• Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 15, 2012
  • Season #: 1
Metascore
46

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 22
  2. Negative: 10 out of 22
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jan 13, 2012
    38
    It's still not funny. [23 Jan 2012, p.42]
  2. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Jan 13, 2012
    38
    At least with the movie, the actors relayed a vulnerability that sparked occasional empathy. That pathos got lost in the transition from live action to animation.
  3. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Jan 17, 2012
    30
    While animation liberates Napoleon and his world from the usual physical restrictions, it somehow lessens the overall appeal of the character and setting.
  4. Reviewed by: Liz Kelly Nelson
    Jan 17, 2012
    30
    Taken together, the monotone voices and 2D characters end up falling flat.
  5. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jan 17, 2012
    30
    Other than re-living some of Napoleon's favorite catchphrases from the 2004 movie, there's not much enjoyment to be gleaned from this obvious, unfunny episode.
  6. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jan 13, 2012
    30
    With a look recalling the glories of King of the Hill, but no discernible point of view or comic fuse of its own, Dynamite is a dud.
  7. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Jan 11, 2012
    30
    Animating [the movie] doesn't actually make it better (or even funny), even if you bring back the original cast to do the voice work.
  8. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Jan 13, 2012
    25
    The writing is a big problem. It's just not funny.
  9. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Jan 12, 2012
    25
    Everything feels like a put-on; nothing seems plausible.
  10. Reviewed by: Michael Murray
    Jan 11, 2012
    25
    The characters are readymade jokes unto themselves, and the plots unfolding around them seem like little more than scenes found on the film's cutting room floor.
User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 49 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 19
  2. Negative: 5 out of 19
  1. Jan 16, 2012
    10
    We thought this was really great. It reminded me of early Simpsons-style humor with the Napoleon Dynamite characters. The Chuck E Cheese band in the first episode had us laughing out loud! I also love Seth Macfarlane (especially Family Guy), but I'm glad to see something a little different. Full Review »
  2. Jan 16, 2012
    10
    Loved it! I thought they kept the spirit of the nerd-who-thinks-he's great alive, and it was loaded with funny jokes. I wasn't sure how they were going to pull it off since the movie is really slow paced which is fine in film but not so great in animation. Overall I was happy to hear all the voices I loved in the movie again, and I could see how this could totally be a Fox show. I'd definitely watch. The second show was different than the first. Sweeter. I'm totally psyched to see it every week. I can already see the T-shirts: You Do You Die. Taking Care of Pizza, How Many Hawks Do You Own? We had a blast. Full Review »
  3. Jan 15, 2012
    0
    I don't know why this had to happen. Napoleon Dynamite was a very good movie, but this show just completely destroyed it. The comedy worked in the movie, but now they are going for a more modern day animated show, and making it dumber. The take the characters of the film and put them in ridiculous situations that make the characters lose any humor or interesting traits. All in all, this is a **** show. Full Review »