Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Reviewed by: Allison Keene
    Jun 24, 2013
    80
    Naked and Afraid has a forthright feel to it that borders on a psychological and physical study, even though participants remain with a production crew, unlike the grueling series Survivorman, which featured just one man with a camera.
  2. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Jun 21, 2013
    75
    It’s interesting, weird, enjoyable and not like anything you’ve ever seen on TV before.
  3. Reviewed by: Nancy DeWolf Smith
    Jun 21, 2013
    70
    As show titles go, Naked and Afraid is inspired. Better still, the new Discovery series is even more entertaining than its title.
  4. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jun 28, 2013
    63
    This is less interesting than I'd hoped. [8 Jul 2013, p.36]
User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 2 out of 6
  1. Aug 30, 2013
    7
    Good enough as a survival show. Only being able to have one survival instrument each is interesting. I learned that a pot to boil water in mayGood enough as a survival show. Only being able to have one survival instrument each is interesting. I learned that a pot to boil water in may be much more useful than many other things I might have considered first. The nudity doesn't bother me, it's more of a marketing ploy, as they surely aren't any safer or better off with a pair of shorts or bathing suit, but it could add to the dynamic between the two people in a way. I'm not seeing anything on this show I don't see at the beach. It shows how different people can be and how they both have strengths and weaknesses, and different knowledge and experience. They seem to do much better working together and playing off those strengths and weaknesses. It's better than most "reality" TV. Full Review »
  2. Jul 22, 2013
    8
    I've watched 4 episodes and the excitement varies. The latest was a little less exciting than the others. However, the show is a study onI've watched 4 episodes and the excitement varies. The latest was a little less exciting than the others. However, the show is a study on human endurance on the physical as was as mental levels. Yes the nudity may lure viewers in, but it also exposes just how fragile an animal Homo sapiens are when dropped into nature and asked to survive. I love the concept. Its like a more hardcore "Survivor" wrapped up in one episode. Full Review »
  3. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    I just finished watching episode four and I have to say that Glenn had no business being on the show. Laura would've done so much better ifI just finished watching episode four and I have to say that Glenn had no business being on the show. Laura would've done so much better if she was by herself or with someone else. I think Glenn was there only because she wanted to hang out with a naked chick. It seemed as though Laura had 10 times more survival skills, I think Glenn's only survival skill is drinking beer, the guy couldn't even start a fire. It took Laura and her skills to actually find something halfway decent to eat why Glenn just kept walking off. As far as I'm concerned Glenn's a freaking idiot and should never have been selected for the show, meanwhile Laura did totally awesome. If I was to be stranded somewhere it would be an honor and a pleasure to be stranded with Laura whether she was naked or not. Laura is smart and strong and very ambitious. The score I give is totally for Laura. Full Review »