• Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Feb 9, 2011
  • Season #: 1
User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 45 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 45
  2. Negative: 6 out of 45

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 11, 2011
    8
    I usually agree with the critic aggregation, but here the metascore is way off. The premiere was consistently funny, fast, ironic and slightly weird and with no canned laughter. Tonally, it reminds me of the late and great "Better Off Ted" - human crises in an almost absurd, non-human world. The cast is uniformly excellent, the writing is crisp and everything looks great. I just hope they don't abandon the out-of-left-field humour in order to pander to a broader and duller audience. Expand
  2. Feb 12, 2011
    4
    No, it's not "Friends 2011," but Matthew Perry is definitely playing Chandler Bing again. Granted, it's Chandler Bing in an existential crisis or a permanent snit (I can't tell from the pilot), but Perry trots out the same narrow repertoire of exaggerated facial expressions that passed for acting on his earlier comedy, perhaps hoping to recapture ratings gold. And maybe he will; heaven knows there are worse shows on TV. This one should be better, though, with cast members such as Allison Janney involved. Janney is wasted (in multiple senses of the word) here, playing an exaggerated, incoherent character who, one moment, is so high she answers a non-ringing phone and, the next, offers Perry's character a cogent analysis of his social isolation and its psychic roots. And, because she's supposed to be the loony of the show, she doesn't just match, but surpasses, Perry's facial gymnastics, making this normally compelling actress unwatchable. Others in the superb cast also seemed to be stuck in single-gag mode, with only James Lesure allowed a degree of naturalism. Much of this schtick is the fault of the writers, of course, who seem to believe viewers hunger for axe-wielding clowns, racist songs, and witless-yet-constant references to sex and drugs. The entire cast and crew ought to go on a weekend retreat and watch all 45 episodes of "Sports Night" then try their best to imitate it. Perhaps the resulting hybrid will be dumb enough for ABC not to cancel after only two seasons but sharp enough to engage viewers whose synapses still fire occasionally. Expand
  3. Feb 28, 2011
    6
    The jury is still out on the long-term future of Mr. Sunshine, but so far the episodes have been funnier with every installment. 3 episodes in, I'm still not attached to all the characters, but the ensemble is delightful and writing smart and funny. I'm bothered that Matthew Perry is more Chandler Bing than his impressive break from Friends as Matt Albie on Studio 60 on the Sunset Strip, but I enjoy Perry in just about anything. I'm happy to see him back on TV. Andrea Anders is becoming less appealing on screen, even though I loved her in The Class and Joey. However, Allison Janney is at her best, which is perfect for the show, as are Nate Torrence as her dim-witted son and his unbelievable girlfriend, played by Portia Doubleday. Portia steals the show as Heather, the secretarial pyromaniac! Considering the mindless, generic drivel on network TV, Mr. Sunshine is a ray of...well, you know. Expand
  4. Feb 11, 2011
    0
    This is probably the worst new show I have seen in a very long time. I was surprised because the cast is wonderful but with the terrible writing nobody could save this show. I barely made it thru 30 minutes. All I can say is a dreadful waste of time....hollywood you can do much better than this....bad
  5. Mar 30, 2011
    4
    Mr. Sunshine isn't the best thing ABC has delivered recently. It has its lucky moments when one can laugh and click, but it is underdeveloped under the name of Matthew Perry. The show itself revolves under the character of Ben outshining others. As a result, the main character doesn't have a comedy team to support the whole act. This makes theme storyline and funnylines fall flat from time to time. Mr. Sunshine can improve, but we Expand
  6. Feb 23, 2011
    6
    The worst part about Mr Sunshine is that the show revolves around Matthew Perry. The rest of the cast seems to work well but Perry seems like an out of place character in the wrong show. But because he's the leading man, the spotlight will rarely stray from his dull performance. If this show is to succeed then Perry needs to mingle better with the rest of the cast or this show is cancelled.
  7. Feb 11, 2011
    10
    The few critics that panned this show were looking for Friends 2011. Think of Mr. Sunshine more like Better Off Ted and Scrubs and you will see this show for the gem it is. Refugee actors from previous shows like Studio 60, Ted, and even Lost make for a great cast and the writing is hilarious. The longer this show is on the air the better the metascore will get and its audience will explode. Fans of shows like this are smart and devoted and they will get the word out. Expand
  8. Feb 11, 2011
    10
    I like the movie. I am as old as Perry and sometimes while watching the series it seemed to me that I was looking at the mirror of my everyday routine. Absence of dirty sex jokes shows that Perry has a potential to attract the audience with brighter sides of his personality. The other members of the actor team are very curious and positive and awake warm feelings. I look forward to meeting them again. Expand
  9. Apr 18, 2011
    7
    It sort of reminds me of a male oriented "30 Rock". I like it. Matthew Perry never seems to get the credit he deserves, and this proves that he is more than just a one-note tv star. While it might not be for everyone - it has a light hearted flair that gives all the characters a place in his bizarre little world behind the scenes style. There is enough to keep me watching and hoping that it stays on the air, in hopes this kind of tv show will survive in a world of Dancing with the Stars. Expand
  10. Feb 15, 2011
    2
    One of the beauties about downloading TV, rather than watching it live is you can skip through the tedious bits and see what happens at the end. What happens at the end of this one is the show gets cancelled because it's all tedious.
  11. Feb 18, 2011
    7
    The Boss and Perry's chemistry save this show for me. The supporting cast is okay at best. Some great ideas here and there but not enough to make the whole 30 minutes worth watching. I really hope it improves both creatively and ratings wise.
  12. Mar 4, 2011
    10
    A very funny show that I was shocked wasnt written by Aaron Sokrin after I watched the pilot. Using many of the Sorking regulars (as Perry is himself) the show has a great feel about it. Far more "Sports Night" than "Friends" well written and very funny show.
  13. Mar 12, 2011
    8
    I didn't think I was going to like this show so much after the first episode. I continued watching and it really is a funny show, with some crazy characters. Hope to see more!
  14. Apr 7, 2011
    5
    Started off promising but it became dull and the same thing every episode. I am a fan of Matthew Perry, i liked Studio 60 & Friends. I believe he is a smarter man and could have changed the pace of the comedy in this.
  15. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    This is my new favourite show. Sure it's weird seeing Matthew Perry play a character other than Chandler, but give it a couple of episodes and his character really starts to come out. The humour is well written and different, with just the right amount of randomness. Also there's no laugh track over the top making the show seem a little more intelligent than most sitcoms these days. Also don't let the name throw you off, it is fitting after seeing an episode. Collapse
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 23
  2. Negative: 3 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Feb 18, 2011
    63
    For now, Sunshine is a bit busy and unfocused. [28 Feb 2011, p.43]
  2. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Feb 9, 2011
    25
    I suppose Sunshine can get by for a time on Perry's familiarity to audiences and because it has the great "Modern Family" as a lead-in. But in the long run, those factors aren't enough to counterbalance how much of a downer the show is.
  3. Unfortunately, things just never really gel in a pilot episode that falls flat and is only intermittently funny....In fact, only Janney, whose gleefully oblivious character spews un-PC zingers and keeps a huge self-portrait in her office, makes a truly fresh impression.