• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Feb 4, 2013
  • Season #: 1
Monday Mornings Image
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 32 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Doctors at the fictional Chelsea General Hospital in Portland, Oregon, are held accountable for ethically or morally wrong medical decisions in front of the chief of staff, Dr. Harding Hooten (Alfred Molina) and their colleagues in the medical drama based on Dr. Sanjay Gupta's book of the same name.
  • Genre(s): Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 22
  2. Negative: 3 out of 22
  1. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Feb 4, 2013
    91
    Monday Mornings is Kelleyesque in all the best and admittedly worst--melodramatic, manipulative, shocking--ways. But it's also intelligent, particularly well-written and acted, and above all interested in matters other than what's directly mounted on the screen before your eyes, most notably ethics, human nature and human fallibility.
  2. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Feb 4, 2013
    80
    It’s not perfect, but it’s easily the most restrained--and satisfying--Kelley series since those first couple of years of “The Practice.”
  3. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Feb 4, 2013
    70
    The cast is solid and admirably diverse.... While never as engaging as Grey's Anatomy nor clever enough to make us forget the void left by House's departure, Mornings at least does no harm.
  4. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Feb 4, 2013
    50
    The M&Ms are brutal and might have set Monday Mornings apart as a psychological examination of regret and human error. But in the three episodes sent for review, producers David E. Kelley and CNN chief medical correspondent Dr. Sanjay Gupta (adapting this from his 2012 novel) instead overdose on the same sappy storylines we've seen before.
  5. 50
    Not all the cases turn out badly, but enough do that the show takes on a rather grim formula.... That's a lot of talent to work with and the good news is that Monday Mornings shows signs of finding its voice by episode three.
  6. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Feb 4, 2013
    40
    There are few likable characters here, the centerpiece M&M meetings should be what sets the series apart but is actually bogging it down into nonsense.
  7. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Feb 4, 2013
    25
    Kelley is known for cre­ating wonderfully mem­orable, sometimes deliriously neurotic characters. Judging from the writing here, it’s as if he’s been medicated into a stupor. Diagnosis: Waste of time.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 11
  2. Negative: 3 out of 11
  1. Mar 9, 2013
    10
    I didn't think I would, but I love this show. Another intelligent, quirky and informative show from David E. Kelley with Dr. Sanjay Gupta. I'mI didn't think I would, but I love this show. Another intelligent, quirky and informative show from David E. Kelley with Dr. Sanjay Gupta. I'm very glad I watched a few episodes before making a judgement, it's turned into a favorite. Give it a chance, you'll like it. Expand
  2. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    This is one of the best new doctor shows. The whole concept of the Monday Morning review of doctors and their surgeries is wonderful! TheThis is one of the best new doctor shows. The whole concept of the Monday Morning review of doctors and their surgeries is wonderful! The characters work well together the chemistry is fantastic. We love the Chinese doctor that keeps saying "Don't do dead"! The relationship between the head doctor and the Ving Raims is fantastic! Expand
  3. Mar 20, 2013
    9
    Beyond the character's needing some serious building in personality, a few in particular, after watching the first seven episodes I hope itBeyond the character's needing some serious building in personality, a few in particular, after watching the first seven episodes I hope it continues. I liked it. Expand
  4. Feb 12, 2013
    6
    While Monday Mornings is being billed as a "no-nonsense" sort of medical drama, it still has it's share of nonsense. It suffers from most ofWhile Monday Mornings is being billed as a "no-nonsense" sort of medical drama, it still has it's share of nonsense. It suffers from most of the things I typically dislike about medical dramas. This includes a cast chocked full of "pretty people" that look more like underwear models than brain surgeons. I won't name names (partly because I can't be bothered to actually google these people), but a few of the cast members possess acting styles that seem better suited for daytime soaps than a prime time drama. In addition, many of "dramatic" moments feel forced, and a tad silly. This includes the Monday morning morbidity and mortality conferences that is used as one of the show's primary gimmicks. And of course it wouldn't be a medical drama without at least one completely unnecessary romance (so far I count two). And despite all this, I still found myself entertained (for the most part) throughout both of the episodes I've now watched. Monday Mornings is, at it's core, a show about the difficult decisions that doctors have to make every day, and sometimes those decisions don't turn out well. The show offers a slightly more realistic, sometimes unpleasant, glimpse into the lives of surgeons. Medical dramas are at their best when they're interesting, and this is definitely the most interesting thing Monday Mornings has going for it.

    While I am, at present, not entirely impressed by Monday Mornings, I do think it has the potential to be great. There are definitely problems; some of the characters need to be rounded out a bit. But there's enough substance to keep me coming back for at least the next handful of episodes.
    Expand
  5. dch
    Mar 27, 2013
    6
    Where was Dr. Buck last week for the gay marriage episode? On vacation or didn't want to broach the HIV issue with transplants? If you'reWhere was Dr. Buck last week for the gay marriage episode? On vacation or didn't want to broach the HIV issue with transplants? If you're going to explore a medical issue, you should fully explore it. Expand
  6. Mar 13, 2013
    4
    Monday Mornings is certainly watchable, but suffers several flaws. The M&M conferences might make for a nice gimmick to drive the show inMonday Mornings is certainly watchable, but suffers several flaws. The M&M conferences might make for a nice gimmick to drive the show in theory, but in practice they are the show's weakest element. The show cannot keep pace with the precedent set in the pilot; as the episodes march onwards, the M&M conferences are less gritty, less tense, less interesting. They are a formality that is awkwardly shoehorned into every episode so that we can see a lot of dramatic close ups of the cast while Molina lectures them on the moral of the week. Watching Molina pour a glass of water in slow motion is not nearly as enthralling as Kelley imagines it to be. The patients every week consist of an awkward sideshow of pretentious, precocious nitwits who clumsily deliver the weekly moral without ever seeming authentic. The members of the cast do their best, to varying effect. Molina does his job expertly and Irving's performances, especially in the pilot, are enthralling. Bamber on the other hand never achieves credibility in his role, seeming more like a model from a shampoo AD who wandered confused onto a hospital set. The rest of the cast is certainly trying very hard to breathe life into their characters, and can't be held accountable for the poor writing that they have to work with. It isn't a terrible show, and the cast is worth watching, but the writing and pacing is not very impressive. Expand
  7. Feb 13, 2013
    1
    The only thing this show has got going for it is the beautiful cinematic way it was shot. Apart from that the plot is pretty dire and theThe only thing this show has got going for it is the beautiful cinematic way it was shot. Apart from that the plot is pretty dire and the characters are flat. There are some great actors but they cannot save this show. In my opinion nothing about this concept works as is and if they want to make it work they need to give us some characters we can care about. Collapse

See all 11 User Reviews