• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 3, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Mistresses (2013) Image
Metascore
42

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 39 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Alyssa Milano, Brett Tucker, Jason Winston George
  • Summary: April (Rochelle Aytes), Karen (Yunjin Kim), Savannah (Alyssa Milano), and her sister Josslyn (Jes Macallan) are four friends who become involved in affairs in this US remake of the BBC series of the same name.
  • Genre(s): Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 16
  2. Negative: 8 out of 16
  1. Reviewed by: Dorothy Rabinowitz
    Jun 14, 2013
    80
    Once past an introductory flow of steamy images--plenty of stripping and unzipping, couplings in darkened rooms--it takes no time to recognize the quality in this sharply written and entertaining saga of four women destined to lead exceedingly complicated lives.
  2. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jun 3, 2013
    58
    The scripts are serviceable, although some lines land with a Richter Scale thud.
  3. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jun 3, 2013
    40
    The problem with Mistresses may lie with the expectations it has set. If the sex isn't going to be fun, what is it going to be? It would be good if we found that out soon.
  4. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    May 31, 2013
    38
    [A] disappointingly thin, damp new series. [10 Jun 2013, p.47]
  5. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Jun 3, 2013
    30
    The plot of Mistresses is so absurd and at times offensive that by the end of the first episode it's difficult not to hope for an early demise so these four women can be released to find better shows.
  6. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Jun 3, 2013
    30
    The writing is stock, the acting is hollow, and the direction is perky and workmanlike. It lacks any of the clever stylistic accents and camp humor of the somewhat similar “Desperate Housewives,” and pity the poor viewer who tries to apply logic to some of the plot twists.
  7. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Jun 3, 2013
    20
    Mistresses is more vaporous than vapid; its meticulously styled sex scenes wind up seeming antiseptically dispassionate and too serious by half.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 4 out of 8
  1. Sep 10, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. My favorite show right know, it has drama, romance, family. Its the new desperate housewives. I love how this serious just keeps you guessing on what the next scandal will be. This is a show I would recommend to anyone looking to start a good serious and I have gotten several people hooked on it. It one of those shows I look forward to coming home and watching. And season 3 I know will be a good one with the love triangle between savy, zac and dom. Joss and Harry find themselves in love as does savy wanting harry back. I cant wait!!! Expand
  2. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    It serves its purpose. Some lines are very cheesy and the plot doesn't make much sense at times but it is very entertaining. I think it is asIt serves its purpose. Some lines are very cheesy and the plot doesn't make much sense at times but it is very entertaining. I think it is as good as Desperate Housewives. Expand
  3. Jun 11, 2013
    8
    although viewership was bad, the plot has mysteries. Not mysteries we haven't heard before but very interesting ones that are usually shown inalthough viewership was bad, the plot has mysteries. Not mysteries we haven't heard before but very interesting ones that are usually shown in movies. I would compare it to desperate housewives charm and NOT plot. I really look forward to it because I'm really enjoying it and only 2 episodes have aired! Expand
  4. Jul 31, 2013
    2
    This show is dry boring and predictable... I hate how stupid these women are on the show... Savi is the worst... a whiny pretentious dumba**This show is dry boring and predictable... I hate how stupid these women are on the show... Savi is the worst... a whiny pretentious dumba** ...Karen is clueless and couldn't counsel her way around a corner... and Aprils storyline is 10 kinds of stupid...I gave it the 4 episode tryout and it was going well until eps 5-7 They completely lost me! The acting is atrocious in an unforgivable way... The story-lines are all super bogus and inauthentic...Why don't any of these women have lawyers or call police?? Its insanity...Watch Devious Maids instead for summer drama/fun... This one is DOA! Expand
  5. May 23, 2014
    2
    the first problem this show had was the casting. It's just so difficult to watch. The show is extremely boring. If you're looking for a newthe first problem this show had was the casting. It's just so difficult to watch. The show is extremely boring. If you're looking for a new show to watch, don't waste your time. Skip this one, its really not worth it. Expand
  6. Jul 8, 2013
    0
    Americans has tried many times to remake British success stories with not much success; this series is no surprise it did not come out as goodAmericans has tried many times to remake British success stories with not much success; this series is no surprise it did not come out as good as the Brit's version. Acting is mediocre, script is so-so, storyline is a little off... The character who is supposed to be Jessica in the UK version, resembles nothing like Jess... The American character seems a little empty headed individual.. and Jess (UK) was nothing like that. I give 1 star... worth a try, but no success. Expand
  7. Jan 28, 2014
    0
    Hollow, shallow drama, not even close to the depth and meaning to the original mistresses, or even the fun and caliber of performances asHollow, shallow drama, not even close to the depth and meaning to the original mistresses, or even the fun and caliber of performances as similar shows like Scandal or gossip girl. Jes macallan in particular deserves a TV razzie equivalent for overacting; her portrayal of a strong independent women is riddled with more clichés and stereotypes than empowerment or even sincerity. Whatever realism established by the ever earnest Milano is destroyed by Macallan's seemingly desperate attempt to perk up every scene with faux sexiness. With a different actress who can better hold her own and not just spit quirky sex tips, this show might have achieved some balance. Collapse

See all 8 User Reviews