• Network: TNT
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 9, 2014
Season #: 1, 2
User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 41 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 41
  2. Negative: 12 out of 41

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 10, 2014
    3
    I am finding that many of these single-story-all-season shows reflect lazy writing rather than a complex plot requiring time to work out the details. I was expecting great things when I heard that Bochco was back. So far -- so disappointing. I just watched a courtroom scene (episode 3, I think) in which the always excellent Richard Schiff had to perform the most ridiculous bail argumentI am finding that many of these single-story-all-season shows reflect lazy writing rather than a complex plot requiring time to work out the details. I was expecting great things when I heard that Bochco was back. So far -- so disappointing. I just watched a courtroom scene (episode 3, I think) in which the always excellent Richard Schiff had to perform the most ridiculous bail argument imaginable. Soon after the equally excellent James Cromwell struggled through a ridiculously written scene with Schiff and Tom Felton. There is very-close-to-zero believability in the writing in this series. Please Mr. Bochco. Start paying attention. Expand
  2. Jun 12, 2014
    10
    A compelling and intriguing crime thriller with very layered lead characters. Taye Diggs gives it his all, in some of his best acting yet. Very reminiscent of the similar '90s Steven Bochco legal thriller, 'MURDER ONE'.
  3. Jul 20, 2014
    7
    I love shows like Criminal Minds, Law & Order, NCIS and I was hoping to put this show in that category in my file cabinet. So far, I am leaning toward the kind-of-like level on this show. I do agree with Xyled777 that shows try to push the limits of nudity, so much so, that I am sick and tire of it. I would prefer they use the air time to work more on the case, than parading aroundI love shows like Criminal Minds, Law & Order, NCIS and I was hoping to put this show in that category in my file cabinet. So far, I am leaning toward the kind-of-like level on this show. I do agree with Xyled777 that shows try to push the limits of nudity, so much so, that I am sick and tire of it. I would prefer they use the air time to work more on the case, than parading around scantily clad. The concept of the show is not new or innovating, but it does keep you on your feet. Bring this show to a rousing finale and you will see these red ratings rise up into the green. Expand
  4. Aug 12, 2014
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. What a disappointment. It had nowhere to go and it found its target. I knew they had a second recorder I quess I should have a computer company. Oh NO. Expand
  5. Jun 23, 2014
    0
    I gave the show a zero. I am getting sick and tired of these dumb Azz shows trying to push nudity every chance they get. Take a clue from some of the top Emmy winners or shows that have been on for over 9 full seasons without showing any kind of nudity. Tonight was the 3rd episode I tried watching but when they open the scene with a dancing naked lady, I switched it over to cartoons. II gave the show a zero. I am getting sick and tired of these dumb Azz shows trying to push nudity every chance they get. Take a clue from some of the top Emmy winners or shows that have been on for over 9 full seasons without showing any kind of nudity. Tonight was the 3rd episode I tried watching but when they open the scene with a dancing naked lady, I switched it over to cartoons. I almost gave up last episode with the full back naked shot of some women, but wanted to give the show another chance. Even though the nudity finished this show for me, I am also getting pretty tired of the man and women detective/ investigator team shows. Its been done, try to get a bit more creative. Expand
  6. Jul 1, 2014
    9
    Enjoying this show so far. While it's nothing new or notable as far as crime dramas go, the characters, both protagonists and antagonists, are becoming well fleshed out and compelling to watch. I enjoy the fact that it's paced as a serial rather than a procedural and that we truly get to see the ins and outs of these characters as they go through the motions of solving and eventuallyEnjoying this show so far. While it's nothing new or notable as far as crime dramas go, the characters, both protagonists and antagonists, are becoming well fleshed out and compelling to watch. I enjoy the fact that it's paced as a serial rather than a procedural and that we truly get to see the ins and outs of these characters as they go through the motions of solving and eventually prosecuting this crime. Expand
  7. Jul 29, 2014
    10
    Taye Diggs has never been better, but the entire cast shines.The plot takes some unexpected twists and thankfully does not fall into formulaic traps of a CSI or SVU. Much as we love those shows, who can't predict what will happen next.. Let's hope TNT renews this one.
  8. Aug 6, 2014
    0
    Not worth watching. The writing is so bad and disjointed I didn't even make it through the pilot. Normally I don't write reviews, but couldn't help it cause this TV show makes no sense.
  9. Jul 3, 2014
    2
    The female lead is horrid, the acting is worse, The mans wife is going to die and he acts like its a lunch break. I think this shows story could be compelling but the actors really are sub par. And why is the female lead always wearing a shirt where her shoulder is exposed. And in latter episode's why does she have to keep pulling down her shirt to expose more skin? And someone pleaseThe female lead is horrid, the acting is worse, The mans wife is going to die and he acts like its a lunch break. I think this shows story could be compelling but the actors really are sub par. And why is the female lead always wearing a shirt where her shoulder is exposed. And in latter episode's why does she have to keep pulling down her shirt to expose more skin? And someone please feed this woman a sandwich or chicken nuggets. Expand
  10. Jul 9, 2014
    3
    I have grown to love CBS crime shows because they wrap up in one episode--often with one, longer running story throughout many episodes (think The Mentalist)--but Murder in the First is quite the opposite of CBS crime dramas! I was very much looking forward to another Bochco drama but am sorely disappointed that it comes off as almost a bit "soap opera like." I am already saying toI have grown to love CBS crime shows because they wrap up in one episode--often with one, longer running story throughout many episodes (think The Mentalist)--but Murder in the First is quite the opposite of CBS crime dramas! I was very much looking forward to another Bochco drama but am sorely disappointed that it comes off as almost a bit "soap opera like." I am already saying to myself, "enough already--solve the case--enough enough with the birthday parties, the home lives of the actors, etc. I want a good whodunit, and Murder...certainly isn't that!" I was a great fan of The Closer and never miss Major Crimes. I know Steven Bochco can do better! Even if Erich Blunt didn't do it, does anybody really care enough about the egotistical narcissist to care if he's convicted? And the show's hung its hat solely on us caring about justice for him? LOL Expand
  11. Jul 14, 2014
    9
    I like this show. The two lead actors have a great chemistry and it results in an interesting show. Although I generally dislike these "series" shows, this one has been holding my interest. Just sayin.
  12. Sep 3, 2014
    10
    not too many shows I get interested in, but this is one I really enjoyed. Taye Diggs is an good actor. I think the show was a nice change from the rest of the police series.
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: John Anderson
    Jun 11, 2014
    40
    That no one acts in a manner remotely plausible during Murder in the First, regarding either the law or human life, will have viewers feeling like they're just being moved through the system.
  2. Reviewed by: Brian Tallerico
    Jun 9, 2014
    70
    Bochco and his team of writers find more character depth than we commonly see on TNT & USA programming, which is nice, but the show does feel a little flatter and more predictable than fans of Bochco’s best shows may expect. The mystery may be dull but the cast finds a way to elevate it.
  3. Reviewed by: Jeff Korbelik
    Jun 9, 2014
    75
    This is just a straightforward whodunit--a summer escape.