• Network: ,
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 6, 2013
Season #: 1, 2, 3
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 37 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: After a successful career at Marshall Field, American Harry Gordon Selfridge (Jeremy Piven) decides to open his own department store in London.
  • Genre(s): Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Mar 29, 2013
    91
    It’s terrific fun as well as involving drama.
  2. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Apr 1, 2013
    75
    The sets and costuming are top-notch. The musical score is brash, if redundant. The personal dramas range from silly to 
diverting.
  3. Reviewed by: Sara Smith
    Apr 1, 2013
    70
    Mr. Selfridge really gets rolling in its third and fourth episodes, when its interlocking stories and Piven’s outsize performance settle into place.
  4. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Mar 29, 2013
    60
    [Piven] brings a contemporary delivery that is jarring in the context of all the period elements around him. Alas, in this particular entourage, which is filled with promise, Piven is the weak link.
  5. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Apr 1, 2013
    50
    It plays like a desperate attempt to recreate all the wonder of “Downton Abbey”--but with no characters to care about.
  6. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Mar 27, 2013
    50
    It's modestly entertaining, but because Davies and his writers and directors have employed a kind of wink-wink artificiality to the performances and style of Mr. Selfridge, you never quite believe much of it and you may find yourself caring only in passing.
  7. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Mar 28, 2013
    25
    The production is gorgeous and the tedium unrelenting. [8 Apr 2013, p.42]

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 17
  2. Negative: 7 out of 17
  1. Dec 19, 2014
    10
    It's a great drama with colorful characters, that presents this historical period in a delightful ways. It really lights up this period andIt's a great drama with colorful characters, that presents this historical period in a delightful ways. It really lights up this period and brings it to life. Expand
  2. May 31, 2013
    10
    Love it!! I can't wait to see more of it. The characters are well defined. Mr. Selfridge is a successfully driven man with a past thatLove it!! I can't wait to see more of it. The characters are well defined. Mr. Selfridge is a successfully driven man with a past that motivates him to step outside of the box to stay ahead of his competitors. He's not afraid to take a chance..I like his entrepreneur spirit. He cares about his employees and he brings out the best in them. But the downside of that driven success is that his family is suffering. I think we all can identify with the characters in some way. Great show... Expand
  3. Mar 29, 2014
    9
    I can't believe some of the shots Jeremy Piven is taking here. His skills are excellent and he truly IS the show. That said, the show does notI can't believe some of the shots Jeremy Piven is taking here. His skills are excellent and he truly IS the show. That said, the show does not revolve solely on him and the supporting cast, subplots and secondary storylines are very well done and given proper airtime.
    This show, while not breaking down any walls, is wonderfully written and produced. If I have any criticism, it's that most of the girls are way too skinny. Especially in those oldtime dresses and skirts. Please find some T&A for season 3!
    But what this show displays for all others to use it's example is that: With 10 hour long episodes per season, each episode is in and of itself complete. While there are always some cliffhangers on a small level, every hour takes you from a beginning to an end resolution. Something a lot of cable networks fail to deliver on these days while being lazy and self indulgently dragging weak stories into multiple seasons.
    Expand
  4. Apr 3, 2013
    6
    Rarely have I seen a series where the cast is excellent EXCEPT for the lead. Mr. Piven is overacting in egregious fashion. But the plots areRarely have I seen a series where the cast is excellent EXCEPT for the lead. Mr. Piven is overacting in egregious fashion. But the plots are intriguing, the players consummate and photography and art direction sublime. I just look forward to the Selfridge-less scenes. Expand
  5. Jun 28, 2013
    3
    I really wanted to like this. I love period pieces, and enjoyed both Downton and Call the midwife from PbS. This one was reallyI really wanted to like this. I love period pieces, and enjoyed both Downton and Call the midwife from PbS. This one was really disappointing. Piven's acting was not good, but he wasn't the only one to blame. There's a lot of subpar dialogue and some shockingly bad video editing at times. I couldn't make it through the 4th episode without dropping this; too many good shows to see without wasting my time on this one!

    saw this was picked up for a second season, and if I see really good reviews of that then who knows, maybe I will try to power through to catch back up. Otherwise I would say to avoid this.
    Expand
  6. May 5, 2013
    2
    Promising follow-on to Downton given the period, setting and production quality. The sets and costumes are sumptuous and the multiple storyPromising follow-on to Downton given the period, setting and production quality. The sets and costumes are sumptuous and the multiple story lines interesting, but we still tuned out after the first two episodes. Jeremy Piven ruined it: overacted, out-of-step, and a far too modern persona for ~1910's England. Instead, suggest using an empty refrigerator box to stage your own period drama. Expand
  7. Mar 5, 2014
    0
    After watching only one episode, I can tell you it's one of the worst acted and directed programs I've seen in a very long time. TheAfter watching only one episode, I can tell you it's one of the worst acted and directed programs I've seen in a very long time. The characters are wooden, Piven is abominable - a caricature of an American. If it doesn't improve, I won't be watching. It was truly a painful experience. Expand

See all 17 User Reviews

Trailers