Mom : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 23, 2013
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Mom Image
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 114 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: The latest sitcom from Chuck Lorre stars Anna Faris as a newly sober single mother who works as a waitress in Napa Valley but whose life is complicated further by the return of her estranged mother (Allison Janney), herself a recovering alcoholic.
  • Genre(s): Comedy

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Mom
Autoplay On Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Sep 22, 2013
    83
    This is dark material, yet Faris balances it with a genuine winsomeness, able to wring laughs out of the most innocuous lines.
  2. Reviewed by: Alessandra Stanley
    Sep 16, 2013
    80
    [Mom is] both both wittier and sweeter than the new Fox show "Dads."
  3. 80
    Mom is about shtick, and it has hired a core group of actors who know how to do it.... The whole cast is just about perfect.
  4. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Sep 19, 2013
    70
    While the show breaks little ground, it’s a fairly polished and inordinately well-cast pilot. ... Mom has the bones of a pretty durable TV show.
  5. Reviewed by: Melissa Maerz
    Sep 11, 2013
    67
    Faris and Janney are funnier than the material.
  6. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Sep 20, 2013
    60
    Mom is a bit all over the place in its pilot.... The show is at its best when the focus is on Christy and her relationship with her own mother, Bonnie.
  7. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Sep 24, 2013
    20
    Dumb and obvious and formulaic.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 24
  2. Negative: 3 out of 24
  1. Mar 26, 2016
    10
    I watch all the highly rated top shows and a variety of them... Breaking Bad, Big Bang, Master of None, Game of Thrones, Walking Dead, BatesI watch all the highly rated top shows and a variety of them... Breaking Bad, Big Bang, Master of None, Game of Thrones, Walking Dead, Bates Motel, True Detective (not season 2), Brooklyn Nine Nine, Supernatural are some of the shows I've watched in their entirety because I liked them. I'm on episode 20 of season 1, i'm shocked that I feel like this is better than all the other shows I listed at the moment. Maybe its because i just got done watching a good episode...but almost every episode I watch I remember having this moment where I'm thinking damn, this show is so funny...and damn this show is so good...and there's always a teary eyed moment despite some of the crudest jokes. It takes struggling people perceived by society as bottom rung through their finances and their various big mistakes in life that people can make, really regret, and grow from, and shows how they can be some of the richest people...in terms of love, family, and friendship. I LOVE this show.

    Update: I'm on episode 13 of season 3, and i'm extremely sad that now i have to wait to watch more episodes. There is nothing in the entirety of TV history that compares to this show. It is the FUNNIEST, most SOULFUL, sweet, heart-felt, and good hearted, tv show i have ever watched, despite being about alcoholics, especially being about alcoholics, and moms, and ex-cons, and strippers, and second chances. As i got closer to episode 13, I tried watching other shows, like two and a half men, and mike and molly, walking dead, x-files, daredevil....i went back to trying to catch up on big bang theory and others...after watching this tv show...nothing is good anymore. Its sooo good.
    Expand
  2. May 9, 2014
    10
    I love this show, everyone should be able to relate on some level. I can relate to adoption, alcoholism, never knowing biological father, andI love this show, everyone should be able to relate on some level. I can relate to adoption, alcoholism, never knowing biological father, and working for a boss that threatens to kill people. It is a "real" reality show for me, not that scripted trash that is on tv. Some issues are so sad you just have to laugh about them. Go Christy, Go Alvin, Go Bonnie!! Expand
  3. Apr 15, 2014
    10
    I love this show. Anna faris and Allison Janey make me laugh out loud. They are such a hilarious combo. Anyway I always watch this show. SoI love this show. Anna faris and Allison Janey make me laugh out loud. They are such a hilarious combo. Anyway I always watch this show. So yeah you should watch it too. Expand
  4. Feb 13, 2017
    8
    this show shows a different point of view of human, an addict point of view. i watch their struggles, and yet i can say this is so true. manythis show shows a different point of view of human, an addict point of view. i watch their struggles, and yet i can say this is so true. many addict in real life much more miserable. this show open my eyes a little more biggie. sometimes this show can be stressful to watch not funny. Expand
  5. Nov 26, 2013
    7
    Unlike "Dads", Mom is pretty funny. The jokes are good, and the two ladies are entertaining, Probably the funniest new show of the season.Unlike "Dads", Mom is pretty funny. The jokes are good, and the two ladies are entertaining, Probably the funniest new show of the season. We'll see if it sticks. Expand
  6. Aug 8, 2014
    5
    OK. This is the first time I am altering a previous review here on MC.

    Because of Chuck Lorre and the actors involved in this show, I
    OK. This is the first time I am altering a previous review here on MC.

    Because of Chuck Lorre and the actors involved in this show, I continued to record and watch it.

    It got better. Much better.

    I still think the actors are getting their legs, and the show is hitting important issues. I like that.

    So Mom is back on my TiVo's ToDo list. And the important second-season is on the horizon. I'll be watching.....
    Expand
  7. Feb 6, 2016
    0
    I and my family are avid watcher of Mom We feel it is one of the best new series on TV. However the last episode with Rosy O'Donnell wasI and my family are avid watcher of Mom We feel it is one of the best new series on TV. However the last episode with Rosy O'Donnell was terrible. I hope the show does not continue with this type of programming. Expand

See all 24 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Renew/Cancel Odds for TV Shows Still on the Bubble

    Renew/Cancel Odds for TV Shows Still on the Bubble Image
    Published: March 22, 2017
    Is your favorite TV show coming back next season? We survey a variety of industry experts to get the latest renewal odds.