• Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Feb 9, 2011
User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 45 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 45
  2. Negative: 6 out of 45

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 11, 2011
    10
    The few critics that panned this show were looking for Friends 2011. Think of Mr. Sunshine more like Better Off Ted and Scrubs and you will see this show for the gem it is. Refugee actors from previous shows like Studio 60, Ted, and even Lost make for a great cast and the writing is hilarious. The longer this show is on the air the better the metascore will get and its audience willThe few critics that panned this show were looking for Friends 2011. Think of Mr. Sunshine more like Better Off Ted and Scrubs and you will see this show for the gem it is. Refugee actors from previous shows like Studio 60, Ted, and even Lost make for a great cast and the writing is hilarious. The longer this show is on the air the better the metascore will get and its audience will explode. Fans of shows like this are smart and devoted and they will get the word out. Expand
  2. Feb 11, 2011
    10
    I like the movie. I am as old as Perry and sometimes while watching the series it seemed to me that I was looking at the mirror of my everyday routine. Absence of dirty sex jokes shows that Perry has a potential to attract the audience with brighter sides of his personality. The other members of the actor team are very curious and positive and awake warm feelings. I look forward to meetingI like the movie. I am as old as Perry and sometimes while watching the series it seemed to me that I was looking at the mirror of my everyday routine. Absence of dirty sex jokes shows that Perry has a potential to attract the audience with brighter sides of his personality. The other members of the actor team are very curious and positive and awake warm feelings. I look forward to meeting them again. Expand
  3. Mar 4, 2011
    10
    A very funny show that I was shocked wasnt written by Aaron Sokrin after I watched the pilot. Using many of the Sorking regulars (as Perry is himself) the show has a great feel about it. Far more "Sports Night" than "Friends" well written and very funny show.
  4. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    This is my new favourite show. Sure it's weird seeing Matthew Perry play a character other than Chandler, but give it a couple of episodes and his character really starts to come out. The humour is well written and different, with just the right amount of randomness. Also there's no laugh track over the top making the show seem a little more intelligent than most sitcoms these days. AlsoThis is my new favourite show. Sure it's weird seeing Matthew Perry play a character other than Chandler, but give it a couple of episodes and his character really starts to come out. The humour is well written and different, with just the right amount of randomness. Also there's no laugh track over the top making the show seem a little more intelligent than most sitcoms these days. Also don't let the name throw you off, it is fitting after seeing an episode. Expand
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 23
  2. Negative: 3 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Feb 18, 2011
    63
    For now, Sunshine is a bit busy and unfocused. [28 Feb 2011, p.43]
  2. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Feb 9, 2011
    25
    I suppose Sunshine can get by for a time on Perry's familiarity to audiences and because it has the great "Modern Family" as a lead-in. But in the long run, those factors aren't enough to counterbalance how much of a downer the show is.
  3. Unfortunately, things just never really gel in a pilot episode that falls flat and is only intermittently funny....In fact, only Janney, whose gleefully oblivious character spews un-PC zingers and keeps a huge self-portrait in her office, makes a truly fresh impression.