• Network: TNT
  • Series Premiere Date: Feb 4, 2013
  • Season #: 1
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 22
  2. Negative: 3 out of 22
  1. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Feb 4, 2013
    50
    It’s a straightforward piece of work that, with some deepening of characters and a few detours from too well-trodden plot paths, could be a decent addition to the TNT lineup.
  2. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Feb 4, 2013
    25
    Kelley is known for cre­ating wonderfully mem­orable, sometimes deliriously neurotic characters. Judging from the writing here, it’s as if he’s been medicated into a stupor. Diagnosis: Waste of time.
  3. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Jan 31, 2013
    63
    Monday Mornings spends a fair bit of time probing controversial and ethically complex issues like organ donation, informed consent, health insurance and advance directives. But that, coupled with a cast of characters who don't become all that compelling after three episodes, isn't enough to elevate the series above the rest of the pack.
  4. Reviewed by: Jessica Shaw
    Feb 1, 2013
    50
    If this show is to breathe, someone should take a scalpel to the malignant melodrama. [8 Feb 2013, p.69]
  5. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Feb 4, 2013
    80
    It’s not perfect, but it’s easily the most restrained--and satisfying--Kelley series since those first couple of years of “The Practice.”
  6. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Feb 4, 2013
    40
    Full-fledged human beings are slow to emerge; the characters are long on attitude but short on detail.... The show could use some of the quirkiness that has enlivened Kelley shows such as "Picket Fences" and "Boston Legal."
  7. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Feb 4, 2013
    60
    Monday Mornings doesn’t break major new ground in TV medical dramas. It has a couple of nice twists and does a couple of familiar things well.
  8. Reviewed by: Michael Starr
    Feb 4, 2013
    63
    It’s just that we’ve seen most of this before, and despite its creative pedigree and a solid cast--fronted by the always reliable Ving Rhames and Alfred Molina--there’s not enough to set Monday Mornings apart from “ER,” “Grey’s Anatomy,” “Private Practice,” et al.
  9. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Feb 4, 2013
    91
    Monday Mornings is Kelleyesque in all the best and admittedly worst--melodramatic, manipulative, shocking--ways. But it's also intelligent, particularly well-written and acted, and above all interested in matters other than what's directly mounted on the screen before your eyes, most notably ethics, human nature and human fallibility.
  10. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Feb 8, 2013
    50
    Most of Mornings is stock melodrama, and apart from Molina, not all that well acted. [18 Feb 2013, p.43]
  11. Reviewed by: Cynthia Fuchs
    Feb 4, 2013
    30
    The dynamic here is already tired.
  12. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Feb 4, 2013
    50
    The M&Ms are brutal and might have set Monday Mornings apart as a psychological examination of regret and human error. But in the three episodes sent for review, producers David E. Kelley and CNN chief medical correspondent Dr. Sanjay Gupta (adapting this from his 2012 novel) instead overdose on the same sappy storylines we've seen before.
  13. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Feb 1, 2013
    75
    There isn't a bad performance in the bunch.... Veterans Molina and Irwin stand out for especially complex and nuanced performances.
  14. 63
    The cases often seem more obvious than intriguing; the emotions feel forced; much of the dialogue is trite. The cast is unusually diverse, and that's worthy of high praise.
  15. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Feb 4, 2013
    40
    There are few likable characters here, the centerpiece M&M meetings should be what sets the series apart but is actually bogging it down into nonsense.
  16. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Jan 31, 2013
    40
    It's a typical David E. Kelley creation in all the wrong ways: ensemble drama as a steel-cage match of emoting and moralizing, with lectures and grand gestures given precedence over coherent storytelling. His usual saving graces, sharp characterization and unforced humor, aren't in evidence through three episodes.
  17. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Feb 4, 2013
    70
    The cast is solid and admirably diverse.... While never as engaging as Grey's Anatomy nor clever enough to make us forget the void left by House's departure, Mornings at least does no harm.
  18. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jan 31, 2013
    91
    It's the strongest medical series since House arrived on Fox for an eight-season run that ended last spring. The genre badly needs a transfusion. And at last, here's a strong one.
  19. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Feb 4, 2013
    37
    Drama requires more than mere stenography. It requires creating full-blooded characters we're willing to believe, giving them lines we think some human being might actually say, and hiring actors who are able to say them without allowing us to see any artifice underneath. At those tasks, Gupta, Kelley and most of their cast have failed.
  20. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Feb 4, 2013
    60
    It's the program's central device--the prolonged trial-like exchanges between Hooten and whoever might have tripped up--that overwhelm the more promising elements, and keep "Monday Mornings" from being worthy of a Monday-night appointment, despite the tonal compatibility with its "Dallas" lead-in.
  21. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Feb 4, 2013
    40
    Monday Mornings, TNT’s new hospital drama from David E. Kelley, takes what might have been a fresh angle and overdoses it with the usual sappy storylines and cheap, melodramatic editing style.
  22. 50
    Not all the cases turn out badly, but enough do that the show takes on a rather grim formula.... That's a lot of talent to work with and the good news is that Monday Mornings shows signs of finding its voice by episode three.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 32 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 11
  2. Negative: 3 out of 11
  1. Mar 9, 2013
    10
    I didn't think I would, but I love this show. Another intelligent, quirky and informative show from David E. Kelley with Dr. Sanjay Gupta. I'mI didn't think I would, but I love this show. Another intelligent, quirky and informative show from David E. Kelley with Dr. Sanjay Gupta. I'm very glad I watched a few episodes before making a judgement, it's turned into a favorite. Give it a chance, you'll like it. Full Review »
  2. Feb 5, 2013
    8
    The reviews are mixed but I enjoyed the first episode. Someone compared it to House but I think that is way off, more like the old ER. AllThe reviews are mixed but I enjoyed the first episode. Someone compared it to House but I think that is way off, more like the old ER. All veteran actors so I imagine if the writing is good it will be a good series. Full Review »
  3. Mar 20, 2013
    9
    Beyond the character's needing some serious building in personality, a few in particular, after watching the first seven episodes I hope itBeyond the character's needing some serious building in personality, a few in particular, after watching the first seven episodes I hope it continues. I liked it. Full Review »