• Network: CBS
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 23, 2013
Season #: 1, 2
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Brian Tallerico
    Sep 26, 2013
    60
    The verbal volleying between Christy and Bonnie is easily the reason to watch Mom at least at the beginning. The supporting cast is uninteresting and cliched but when Janney & Faris get going? It reminds one of how good they can be with the right material.
  2. Reviewed by: Andrea Reiher
    Sep 23, 2013
    60
    It's trying too hard to be a "sitcom" that looks and feels straight out of 1992. The bones are there, but the execution is lacking.
  3. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Sep 20, 2013
    60
    Mom is a bit all over the place in its pilot.... The show is at its best when the focus is on Christy and her relationship with her own mother, Bonnie.
  4. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Sep 23, 2013
    58
    The pilot feels like 17 shows all crammed together into one.
  5. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 15, 2013
    58
    Janney and Faris seem to have fun, even when the material in the pilot episode is a tad too seedy and even off-puttingly icy. If Mom could dial it down a notch, it would find a better balance between bawdy and snide.
  6. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Sep 23, 2013
    50
    Mom is hard-edged, snark-dependent and brittle.
  7. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Sep 23, 2013
    40
    Faris does her best with a role that still feels unfinished, and too much of the rest of the cast consists of caricatures.
User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 80 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. Oct 4, 2013
    3
    Can we pass an international law that states Chuck Lorre may never ever produce another show.

    Havent laughed once in 2 episodes this show
    Can we pass an international law that states Chuck Lorre may never ever produce another show.

    Havent laughed once in 2 episodes this show is stale and expired.
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 28, 2013
    4
    Since Chuck Lorre encouraged us in his vanity card to complain on the internet, I will. It wasn't funny. Yet another example that a well knownSince Chuck Lorre encouraged us in his vanity card to complain on the internet, I will. It wasn't funny. Yet another example that a well known actor doesn't count for jack with a bad script. Since there was a huge cheer for Jon Cryer's pointless cameo I guess hard core Lorre fans who even watch Mike and Molly will like this... if anyone. Full Review »
  3. Nov 9, 2013
    6
    This show is horrible. The acting is good, however the writing is not. The mother chemistry is good. I think the actors are very good, it isThis show is horrible. The acting is good, however the writing is not. The mother chemistry is good. I think the actors are very good, it is just that the jokes are painful to watch. Full Review »