• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Nov 28, 2006
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
My Boys Image
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 46 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Kyle Howard, Jamie Kaler, Jim Gaffigan
  • Summary: TBS' original sitcom centers on a female sportswriter (Jordana Spiro) who covers the Chicago Cubs and hangs out with her male sportswriter pals.
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 23
  2. Negative: 2 out of 23
  1. The goofy affection of her poker buddies is fun, and the writers steer through some pretty well-mined territory with aplomb.
  2. It fields one of the most enjoyable sitcom ensemble casts in some time.
  3. The show is actually good, quietly so, in that way sitcoms rarely are quiet anymore.
  4. Even when "My Boys" isn't wildly funny (which would be most of the time, frankly), it has a lot of charm.
  5. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    60
    Breezy, smart and occasionally funny.
  6. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    60
    The wit can get a little heavyhanded sometimes - yes, it's another series with voiceover narration (can anybody say "Sex and the City"?) - but its heart, and head, are in the right place.
  7. A lackluster "Sex and the City" companion.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 29
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 29
  3. Negative: 6 out of 29
  1. JimB
    Apr 1, 2009
    10
    This show is hilarious! The characters are great and the plot keeps you interested in what will be next to come.
  2. jiml
    Dec 28, 2006
    10
    I love this show. What's not to love?? PJ is the kind of girl that all guys would love to hang with and just possibly fall for. Pretty, I love this show. What's not to love?? PJ is the kind of girl that all guys would love to hang with and just possibly fall for. Pretty, smart, great job, not "too girly" but definitly put together nice, likes beer, likes sports and most important, is a nice person. I love the character of PJ, and if Jordana is anything like PJ in real life, she's the girl of many guy's dreams... Expand
  3. LUKAYAB
    Jan 25, 2007
    10
    Hope the new season starts soon.
  4. mariahb
    Dec 5, 2006
    9
    This is a great show, although there are a bit too many voiceovers. Still, as a woman with almost all male friends myself, I empathize with This is a great show, although there are a bit too many voiceovers. Still, as a woman with almost all male friends myself, I empathize with PJ. She and the other characters are easy to like and have chemistry. Jordana Spiro is perfect as PJ! Expand
  5. Chris
    Dec 28, 2006
    9
    If this show were on NBC, I think it'd be generating a lot more viewers. I hope TBS brings it back. There's a lot of room for If this show were on NBC, I think it'd be generating a lot more viewers. I hope TBS brings it back. There's a lot of room for growth in the characters, and Jim Gaffigan is one of the funniest comedians working right now. I hope the writers are able to take the show to another level, because the foundation is definitely there. Expand
  6. Jennifer
    Dec 22, 2006
    8
    I love this show. Finally the girl with mostly male friends story is being told. PJ is a real girl. That episode when they were going back I love this show. Finally the girl with mostly male friends story is being told. PJ is a real girl. That episode when they were going back and forth about whether you say this thursday or next thursday. I had that exact same arugument with one of my male friends the week before about his wedding being this June or next June. This is a very lighthearted show. It is not high intense drama and it does not try to hard to get a laugh. I think people should take it for what it is and enjoy it. PJ's borther is great. I was laughing so hard in the episode where he was putting together a dollhouse or something for his daughter over PJ's apartment and he tell them to grow up and then makes the sound of the horse clicking down the road. Great show to end the day with! Expand
  7. JohnM
    Dec 30, 2006
    0
    I only watched the show because my wife thought the ads looked interesting. The first 10 minutes consisted of a set-up/punchline round-robin I only watched the show because my wife thought the ads looked interesting. The first 10 minutes consisted of a set-up/punchline round-robin among the ensemble cast. The jokes were tired, weak, and sit-com cliched. We get it, we've seen it before a million times; supposedly ultra-clever characters aiming stinging barbs at each other. Although my wife will watch just about anything, even she decided this show was just too embarrassing to continue viewing. Maybe the show will get better as the viewer discovers the characters, but honestly those first 10 minutes were so bad that the thought of giving it another try just seems foolish. Expand

See all 29 User Reviews