• Network: CBS
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 23, 2013
  • Season #: 1
User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 60 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 60
  2. Negative: 11 out of 60

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 4, 2013
    2
    I've recorded and watched the first two episodes. To be honest, after watching the pilot episode, I removed the show from the ToDo list of my DVR. Then, I decided to give the show a second chance, after all, the actresses are talented people, the show has to get better. Then I watched the second episode. Well, that's thirty minutes of my life that I'll never get back.... I cannot see the point of this show. The jokes aren't funny, the actresses look as if they are dragging the dialog uphill as they act out their lines. There's a serious aspect to the show, but it does not come across well, it seems out of place, almost as if they are trying too hard.

    Typically, I like Chuck Lorre comedies, but this one is a dud.
    Expand
  2. Oct 4, 2013
    3
    Can we pass an international law that states Chuck Lorre may never ever produce another show.

    Havent laughed once in 2 episodes this show is stale and expired.
  3. Sep 30, 2013
    4
    I expected more from Chuck Lorre and Anna Faris. I didn't laugh one single time! I really have mixed feeling about this show but yet again the first few episodes of The big bang theory wasn't that good.
  4. Sep 28, 2013
    4
    Since Chuck Lorre encouraged us in his vanity card to complain on the internet, I will. It wasn't funny. Yet another example that a well known actor doesn't count for jack with a bad script. Since there was a huge cheer for Jon Cryer's pointless cameo I guess hard core Lorre fans who even watch Mike and Molly will like this... if anyone.
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Oct 25, 2013
    75
    If Faris is the little engine that could, Janney is the caboose along for the ride. [4 Nov 2013]
  2. Reviewed by: Dorothy Rabinowitz
    Oct 18, 2013
    80
    It is sharp comedy enriched by a cast led by Allison Janney as Bonnie, the mother in question, and Anna Faris as Christy, her daughter.
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Rorke
    Oct 3, 2013
    75
    When the jokes work, they’re hilarious.