• Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 15, 2012
  • Season #: 1
Metascore
46

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 22
  2. Negative: 10 out of 22
  1. Reviewed by: Nancy DeWolf Smith
    Jan 13, 2012
    80
    The TV series picks up perfectly where the movie left off, adding spice along the way.
  2. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Jan 13, 2012
    75
    The animated version of Napoleon Dynamite is almost as funny as a cartoon version as it was in the flesh.
  3. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jan 3, 2012
    75
    It's far funnier than Fox's two still relatively new animated series, Bob's Burgers and Allen Gregory. Mickey Mouse it's not, though.
  4. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Jan 13, 2012
    60
    This Napoleon Dynamite is all go, go, go, racing, if nothing else, to keep pace with the host of other animated prime-time shows it joins.
  5. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jan 13, 2012
    60
    Whether Napoleon will work as a weekly animated series may depend on how well a teenager fits in with the other oddballs who populate Fox's Sunday-night animation bloc.
  6. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Jan 11, 2012
    58
    In spots, it's been turned into an antic Saturday morning cartoon. A shame.
  7. Reviewed by: Ross Langager
    Jan 17, 2012
    50
    Napoleon Dynamite the series forms its comedic syntax in the vernacular of those established shows [The Simpsons, Family Guy] instead of retaining the singular phrasing of Napoleon Dynamite the movie, and suffers as a result.
  8. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Jan 17, 2012
    50
    The combination of the characters and the style made the whole shebang much easier for me to take than the movie. Still, I didn't feel any need to watch later episodes.
  9. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jan 13, 2012
    50
    The mixture isn't dynamite but does have moments of quirky charm, and at least marks a step up in class from "Allen Gregory."
  10. Reviewed by: Keith Staskiewicz
    Jan 9, 2012
    50
    While many from the original cast, including Jon Heder, lend their voices, the film's core of discomforting weirdness has been scrapped for cartoon zaniness.
  11. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Jan 17, 2012
    40
    If you were reduced to hysterical laughter by the concept of herbal breast-enlargement cream in the film, you will likely be so again by the superpower-conveying acne medicine in the TV show. If not, well, welcome to Normal Town.
  12. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Jan 13, 2012
    40
    Over all, though, Sunday night's episodes are neither here nor there, lacking the oddball singularity of the movie while not yet achieving the satirical bite that would make the TV show interesting.
  13. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jan 13, 2012
    38
    It's still not funny. [23 Jan 2012, p.42]
  14. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Jan 13, 2012
    38
    At least with the movie, the actors relayed a vulnerability that sparked occasional empathy. That pathos got lost in the transition from live action to animation.
  15. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Jan 17, 2012
    30
    While animation liberates Napoleon and his world from the usual physical restrictions, it somehow lessens the overall appeal of the character and setting.
  16. Reviewed by: Liz Kelly Nelson
    Jan 17, 2012
    30
    Taken together, the monotone voices and 2D characters end up falling flat.
  17. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jan 17, 2012
    30
    Other than re-living some of Napoleon's favorite catchphrases from the 2004 movie, there's not much enjoyment to be gleaned from this obvious, unfunny episode.
  18. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jan 13, 2012
    30
    With a look recalling the glories of King of the Hill, but no discernible point of view or comic fuse of its own, Dynamite is a dud.
  19. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Jan 11, 2012
    30
    Animating [the movie] doesn't actually make it better (or even funny), even if you bring back the original cast to do the voice work.
  20. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Jan 13, 2012
    25
    The writing is a big problem. It's just not funny.
  21. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Jan 12, 2012
    25
    Everything feels like a put-on; nothing seems plausible.
  22. Reviewed by: Michael Murray
    Jan 11, 2012
    25
    The characters are readymade jokes unto themselves, and the plots unfolding around them seem like little more than scenes found on the film's cutting room floor.
User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 49 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 19
  2. Negative: 5 out of 19
  1. Jan 16, 2012
    10
    We thought this was really great. It reminded me of early Simpsons-style humor with the Napoleon Dynamite characters. The Chuck E CheeseWe thought this was really great. It reminded me of early Simpsons-style humor with the Napoleon Dynamite characters. The Chuck E Cheese band in the first episode had us laughing out loud! I also love Seth Macfarlane (especially Family Guy), but I'm glad to see something a little different. Full Review »
  2. Jan 16, 2012
    10
    Loved it! I thought they kept the spirit of the nerd-who-thinks-he's great alive, and it was loaded with funny jokes. I wasn't sure how theyLoved it! I thought they kept the spirit of the nerd-who-thinks-he's great alive, and it was loaded with funny jokes. I wasn't sure how they were going to pull it off since the movie is really slow paced which is fine in film but not so great in animation. Overall I was happy to hear all the voices I loved in the movie again, and I could see how this could totally be a Fox show. I'd definitely watch. The second show was different than the first. Sweeter. I'm totally psyched to see it every week. I can already see the T-shirts: You Do You Die. Taking Care of Pizza, How Many Hawks Do You Own? We had a blast. Full Review »
  3. Jan 15, 2012
    0
    I don't know why this had to happen. Napoleon Dynamite was a very good movie, but this show just completely destroyed it. The comedy worked inI don't know why this had to happen. Napoleon Dynamite was a very good movie, but this show just completely destroyed it. The comedy worked in the movie, but now they are going for a more modern day animated show, and making it dumber. The take the characters of the film and put them in ridiculous situations that make the characters lose any humor or interesting traits. All in all, this is a **** show. Full Review »