• Network: USA
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 24, 2015
Season #: 1, 2, 3
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9

Where To Watch

Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Darren Franich
    Oct 11, 2017
    100
    Season 3 of Mr. Robot is a masterpiece, ballasting the global ambitions of season 2 while sharpening back to the meticulous build of season 1.
  2. Reviewed by: Liz Shannon Miller
    Oct 10, 2017
    91
    More often than not, Mr. Robot is not a show which invites you to buy in. It’s standoffish, reticent, only willing to make you care when prodded to do so, and even then it will resist. Yet if you are willing to engage, willing to challenge yourself, it’s some of the most fascinating television happening right now.
  3. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Oct 11, 2017
    90
    Version 3.0 marks a welcome return to form, one that tightens the story but still seems disarmingly weird and appropriately suited to the current political and cultural moment.
  4. Reviewed by: Todd VanDerWerff
    Oct 11, 2017
    90
    Mr. Robot is finally evolving into the show it always should have been, and you should watch it.
  5. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Oct 10, 2017
    90
    Mr. Robot is must-watch again. ... Mostly it's just a welcome relief to tune into Mr. Robot and have it take off immediately in creative, smart and adrenaline-fueling directions. The writing and plotting is spot-on, the directing brilliant and once again Malek proves, in almost every scene, how utterly essential he is to everything working.
  6. Reviewed by: Jen Chaney
    Oct 11, 2017
    80
    For those already weary at the prospect of more episodes rife with frustrating mind games, know that in season three, Mr. Robot is much more consistently assured and compelling than it was in its uneven second season.
  7. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Oct 11, 2017
    80
    The third season, based on the four episodes I’ve watched, is strong and exciting and moves the narrative along at an invigorating pace.
  8. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Oct 10, 2017
    60
    There are so many interlocking agendas and conspiracies and secrets that the show feels more like work than it originally did, no matter how much Esmail tries to pare things back to the basics. Beat to beat, it can still knock me off my chair, but then we get back to keeping track of who’s really loyal to whom, when Angela might or might not be telling the truth, or what Tyrell’s motivations are, and the episodes can start feeling much longer than they actually are.
  9. Reviewed by: Allison Keene
    Oct 10, 2017
    60
    The moments where Elliot hacks into systems and works to bring down corruption in globe-spanning corporations is exciting, compelling, and intense. The show works hard to get those moments right, and it pays off. Much of the rest, though, can feel like when Elliot loses time to the obscure machinations of Mr. Robot before getting back to business.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 184 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 32 out of 184
  1. Oct 13, 2017
    0
    This boring and self-important ripoff of Fight Club has failed to develop a personality. The acting is poor and overly stilted (and not justThis boring and self-important ripoff of Fight Club has failed to develop a personality. The acting is poor and overly stilted (and not just the protagonist, who is on the autism spectrum), the plot weak, and the general aesthetic something we had all hoped had died in the late '90s. Full Review »
  2. Oct 14, 2017
    0
    Season 3 opener was blah and I felt like I was being preached to instead of being entertained. Such a disappointment for a show that I reallySeason 3 opener was blah and I felt like I was being preached to instead of being entertained. Such a disappointment for a show that I really enjoyed the first 2 seasons. It seems like the writer is trying to really and truthfully sell anti-capitalism as a real life philosophy instead of just including it as a theme to the Mr Robot universe, all while making a butt load of money off of, hey capitalism. Full Review »
  3. Oct 13, 2017
    10
    Season 3 starts off frantically, after the events at the end of season 2 this should be no surprise. All the main characters have little toSeason 3 starts off frantically, after the events at the end of season 2 this should be no surprise. All the main characters have little to no control over what's happening at this point and the viewer is just along for the ride.

    I'm sure Sam Esmail has some tricks up his sleeve, but if the season can continue even half the pace of the first episode this season will be Mr. Robot's best, and hopefully lead into a great final stretch of one or two more seasons after this one.
    Full Review »