• Network: TNT
  • Series Premiere Date: Feb 4, 2013
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 22
  2. Negative: 3 out of 22
  1. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Feb 4, 2013
    50
    It’s a straightforward piece of work that, with some deepening of characters and a few detours from too well-trodden plot paths, could be a decent addition to the TNT lineup.
  2. Reviewed by: Jessica Shaw
    Feb 1, 2013
    50
    If this show is to breathe, someone should take a scalpel to the malignant melodrama. [8 Feb 2013, p.69]
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Feb 4, 2013
    40
    Full-fledged human beings are slow to emerge; the characters are long on attitude but short on detail.... The show could use some of the quirkiness that has enlivened Kelley shows such as "Picket Fences" and "Boston Legal."
  4. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Feb 4, 2013
    60
    Monday Mornings doesn’t break major new ground in TV medical dramas. It has a couple of nice twists and does a couple of familiar things well.
  5. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Feb 8, 2013
    50
    Most of Mornings is stock melodrama, and apart from Molina, not all that well acted. [18 Feb 2013, p.43]
  6. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Feb 4, 2013
    50
    The M&Ms are brutal and might have set Monday Mornings apart as a psychological examination of regret and human error. But in the three episodes sent for review, producers David E. Kelley and CNN chief medical correspondent Dr. Sanjay Gupta (adapting this from his 2012 novel) instead overdose on the same sappy storylines we've seen before.
  7. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Feb 4, 2013
    40
    There are few likable characters here, the centerpiece M&M meetings should be what sets the series apart but is actually bogging it down into nonsense.
  8. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Jan 31, 2013
    40
    It's a typical David E. Kelley creation in all the wrong ways: ensemble drama as a steel-cage match of emoting and moralizing, with lectures and grand gestures given precedence over coherent storytelling. His usual saving graces, sharp characterization and unforced humor, aren't in evidence through three episodes.
  9. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Feb 4, 2013
    60
    It's the program's central device--the prolonged trial-like exchanges between Hooten and whoever might have tripped up--that overwhelm the more promising elements, and keep "Monday Mornings" from being worthy of a Monday-night appointment, despite the tonal compatibility with its "Dallas" lead-in.
  10. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Feb 4, 2013
    40
    Monday Mornings, TNT’s new hospital drama from David E. Kelley, takes what might have been a fresh angle and overdoses it with the usual sappy storylines and cheap, melodramatic editing style.
  11. 50
    Not all the cases turn out badly, but enough do that the show takes on a rather grim formula.... That's a lot of talent to work with and the good news is that Monday Mornings shows signs of finding its voice by episode three.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 32 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 11
  2. Negative: 3 out of 11
  1. Mar 9, 2013
    10
    I didn't think I would, but I love this show. Another intelligent, quirky and informative show from David E. Kelley with Dr. Sanjay Gupta. I'mI didn't think I would, but I love this show. Another intelligent, quirky and informative show from David E. Kelley with Dr. Sanjay Gupta. I'm very glad I watched a few episodes before making a judgement, it's turned into a favorite. Give it a chance, you'll like it. Full Review »
  2. Feb 5, 2013
    8
    The reviews are mixed but I enjoyed the first episode. Someone compared it to House but I think that is way off, more like the old ER. AllThe reviews are mixed but I enjoyed the first episode. Someone compared it to House but I think that is way off, more like the old ER. All veteran actors so I imagine if the writing is good it will be a good series. Full Review »
  3. Mar 20, 2013
    9
    Beyond the character's needing some serious building in personality, a few in particular, after watching the first seven episodes I hope itBeyond the character's needing some serious building in personality, a few in particular, after watching the first seven episodes I hope it continues. I liked it. Full Review »