• Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 3, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Metascore
42

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 16
  2. Negative: 8 out of 16
  1. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Jun 3, 2013
    30
    The writing is stock, the acting is hollow, and the direction is perky and workmanlike. It lacks any of the clever stylistic accents and camp humor of the somewhat similar “Desperate Housewives,” and pity the poor viewer who tries to apply logic to some of the plot twists.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    May 31, 2013
    38
    [A] disappointingly thin, damp new series. [10 Jun 2013, p.47]
  3. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Jun 3, 2013
    30
    [Mistresses is] grindingly, soul-suckingly dull.
  4. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Jun 3, 2013
    30
    The plot of Mistresses is so absurd and at times offensive that by the end of the first episode it's difficult not to hope for an early demise so these four women can be released to find better shows.
  5. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Jun 3, 2013
    20
    Mistresses is more vaporous than vapid; its meticulously styled sex scenes wind up seeming antiseptically dispassionate and too serious by half.
  6. 25
    All this suggests a by-the-numbers romance novel, but some romance novels are involving, or fun, or lively. Not Mistresses.
  7. Reviewed by: Melissa Maerz
    May 24, 2013
    33
    ABC's more-silly-than-saucy new drama. [31 May/7 Jun 2013, p.130]
  8. Reviewed by: Mike Lechevallier
    Jun 3, 2013
    25
    Mistresses is awash in a yawn-inducing flatness as thick as its quartet of cracked concubines.
User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 39 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 4 out of 8
  1. Sep 10, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. My favorite show right know, it has drama, romance, family. Its the new desperate housewives. I love how this serious just keeps you guessing on what the next scandal will be. This is a show I would recommend to anyone looking to start a good serious and I have gotten several people hooked on it. It one of those shows I look forward to coming home and watching. And season 3 I know will be a good one with the love triangle between savy, zac and dom. Joss and Harry find themselves in love as does savy wanting harry back. I cant wait!!! Full Review »
  2. May 23, 2014
    2
    the first problem this show had was the casting. It's just so difficult to watch. The show is extremely boring. If you're looking for a new show to watch, don't waste your time. Skip this one, its really not worth it. Full Review »
  3. Jan 28, 2014
    0
    Hollow, shallow drama, not even close to the depth and meaning to the original mistresses, or even the fun and caliber of performances as similar shows like Scandal or gossip girl. Jes macallan in particular deserves a TV razzie equivalent for overacting; her portrayal of a strong independent women is riddled with more clichés and stereotypes than empowerment or even sincerity. Whatever realism established by the ever earnest Milano is destroyed by Macallan's seemingly desperate attempt to perk up every scene with faux sexiness. With a different actress who can better hold her own and not just spit quirky sex tips, this show might have achieved some balance. Full Review »