Murder in the First : Season 1

  • Network: TNT
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 9, 2014
Season #: 1, 2, 3
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jun 6, 2014
    83
    Murder in the First looks to have sturdy underpinnings. Bochco at this point has been around too long to learn entirely new tricks. Still, this is easily his best new series since NYPD Blue tried to break molds more than two decades ago.
  2. Reviewed by: Kyle Anderson
    Jun 4, 2014
    83
    With a season-long focus on a single case, the story has plenty of breathing room, and the San Francisco setting feels particularly natural. As unnecessary things go, Murder is exquisite. [13 Jun 2014, p.75]
  3. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Jun 9, 2014
    80
    Murder in the First, a masterfully paced balance of tricky whodunit and character development, seems to have benefited from both Bochco's hits and the misses, as well as the cable-led experimentation with shorter seasons.
  4. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jun 9, 2014
    80
    Like most of the best cable shows, Murder in the First strips the production and the cast down to the essentials, then executes them well.
  5. Reviewed by: Alessandra Stanley
    Jun 9, 2014
    80
    While this new show is not as innovative as its predecessor ["Murder One"], it is, in its own way, similarly well paced and compelling.
  6. Reviewed by: Mark Dawidziak
    Jun 6, 2014
    80
    Murder in the First is an immediately engaging crime drama boasting a deep cast and crisp direction.
  7. Reviewed by: Jeff Korbelik
    Jun 9, 2014
    75
    This is just a straightforward whodunit--a summer escape.
  8. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Jun 9, 2014
    75
    The character beats with the heroes are as familiar as the show's ensemble, but the leads do some interesting things with them.
  9. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Jun 9, 2014
    75
    The show is generally well written, expertly directed (Thomas Schlamme of "West Wing" directs the pilot) and most of the performances are solid.
  10. 75
    Nobody is likely to remember Murder in the First 18 years from now, as TV aficionados do "Murder One." But viewers who want to watch a mystery unfold and follow the twists and turns without having to sweat it should be more than satisfied.
  11. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Jun 6, 2014
    75
    Good, cleanly told newcomer that can be a bit pokey.
  12. Reviewed by: Brian Tallerico
    Jun 9, 2014
    70
    Bochco and his team of writers find more character depth than we commonly see on TNT & USA programming, which is nice, but the show does feel a little flatter and more predictable than fans of Bochco’s best shows may expect. The mystery may be dull but the cast finds a way to elevate it.
  13. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jun 5, 2014
    70
    The previewed hours establish the series as crisp and watchable, while perhaps shrewdly shifting and expanding the earlier show’s lens from defense attorneys to the detectives assigned the case.
  14. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jun 9, 2014
    67
    There’s nothing wrong with whipping up some comfort food, of course, but Murder might leave you hungry for something more challenging an hour later.
User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 51 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 14
  2. Negative: 5 out of 14
  1. Jul 29, 2014
    10
    Taye Diggs has never been better, but the entire cast shines.The plot takes some unexpected twists and thankfully does not fall into formulaicTaye Diggs has never been better, but the entire cast shines.The plot takes some unexpected twists and thankfully does not fall into formulaic traps of a CSI or SVU. Much as we love those shows, who can't predict what will happen next.. Let's hope TNT renews this one. Full Review »
  2. Jul 20, 2014
    7
    I love shows like Criminal Minds, Law & Order, NCIS and I was hoping to put this show in that category in my file cabinet. So far, I amI love shows like Criminal Minds, Law & Order, NCIS and I was hoping to put this show in that category in my file cabinet. So far, I am leaning toward the kind-of-like level on this show. I do agree with Xyled777 that shows try to push the limits of nudity, so much so, that I am sick and tire of it. I would prefer they use the air time to work more on the case, than parading around scantily clad. The concept of the show is not new or innovating, but it does keep you on your feet. Bring this show to a rousing finale and you will see these red ratings rise up into the green. Full Review »
  3. Jul 9, 2014
    3
    I have grown to love CBS crime shows because they wrap up in one episode--often with one, longer running story throughout many episodes (thinkI have grown to love CBS crime shows because they wrap up in one episode--often with one, longer running story throughout many episodes (think The Mentalist)--but Murder in the First is quite the opposite of CBS crime dramas! I was very much looking forward to another Bochco drama but am sorely disappointed that it comes off as almost a bit "soap opera like." I am already saying to myself, "enough already--solve the case--enough enough with the birthday parties, the home lives of the actors, etc. I want a good whodunit, and Murder...certainly isn't that!" I was a great fan of The Closer and never miss Major Crimes. I know Steven Bochco can do better! Even if Erich Blunt didn't do it, does anybody really care enough about the egotistical narcissist to care if he's convicted? And the show's hung its hat solely on us caring about justice for him? LOL Full Review »