far this season this one makes the top 10. The two partners played by Billy Gardell and Carl McMillan have been yanked (pretty much intact) from the series "Yes Dear" where they played studio security guards. You'll remember Kim McCarthy from the canceled sitcom "Samantha Who." Like most American sitcoms, the show is driven by one liners but I can live with that as long as the one liners are funny. This show is funny. Expand
  5. Sep 1, 2011
    7
    An overall pleasant show with Katy Mixon, Swoosie Kurtz and Melissa McCarthy (in that order) being the three reasons to actually watch it. ForAn overall pleasant show with Katy Mixon, Swoosie Kurtz and Melissa McCarthy (in that order) being the three reasons to actually watch it. For me the least enjoyable part of the show would be Reno Willson. Don't know whether is the lines that he is given or his performance but I would have to say that that is the only thorn I see in the show. Expand
  6. Nov 4, 2012
    3
    Melissa McCarthy and Billy Gardell both have some appeal as actors and deserve a decent vehicle for their talents. This isn't it. There areMelissa McCarthy and Billy Gardell both have some appeal as actors and deserve a decent vehicle for their talents. This isn't it. There are some really endearing moments between the two of them, and their romance sometimes transcends the sloppy material, but the writing is for the most part abysmal, saturated with overbaked fat jokes and typical sitcom clichés. In an attempt to be edgy and distinguish themselves from the vast body of homogeneous 'family sitcoms,' 'Mike and Molly' also stoops to new lows of unfunny smuttiness, with constant references to people's "Johnsons," "weiners," "sausages," and "junk," not to mention the requisite b**bs, a*ses, b*lls, diarrhea, farts, erectile dyfunction and countless euphemisms for sex (such as "a trip to the boneyard"). While Mike and Molly between them draw some genuine sweetness from a wasteland of material, Swoosie Kurtz is meant for better things. She never says anything that isn't a lame joke, which she delivers in a brassy monotone while gazing innocently into middle distance. This is not dry, sophisticated comedy. It's Lucille Ball Lite. I don't understand why Katy Mixon (as Molly's sister 'Victoria') squeezes her lines out in a contrived baby voice with a faux-Southern twang, and why she hams it up to the point of idiocy. Few of the actors in this laboured show understand the comic power of subtlety. Despite this, it will probably be on the air indefinitely. A lot of people seem to like 'Mike and Molly," presumably the same audience that keeps 'Two and a Half Men' on the air. Expand
  7. Oct 28, 2010
    0
    The terms "feculent" and "sophomoric" immediately jump to mind. CBS is clearly pandering to a target audience of mentally challenged fifthThe terms "feculent" and "sophomoric" immediately jump to mind. CBS is clearly pandering to a target audience of mentally challenged fifth graders with fetishes for scatological based humor. If jokes about bodily functions are what you find funny, this show should be right up your alley... pun intended. If your I.Q. is above triple digits, run don't walk, to the remote control if this comes on TV. Expand

See all 27 User Reviews

Trailers