• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Feb 25, 2014
  • Season #: 1
Mind Games (2014) Image
Metascore
46

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 16 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Former con man Ross (Christian Slater) and his ex-professor brother Clark Edwards (Steve Zahn) are partners in Edwards and Associates, where they help solve their client's problems through the use of psychological manipulation.
  • Genre(s): Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 19
  2. Negative: 7 out of 19
  1. Reviewed by: Jeff Korbelik
    Mar 27, 2014
    75
    Watch this one just for Zahn’s performance.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd VanDerWerff
    Feb 24, 2014
    75
    The dialogue often crackles; the educational aspect even makes exposition fun to watch. Zahn is quite good, and the supporting cast already has an entertaining ensemble energy.
  3. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Feb 25, 2014
    58
    Mind Games is the kind of dramedy that could give you a brain cramp.
  4. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Feb 25, 2014
    50
    The deeper problem for Mind Games and creator Kyle Killen, whose Lone Star and Awake collapsed under similarly complex stories, is that it's awash in explanation, not just of the premise, but of the plot.
  5. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Feb 25, 2014
    40
    Conceptually interesting but rather thin in its “Mission: Impossible”-type moorings, the show weaves in some unexpected threads but does little to warrant a second thought.
  6. 30
    I am not at all in the bag for Mind Games. There's no bag. Mind Games is an off-putting misfire.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Tallerico
    Feb 20, 2014
    10
    NBC's "Ironside" was probably the worst new show of the 2013-14 season but this is a very close second. And it's particularly loathsome because one has to watch talented actors like Steve Zahn and Christian Slater suffer through this manipulative nonsense.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Apr 29, 2014
    10
    Mind games is very entertaining. the idea of mind manipulation is new and interesting and the main characters are lovable and fun. After watching the first five episodes I'm hooked and want to see what happens next.....I'm super bumbled to see that it may have been cancelled already Expand
  2. Mar 26, 2014
    9
    I like most people tune in to tv to be entertained. So what if Steve Zahns rants are over the top, I know people with bipolar mixed with other neurological issues and their behavior can definitely be over the top. Maybe his character is having several issues that we will see unfold over time. Genius has long been thought to border crazy as well. I for one am tired of everything fun, with good writing, interesting characters and good actors getting cancelled before they have a chance to find their footing. It has been a struggle to find good shows to watch on regular tv, mind games is a permanent addition to our Dvr list and I hope that abc will leave it. I really don't understand the hostility towards this show by critics and the average joe reviewers, it's got decent writing with decent story lines. Why not be entertained by a show that sheds light in a harmless way on human behavior. It's not trying to be political, it's not trying to make fun of mental illness, it's not trying to teach brainwashing techniques, it's simply a tv show trying to entertain a fickle audience. Have we really become so jaded that we can't watch a tv show without taking it personal and being overly offended. By the way, spongebob has good writing too, it's what makes it tolerable to listen to over and over while my son is growing up! This is a good show that I hope has a long future, but as good as it is...it's just a tv show its not real and anyone who can't see the humor and humanity in the show, has clearly gotta switch to decaf cause they are too high strung. If you want to be upset with something, be upset with the real life ways we are manipulated everyday as consumers. Then and only then you will see this show is the least of your concerns, it merely points out real ways our brain makes connections. I'm tired of people using less than 20% of their brains bashing every show that comes out before giving a chance to develop, because when networks remove them, they rarely replace with anything better. I'm really enjoying the whole cast, especially having seen Steve Zahn in a more meaty role. Mental illness can be over the top and messy, and I love that the writers aren't afraid! Expand
  3. Mar 20, 2014
    8
    Mind Games is a drama similar to TNT's Perception and Fox's Lie To Me. It is based around an unstable, eccentric doctor trained in the human brain (Eric Zahn) and his Ex-Con, but stable brother (Christian Slater) who run a business to help people change other peoples minds. It's a great concept, and for the most part, it works. The writing is strong, and Zahn's character, in spite of his quirks, which are realistic but exaggerated, makes use of actual, clever, scientific strategies that he employs for the client to help them change someones mind. Unfortunately, do the his human nature as a do-gooder, Zahn doesn't know the first thing about running a business, which is why he leaves that part up to Slater.

    It's a fun show, and its interesting. I just hope it isn't canceled like everything else Slater has ever been in.
    Also, Jaime Ray Newman is in this, and she's really hot. So there's that.
    Expand
  4. Apr 3, 2014
    7
    ABC has announced that they have cancelled Mind Games after only five episodes. Could the cancellation have anything to do with the fact that the last episode was about a scientist who was concerned about the dangers of GMOs? He lost his reputation fighting to show the corruption in the FDA, which was allowing a dangerous genetically modified food to be approved. Although we don't have genetically engineered cauliflower, this sounds a bit like what actually happened to scientist Arpad Pusztai, when he fought the release of GE potatoes. I'm sure this episode had the Biotech and Grocery Manufacturers unhappy, and they have been known to use their deep pockets to prevent anything to gain prominence which might hurt their promotion of genetically engineered (GE) foods or crops. GE ingredients are made from plants that are created in a lab by exchanging DNA between two species that would never happen in nature, to create new species. These new plants were introduced in our diets about 20 years ago, can now be found in 70-80% of our foods, have not had long-term safety studies, and are banned or at least identified in 64 other countries, but not the USA or Canada. The Biotech Industry and Grocery Manufacturers spent about $70 MILLION to prevent foods in California and Washington from being labeled. Pulling a show about GMO would cost a lot less! Talk about a Mind Game! Expand
  5. Mar 1, 2014
    7
    An interesting concept and a likable cast made the pilot very entertaining. Definitely going to stick with it for the first few episodes. Steve Zahn's bi-polar ranting is a bit over the top, hope he can rein it in a little (I am a fan of his work and tuned in solely to see him). Give it a try. Collapse
  6. Mar 25, 2014
    0
    Horrible. The basic idea is obviously about how NLP is used in order to influence unaware people subconscious in order to make them make agree about certain choices. NLP technique can obviously be performed only by serious professionals with a degree in psychology, who also must be sane in mind and body. What we have here instead, is a couple made of a crook and a mentally deficient brothers, who don't have the intellectual skills to do this.

    They also are unable to explain clearly that it is all about NLP. All they are saying is that they have some kind of miraculous skills, and are unable to explain wha the hell are they doing precisely. Apart of this mess, there is also the completely unnecessary fact that they are yelling for almost the whole running time of each episode. All of this makes the viewer only disturbed and annoyed. Don't waste your time on it. But if you still want to try it, be prepsared to be extremely annoyed. You have been warned.

    The writer has clearly no intellectual capacity to write this, and must stick to writing for Spongebob.
    Expand