My So-Called Life : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Aug 1, 1994
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 12 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: My So-Called Life started in 1994 on ABC. It was very popular. It was a show that many could relate to and came off as more realistic than many other high school shows. Unfortunately, ABC cancelled it after one season. It has remained a favorite for long after. There are many questionsMy So-Called Life started in 1994 on ABC. It was very popular. It was a show that many could relate to and came off as more realistic than many other high school shows. Unfortunately, ABC cancelled it after one season. It has remained a favorite for long after. There are many questions left unresolved. If there was a season 2, would Rayanne and Angela be friends? Would Graham overcome his fidelity issues? Would Angela ditch dreamboat Jordan Catalano and go with geeky Brian Krakow? We'll never know. Expand
  • Genre(s): Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Reviewed by: John Engstrom
    Aug 27, 2015
    100
    For viewers who scream for quality, this is it...I can't answer for today's teens, but from this geezer-gazing distance, the show is amazingly, wonderfully right. As an added benefit, it's a perfect reminder of why I never again want to be 15. [24 Aug 1994, p.C1]
  2. Reviewed by: Liam Lacey
    Aug 27, 2015
    100
    Easily the best show about the teen experience TV has yet produced.[25 Aug 1994]
  3. Reviewed by: Marvin Kitman
    Jul 12, 2013
    100
    Holzman's writing is brilliant. [25 Aug 1994]
  4. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Aug 27, 2015
    100
    Marshall Hershkovitz and Ed Zwick, the team that brought us "thirtysomething," have a grasp of adolescence that's so real you can smell the Clearasil. [25 Aug 1994, p.45]
  5. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Jun 26, 2013
    91
    I'm beseeching you to watch the pilot of this new series. It's not just extraordinary TV--it's the best piece of filmmaking I've seen anywhere this year. ... In subsequent weeks the series settles into a more predictable and sentimental mold, reminiscent of The Wonder Years, but it is still superior TV.
  6. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Aug 27, 2015
    90
    The most self-absorbed and overwrought - and absolutely fascinating - minimalist TV drama since the same producers put a tribe of yuppie icons under the entertaining microscope of thirtysomething. [25 Aug 1994, p.1D]
  7. Reviewed by: Staff [Not Credited]
    Aug 27, 2015
    42
    My time spent in Angela's life was a wasted hour in my own so-called life. [24 Aug 1994, p.47]

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Aug 26, 2011
    10
    Angela Chase é o melhor personagem de qualquer seriado que eu já vi. Sem falar no restante do elenco: todosAngela Chase é o melhor personagem de qualquer seriado que eu já vi. Sem falar no restante do elenco: todos entrosados e interessantes. Uma pena ter acabado em uma única temporada. Pelo menos, fica a dica para as séries teens que não sabem fazer direito o que My So-Called Life faz com maestria: impressionar. Collapse
  2. May 22, 2013
    8
    A classic, and the quintessential teen drama. Brilliant script, great acting (particularly from Claire Danes) and a validity that no others inA classic, and the quintessential teen drama. Brilliant script, great acting (particularly from Claire Danes) and a validity that no others in its genre can match. Peerless. Expand

Trailers