• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Feb 9, 2011
  • Season #: 1
Mr. Sunshine Image
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 45 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Ben Donovan (Matthew Perry), a self-centered manager of a San Diego sports arena, struggles to control his staff and appease his boss.
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 23
  2. Negative: 3 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Paige Wiser
    Feb 8, 2011
    88
    There's some smart slapstick, and I believe that Perry could be the one sane man in an arena that holds 17,505 people.
  2. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Feb 8, 2011
    75
    What more could you ask? Sharper scripts, for a start, and a better sense that Perry's unhappy central character is strong enough to hold the center of the show. But there's enough promise here, and enough room to grow, that you can't help hoping Sunshine will follow the midterm-correction path set by the show it's replacing, Cougar Town.
  3. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Feb 9, 2011
    70
    Watching Crystal fire off demands to Ben while working out on a treadmill wearing high heels and a business suit is wondrously, bizarrely funny. If Mr. Sunshine can relocate moments like that from the show's periphery to its center, it may stick around for a while.
  4. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Feb 9, 2011
    60
    Much like "Cougar Town" was back in the fall of '09, Mr. Sunshine is a show with a lot of likable performers, a solid creative pedigree, occasional laughs and a whole lot of room for improvement.
  5. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Feb 8, 2011
    50
    While the varied events coming to the center each week do create comedic possibilities, Sunshine will wax or wane less on what passes through that revolving door than on the underwhelming occupants of its regular offices.
  6. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Feb 9, 2011
    40
    Mr. Sunshine isn't particularly hilarious or endearing, and the comedy doesn't surround Perry with a balanced ensemble of characters who get to be funny as well.
  7. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Feb 9, 2011
    0
    The premiere, which was written by and stars "Friends'" Matthew Perry, has a premise that's full of possibility but a delivery that never arrives.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 15
  2. Negative: 2 out of 15
  1. Feb 11, 2011
    10
    I like the movie. I am as old as Perry and sometimes while watching the series it seemed to me that I was looking at the mirror of my everyday routine. Absence of dirty sex jokes shows that Perry has a potential to attract the audience with brighter sides of his personality. The other members of the actor team are very curious and positive and awake warm feelings. I look forward to meeting them again. Expand
  2. Mar 4, 2011
    10
    A very funny show that I was shocked wasnt written by Aaron Sokrin after I watched the pilot. Using many of the Sorking regulars (as Perry is himself) the show has a great feel about it. Far more "Sports Night" than "Friends" well written and very funny show. Expand
  3. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    This is my new favourite show. Sure it's weird seeing Matthew Perry play a character other than Chandler, but give it a couple of episodes and his character really starts to come out. The humour is well written and different, with just the right amount of randomness. Also there's no laugh track over the top making the show seem a little more intelligent than most sitcoms these days. Also don't let the name throw you off, it is fitting after seeing an episode. Expand
  4. Feb 18, 2011
    7
    The Boss and Perry's chemistry save this show for me. The supporting cast is okay at best. Some great ideas here and there but not enough to make the whole 30 minutes worth watching. I really hope it improves both creatively and ratings wise. Expand
  5. Feb 28, 2011
    6
    The jury is still out on the long-term future of Mr. Sunshine, but so far the episodes have been funnier with every installment. 3 episodes in, I'm still not attached to all the characters, but the ensemble is delightful and writing smart and funny. I'm bothered that Matthew Perry is more Chandler Bing than his impressive break from Friends as Matt Albie on Studio 60 on the Sunset Strip, but I enjoy Perry in just about anything. I'm happy to see him back on TV. Andrea Anders is becoming less appealing on screen, even though I loved her in The Class and Joey. However, Allison Janney is at her best, which is perfect for the show, as are Nate Torrence as her dim-witted son and his unbelievable girlfriend, played by Portia Doubleday. Portia steals the show as Heather, the secretarial pyromaniac! Considering the mindless, generic drivel on network TV, Mr. Sunshine is a ray of...well, you know. Expand
  6. Feb 23, 2011
    6
    The worst part about Mr Sunshine is that the show revolves around Matthew Perry. The rest of the cast seems to work well but Perry seems like an out of place character in the wrong show. But because he's the leading man, the spotlight will rarely stray from his dull performance. If this show is to succeed then Perry needs to mingle better with the rest of the cast or this show is cancelled. Expand
  7. Feb 11, 2011
    0
    This is probably the worst new show I have seen in a very long time. I was surprised because the cast is wonderful but with the terrible writing nobody could save this show. I barely made it thru 30 minutes. All I can say is a dreadful waste of time....hollywood you can do much better than this....bad Expand

See all 15 User Reviews