• Network: ,
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 6, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 44
Mr. Selfridge Image
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 31 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: After a successful career at Marshall Field, American Harry Gordon Selfridge (Jeremy Piven) decides to open his own department store in London.
  • Genre(s): Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Mar 29, 2013
    91
    It’s terrific fun as well as involving drama.
  2. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Apr 1, 2013
    75
    The sets and costuming are top-notch. The musical score is brash, if redundant. The personal dramas range from silly to 
diverting.
  3. Reviewed by: Sara Smith
    Apr 1, 2013
    70
    Mr. Selfridge really gets rolling in its third and fourth episodes, when its interlocking stories and Piven’s outsize performance settle into place.
  4. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Mar 29, 2013
    60
    [Piven] brings a contemporary delivery that is jarring in the context of all the period elements around him. Alas, in this particular entourage, which is filled with promise, Piven is the weak link.
  5. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Apr 1, 2013
    50
    It plays like a desperate attempt to recreate all the wonder of “Downton Abbey”--but with no characters to care about.
  6. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Mar 27, 2013
    50
    It's modestly entertaining, but because Davies and his writers and directors have employed a kind of wink-wink artificiality to the performances and style of Mr. Selfridge, you never quite believe much of it and you may find yourself caring only in passing.
  7. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Mar 28, 2013
    25
    The production is gorgeous and the tedium unrelenting. [8 Apr 2013, p.42]

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 13
  2. Negative: 5 out of 13
  1. Jul 18, 2013
    10
    Thoroughly enjoy the show! Jeremy Piven started off slow, but has proven to hold the role. Like the flow of characters & story line. And that not only is it "fact" based, the store is still in existence. Look forward to next Season! Expand
  2. May 31, 2013
    10
    Love it!! I can't wait to see more of it. The characters are well defined. Mr. Selfridge is a successfully driven man with a past that motivates him to step outside of the box to stay ahead of his competitors. He's not afraid to take a chance..I like his entrepreneur spirit. He cares about his employees and he brings out the best in them. But the downside of that driven success is that his family is suffering. I think we all can identify with the characters in some way. Great show... Expand
  3. Apr 26, 2014
    9
    I love Mr. Selfridge! Jeremy Piven is awesome. He is naturally an actor that is easy to love. What I like is that he plays a passionate, kind, intelligent, and caring business man. He is so convincing. Yes, we all love/hate and miss Ari Gold (Entourage) terribly in my house.. but lets move on and appreciate what is new and the wonderful talent he once again brings to us. He is SO underrated.

    Love Frances O'Conner! And though I don't know many of the other actors or their work they are all making their way into my heart. It's a GREAT show. It's very refreshing.
    Expand
  4. Apr 3, 2013
    6
    Rarely have I seen a series where the cast is excellent EXCEPT for the lead. Mr. Piven is overacting in egregious fashion. But the plots are intriguing, the players consummate and photography and art direction sublime. I just look forward to the Selfridge-less scenes. Expand
  5. Jun 3, 2013
    4
    I have never been more passionate about how much I dislike an actor's performance until I saw Piven as Selfridge. To mention this show in the same breath as Downton Abbey leaves a bad taste in my mouth. Expand
  6. Jun 28, 2013
    3
    I really wanted to like this. I love period pieces, and enjoyed both Downton and Call the midwife from PbS. This one was really disappointing. Piven's acting was not good, but he wasn't the only one to blame. There's a lot of subpar dialogue and some shockingly bad video editing at times. I couldn't make it through the 4th episode without dropping this; too many good shows to see without wasting my time on this one!

    saw this was picked up for a second season, and if I see really good reviews of that then who knows, maybe I will try to power through to catch back up. Otherwise I would say to avoid this.
    Expand
  7. Mar 5, 2014
    0
    After watching only one episode, I can tell you it's one of the worst acted and directed programs I've seen in a very long time. The characters are wooden, Piven is abominable - a caricature of an American. If it doesn't improve, I won't be watching. It was truly a painful experience. Expand

See all 13 User Reviews