• Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 3, 2013
Season #: 1, 2, 3
Metascore
42

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 16
  2. Negative: 8 out of 16
  1. 25
    All this suggests a by-the-numbers romance novel, but some romance novels are involving, or fun, or lively. Not Mistresses.
  2. Reviewed by: Mike Lechevallier
    Jun 3, 2013
    25
    Mistresses is awash in a yawn-inducing flatness as thick as its quartet of cracked concubines.
  3. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Jun 3, 2013
    30
    The plot of Mistresses is so absurd and at times offensive that by the end of the first episode it's difficult not to hope for an early demise so these four women can be released to find better shows.
  4. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Jun 3, 2013
    30
    [Mistresses is] grindingly, soul-suckingly dull.
  5. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Jun 3, 2013
    30
    The writing is stock, the acting is hollow, and the direction is perky and workmanlike. It lacks any of the clever stylistic accents and camp humor of the somewhat similar “Desperate Housewives,” and pity the poor viewer who tries to apply logic to some of the plot twists.
  6. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Jun 3, 2013
    20
    Mistresses is more vaporous than vapid; its meticulously styled sex scenes wind up seeming antiseptically dispassionate and too serious by half.
  7. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    May 31, 2013
    38
    [A] disappointingly thin, damp new series. [10 Jun 2013, p.47]
  8. Reviewed by: Melissa Maerz
    May 24, 2013
    33
    ABC's more-silly-than-saucy new drama. [31 May/7 Jun 2013, p.130]
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 45 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 3 out of 8
  1. Jun 7, 2015
    10
    It's a sexy thriller show with it's flaws and it's filled with melodramatics and it's a sexy show that is like an erotic play with PG-13 sexIt's a sexy thriller show with it's flaws and it's filled with melodramatics and it's a sexy show that is like an erotic play with PG-13 sex scenes and it's so corny, that women will love and men will hate it but I am a guy who likes this show. Grade A- Full Review »
  2. Sep 10, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. My favorite show right know, it has drama, romance, family. Its the new desperate housewives. I love how this serious just keeps you guessing on what the next scandal will be. This is a show I would recommend to anyone looking to start a good serious and I have gotten several people hooked on it. It one of those shows I look forward to coming home and watching. And season 3 I know will be a good one with the love triangle between savy, zac and dom. Joss and Harry find themselves in love as does savy wanting harry back. I cant wait!!! Full Review »
  3. May 23, 2014
    2
    the first problem this show had was the casting. It's just so difficult to watch. The show is extremely boring. If you're looking for a newthe first problem this show had was the casting. It's just so difficult to watch. The show is extremely boring. If you're looking for a new show to watch, don't waste your time. Skip this one, its really not worth it. Full Review »