• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 13, 2008
  • Season #: 1
My Own Worst Enemy Image
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 53 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Harry lives the stereotypical suburban life, but he also is Edward, a trained spy. The worlds start to merge as the carefully constructed wall between the two breaks down.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Science Fiction
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 25
  2. Negative: 3 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    100
    Far, far, far and away NBC's best new pilot of the season and one of the best new shows of the season, on any network -- commercial or cable.
  2. 75
    The action is pretty non-stop, the stars terrific and, if you're willing to do the work to follow the complicated plot, the show can be lots of fun.
  3. [Christian] is in rare form here. Which is a good thing since the show's success or failure rests solely on his dramatic agility and general appeal.
  4. 63
    The first episode of Enemy ended up being a relatively compelling hour of television. As competent as it is, though, it’s hard not to think that the premise contains some holes.
  5. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    58
    Slater plays out spy-story clichés that were campy on "The Man From U.N.C.L.E." 40 years ago.
  6. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    50
    The show's success may depend on whether the public's fascination with Slater trumps its collective attention-deficit disorders.
  7. There isn't a series here; just the pitch meeting for a very expensive, very loud, very dopey action movie.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. BarryP.
    Oct 28, 2008
    10
    fantastic premise. It grows on you. You have to see the development of Slater's characters hate for himself. It is such a study in fantastic premise. It grows on you. You have to see the development of Slater's characters hate for himself. It is such a study in contrasts, and Slater does a terrific job of jumping from persona to persona. Expand
  2. Dec 14, 2010
    10
    Christian Slater delivers a brilliant performance portraying two characters who are a split personality. They are the same man but differentChristian Slater delivers a brilliant performance portraying two characters who are a split personality. They are the same man but different to one another, so there are parallels between the characters which makes for a difficult job for the actor who somehow makes this look easy. One of the supporting cast has the same job to do; two connected characters in one man and unfortunately doesn't pull it off. one character is complete while the other is too emotionally dead and without personality. It's only toward the very last two episodes that he begins to 3 dimensionalize the spy character. Sadly, this is another brilliant series that has been cancelled. I am beginning to get annoyed with the networks lack of follow through. Collapse
  3. MikeS
    Nov 21, 2008
    10
    I think that the reason that this show is getting canceled is that an automaker is the sponsor. This is a very well written show that does a I think that the reason that this show is getting canceled is that an automaker is the sponsor. This is a very well written show that does a terrific job every week. Someone else should pick this up. Lot's to like here! Expand
  4. MarilynB.
    Jan 10, 2009
    10
    Original and should bring it back!!!
  5. JavarioF.
    Feb 9, 2009
    10
    I notice that either the alias or the actual news reviews actually responded. With the garbage in the media via musical or visual, it was I notice that either the alias or the actual news reviews actually responded. With the garbage in the media via musical or visual, it was great to see something interesting on television. The television show had more style, depth, and intrigue than a lot of movies. Anything movie-worthy should have a chance on t.v. With all that being said... "Bring it back @ NBC!" What if NBC had a show as huge as Alias? Oh wait, wasn't that My Own Worst Enemy? I believe it was, but what happened? It was canceled! I think the main flaw was probably character depth. I think the problem was that the simple minded couldn't follow the intricate story-line. Maybe if the show builds in depth, maybe it could possibly return. 10 all the way, just needs more location, and breaking down the events to the simple minded low rating reviewers. I see more garbage in the media that would be the stepping stone for the late show that previously passed away. Key points.. i think some people may feel the show was rushed..Maybe it was, but it was still great in it's short life span. If revived, take consideration of the criticism so the appeal shall grow. But, I as long as many other wish for it's return... bring it back, bring it back!!! Expand
  6. RussR.
    Dec 27, 2008
    9
    Engaging, at times edge-of-your-seat spy thriller with an interesting rogues gallery of "normal" and "supernormal" characters. Unlike so many Engaging, at times edge-of-your-seat spy thriller with an interesting rogues gallery of "normal" and "supernormal" characters. Unlike so many excellent shows of the past (non-crime drama or comedy) network shows, I hope it doesn't get cancelled. Expand
  7. DavidH
    Oct 22, 2008
    5
    I had high hopes and even set up the DVR to record all new episodes. However, after just one episode (think it was the second one), the wife I had high hopes and even set up the DVR to record all new episodes. However, after just one episode (think it was the second one), the wife and i were less than impressed. I do like Slater but found the plot and the characters to be a bit tired and cliche. Expand

See all 37 User Reviews