• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 23, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Mom Image
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 67 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The latest sitcom from Chuck Lorre stars Anna Faris as a newly sober single mother who works as a waitress in Napa Valley but whose life is complicated further by the return of her estranged mother (Allison Janney), herself a recovering alcoholic.
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Sep 22, 2013
    83
    This is dark material, yet Faris balances it with a genuine winsomeness, able to wring laughs out of the most innocuous lines.
  2. Reviewed by: Alessandra Stanley
    Sep 16, 2013
    80
    [Mom is] both both wittier and sweeter than the new Fox show "Dads."
  3. 80
    Mom is about shtick, and it has hired a core group of actors who know how to do it.... The whole cast is just about perfect.
  4. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Sep 19, 2013
    70
    While the show breaks little ground, it’s a fairly polished and inordinately well-cast pilot. ... Mom has the bones of a pretty durable TV show.
  5. Reviewed by: Melissa Maerz
    Sep 11, 2013
    67
    Faris and Janney are funnier than the material.
  6. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Sep 20, 2013
    60
    Mom is a bit all over the place in its pilot.... The show is at its best when the focus is on Christy and her relationship with her own mother, Bonnie.
  7. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Sep 24, 2013
    20
    Dumb and obvious and formulaic.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. Apr 16, 2014
    10
    I LOVE this show!!! I Laugh Out Loud with each episode. There is so much talent in the writing and acting... I'm really looking forward to the next season! Expand
  2. Nov 25, 2013
    10
    Mom is an incredibly insightful joke machine. And the cast is absurdly funny. Faris and Janney are the emotional and hilarious center of the cast, but there are so many well fleshed out and funny characters as well. The chef with his deadpan and his cook, the couple of friends in recovery (Octavia Spencer among them), Justin Long, the kids in the show. After 8 episodes the show keeps getting better and better. That such a show will indulge in a life in recovery, and to be done in such a watchable way, is truly a first for American TV. I have personally been in the rooms and I can relate to it, despite the farcical undertones. I don't like Chuck Lorre's products in general but with this one he has won me over. A female centric cast that runs away with the material and makes it their own... Expand
  3. Apr 15, 2014
    10
    I love this show. Anna faris and Allison Janey make me laugh out loud. They are such a hilarious combo. Anyway I always watch this show. So yeah you should watch it too. Expand
  4. Oct 12, 2013
    8
    One of Fall's best new shows and best new comedies! the show never failed to deliver. it is a comedy with a romantic touch and a tradegic touch with a pinch of plot twists as of every episode so far! my Mondays just became much better. Well done Anna Faris Expand
  5. Nov 26, 2013
    7
    Unlike "Dads", Mom is pretty funny. The jokes are good, and the two ladies are entertaining, Probably the funniest new show of the season. We'll see if it sticks. Expand
  6. Aug 8, 2014
    5
    OK. This is the first time I am altering a previous review here on MC.

    Because of Chuck Lorre and the actors involved in this show, I
    continued to record and watch it.

    It got better. Much better.

    I still think the actors are getting their legs, and the show is hitting important issues. I like that.

    So Mom is back on my TiVo's ToDo list. And the important second-season is on the horizon. I'll be watching.....
    Expand
  7. Oct 4, 2013
    3
    Can we pass an international law that states Chuck Lorre may never ever produce another show.

    Havent laughed once in 2 episodes this show
    is stale and expired. Expand

See all 17 User Reviews