• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Dec 4, 2013
  • Season #: 1
Mob City Image
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 62 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Created by Frank Darabont, the drama is based on John Buntin's book L.A. Noir: The Struggle for the Soul of America's Most Seductive City, focuses on the Los Angeles police led by Police Chief William H. Parker (Neal McDonough) and Det. Hal Morrison (Jeffrey DeMunn) as they battle the elements of Mickey Cohen's (Jeremy Luke) gang. Expand
  • Genre(s): Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 34
  2. Negative: 3 out of 34
  1. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Nov 27, 2013
    100
    The period details are exquisite, aside from a couple of stray modernisms that wander into the dialogue here and there.... But the brilliance of the series is the balancing act of the scripts, by Darabont and Buntin, executed with astonishing precision between the past and the modern version of the past.
  2. 80
    Mob City is smart, stylish, sexy and altogether addictive.
  3. While Mob City does have its weaknesses, including patches of starchy dialogue, it offsets them with some magnetic performances.
  4. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Dec 10, 2013
    63
    Holliday Grainger is an excellent Bonnie.... Emile Hirsch, a very good actor, plays Clyde as a passive nonentity.... Bonnie and Clyde seem as remote and illogical as another notorious couple of the era, Wallis Simpson and the Duke of Windsor. [16 Dec 2013]
  5. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Dec 4, 2013
    58
    Mob City at best is barely above average drama from a guy who presumably is still capable of far better. Boardwalk Empire it’s not. Not by a long shot -- or even a rat-a-tat-tat.
  6. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Dec 3, 2013
    50
    From its smoky night clubs to its fleabag dives, there's no doubt Mob City looks good. But in this case, looks aren't enough, particularly when too many of the details seem more studied than lived in.
  7. Reviewed by: Lesley Smith
    Dec 4, 2013
    20
    Mob City fails to make connections between now and the repercussions of the ‘40s, say, the marginalization of democratic debate, the pathologizing of women’s agency and autonomy, and the hysterical politics of fear and insecurity in an increasingly global economy. These daunting themes remain off screen here, leaving only a series of monotonous conversations and shoot-outs.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. Dec 4, 2013
    10
    A fantastic show nothing short of amazing. Really captures the feel of film noir. The acting is also very good. I love mafia series and this one has got to be the best I've seen so far. It also has some mystery elements behind it. It is a long premeire with a 2 hour and 11 minute runtime but its a great worthwhile watch. I just wish it was a whole series rather than a mini series because a show this high in quality of acting, performances, action, story, and mystery deserves more. Bottom line watch tho show if you love noir or mafia movies or shows it does not disappoint. Expand
  2. Dec 17, 2013
    10
    I feel that a lot of people judge shows unfairly today. The show didn't even have a full season to flush things out. That being said I think It is what Rockstars LA Noire should have been. It was a little slow at first but it could be something really special. People shouldn't write it off just yet. I have faith that Frank and his team will definitely Up the ante in season 2. Hopeful they will renew it for a second season. I would be really disappointed if they don't. It is very stylish & addictive. I think most of the cast did very well and I am very excited to see whats to come. Collapse
  3. Dec 20, 2013
    10
    I really enjoy this show, and the music was appropriate, although maybe more modern than the time setting, but loved it, added to the mood and feeling of the show. I really hope this will become a series, I'd like to see more of this. Expand
  4. Jan 3, 2014
    9
    A terrific romp through a bygone era. Loaded with great characters that fit the period, Tormented Cops, A Femme Fatale and Stereotypical Mobster Types. Amazing sets and cinematography. Reminiscent of an old Bogart Film. Thumbs up. Expand
  5. Dec 12, 2013
    9
    It was very good the story and plot is amazing hope the keep the season going.It is based on true events and would be good for anyone who likes mob movie go for it and your love it. Expand
  6. Dec 13, 2013
    9
    It was a cold and rainy night when this mug walked into my front room and turned my TV on. The show was new, "Mob City" was the name. He smiled and settled in. I didn't say no since he brought me some great silk stockings. I'm a girl that knows which side her bread is buttered. We watched together. It was just what a girl needs, a great guy and an awfully good show. Expand
  7. Zic
    Dec 5, 2013
    0
    The show is just way to boring for me. In addition the music in itself is enough to turn me away from this show since I cant stand that kind of music.

See all 14 User Reviews