• Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 26, 2012
  • Season #: 1
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Oct 26, 2012
    50
    The sets are terrific, as are the costumes, and the rich and saturated moodiness of the production values makes the tepidness of the story all the more disappointing.
  2. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Oct 26, 2012
    80
    Mockingbird Lane is funny, fanciful, a visual treat and, perhaps surprisingly, full of heart.
  3. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Oct 26, 2012
    50
    The hour-long pilot of Mockingbird Lane [is] a monster mash of a hot mess.
  4. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Oct 25, 2012
    50
    The gore is plentiful, the tone is inconsistent, and by the end only one thing is undeniably clear: Mockingbird Lane is a very different creature from "The Munsters."
  5. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Oct 25, 2012
    67
    Throughout the one-hour Mockingbird Lane pilot, it's easy to see why NBC wanted Fuller (with help from director Bryan Singer) to tackle this material, just as it's easy to see why his take scared them.
  6. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Oct 24, 2012
    50
    Fuller needs to sharpen the writing by throwing even more double entendres in for the grown-ups. All the parts are here- they just need to be put together correctly.
  7. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Oct 23, 2012
    83
    Outrageous, eccentric, funny, campy--and too creepy for small kids.
  8. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Oct 23, 2012
    50
    The hour goes by fairly quickly, but it's neither overtly scary nor overtly funny, and mixing those tones is very hard indeed.
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Oct 30, 2012
    8
    I thought Mockingbird Lane was really enjoyable some good special effects also very funny loved Eddie Izzard as Grandpa well worth a series to develop a good weekly story and build on what looks like a good show. Full Review »
  2. Nov 10, 2012
    10
    i love this first episode of mockingbird lane it was really good i thought it be dark show but its so funny i like guy who playing grandpa he only person on the show who ironically made me laugh Full Review »
  3. Nov 2, 2012
    8
    Interesting episode, Did not agree with the casting of Jerry O'Connel, he is obviously just there for the female visual stimulation. The show seemed a lot like Arrested Development in relation to the father/son dialogue, perhaps it was just the addition of Portia that sealed my opinion. Overall it was funny, Eddie Izzard was brilliant as usual but did not do enough to help the below average plot. With more episodes i think this show may find its feet, much like The Wire. Full Review »