• Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 15, 2012
  • Season #: 1
User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 49 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 49
  2. Negative: 18 out of 49

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 15, 2012
    0
    I don't know why this had to happen. Napoleon Dynamite was a very good movie, but this show just completely destroyed it. The comedy worked in the movie, but now they are going for a more modern day animated show, and making it dumber. The take the characters of the film and put them in ridiculous situations that make the characters lose any humor or interesting traits. All in all, this is a **** show. Expand
  2. Jan 16, 2012
    10
    Loved it! I thought they kept the spirit of the nerd-who-thinks-he's great alive, and it was loaded with funny jokes. I wasn't sure how they were going to pull it off since the movie is really slow paced which is fine in film but not so great in animation. Overall I was happy to hear all the voices I loved in the movie again, and I could see how this could totally be a Fox show. I'd definitely watch. The second show was different than the first. Sweeter. I'm totally psyched to see it every week. I can already see the T-shirts: You Do You Die. Taking Care of Pizza, How Many Hawks Do You Own? We had a blast. Expand
  3. Jan 16, 2012
    10
    We thought this was really great. It reminded me of early Simpsons-style humor with the Napoleon Dynamite characters. The Chuck E Cheese band in the first episode had us laughing out loud! I also love Seth Macfarlane (especially Family Guy), but I'm glad to see something a little different.
  4. Jan 29, 2012
    1
    Napoleon Dynamite, the movie, was an instant cult classic: a strange and funny world filled with strange and funny people; a strange and funny that is all too familiar in our own lives. We relate, we cringe, we laugh. Napoleon Dynamite, the animated tv series, is just like the movie except it's not strange or funny. I didn't relate, I didn't laugh, but I did cringe.
  5. Jan 22, 2012
    10
    A very pleasant surprise, as many, I was a pretty big fan of the movie so why not give this a shot? Picks up right where the movie left off, some jokes are directly from the movie but many are fresh and clever. I haven't laughed this hard on a Sunday night in a long time (offense taken: Simpsons, Family Guy). Hope this doesn't get cut, give it a chance, very, very funny indeed.
  6. Jan 16, 2012
    10
    Fantastic. Just like the movie, you either love it or hate it, and I have to say that I loved it! There are already so many quotable quotes, and we've only had 2 episodes! I hope this series goes on for many seasons. 10/10
  7. Jan 23, 2012
    10
    I loved it, I like how it features satire, blue comedy, and the sitcom format. Te animation was great, i was pretty entertained from beginning to start and laughed pretty hard. I honestly prefer this way more than family guy and NPD is 2nd to the Simpsons.
  8. Jan 16, 2012
    0
    I thought the original movie was among the worst movies I ever watched, but this new television series couldn't even measure up to the movie. It combined a horrible written story with the same monotone voice acting from the movie. The animated characters were every bit as expressionless and boring as the actors in the movie six years ago.

    Fox made a bad decision to order this series. It
    has a chance of survival only because of the likability of the movie it has spun off of and its position in the Sunday night lineup (between The Simpsons and Family Guy at a time when few networks offer any new programming). I would encourage you to find something else to watch during this 30 minute block on Sunday nights. Maybe with the lack of viewership Fox will realize how bad the show is and replace it with something worthwhile. Expand
  9. Jan 20, 2012
    10
    Napoleon Dynamite hit all the right notes in this new animated series. I laughed out loud many many times. The cast is back and is just as solid as in the motion picture. If you want to enjoy a great show with friends, pick Napoleon Dynamite. The writing is stellar and everyone should experience this show! Lucky!
  10. Jan 29, 2012
    6
    Napoleon Dynamite dose right by having the original cast reunite and they pick up were the film left off. The one big thing it dose wrong how ever is carry non of the charm/appeal the movie had an instead try to be like every other animated tv show. It more reminds me of the 90's animated series were weird and zanny things just happen to be weird and zanny. The problem is this style has been done to death and dose nothing new other series has not done. Even as a stand alone show it's pretty weak. The one saving grace and what gives hope is the cast. Hopefully the writers will snap back to it and go to make what made the movie so great. Expand
  11. Jan 21, 2012
    8
    I have not seen the original film all the way through, but I remember seeing clips of it years ago (admittedly, I was most likely no older than 10) and not finding it funny in the least. Needless to say, I was expecting the same from this show. However, this is actually a pleasant surprise. Again, I cannot compare it to the film, and seeing I'm not a fan any discrepancies in style or humor are irrelevant to me. However, I thought this was filled with quirky, clever, intelligent humor. It's all very subtle, deadpan, and rapid-fire, almost reminiscent of Bob's Burgers or Arrested Development (don't get me wrong, it's not nearly at that caliber, but I find the styles similar). Overall, it was an entertaining show that had me laughing out loud the whole way through. I'd watch it again. Unfortunately, due to the style of what's popular in the mainstream (not to mention the critical reception), I doubt this will stay on air for too long. There's always hope, however! Expand
  12. Jan 21, 2012
    8
    I like how well it reflects the movie as a whole, meanwhile making something for itself as a cartoon. I can see this show lasting a good bit of time, maybe 3-5 seasons.
  13. Jan 25, 2012
    0
    This really is awful. I loved the Napoleon Dynamite film but this cartoon is just awful. It's not funny in any way and the humour just isn't the same as the film. If you really love the film don't bother with this.
  14. Feb 7, 2012
    4
    lame re-visiting of old jokes. this can't last, it really has nowhere to go and they are going to run out of jokes fast. it's better than watching infomercials or american idol though.
  15. Mar 11, 2012
    5
    They took a good movie, and basically ruined it in this animated spin-off. They basically took the same stuff from the movie and turned it up a notch in a really not good way. If you loved the movie then it is a maybe for you, but if you didn't then do not watch this show.
  16. Jun 5, 2012
    5
    The show acted as if the movie never happened, the show lasted as long as it should have. I appreciated the show, but i never really cared much for it. There's nothing special or new about it, just another family guy-style cartoon that never made it bigtime.
  17. Jun 11, 2012
    10
    i loved this show which actually got me to watch the movie usually shows dont make me laugh as much a this show. im really looking forward to season 2 the only complaint i have i that there was only 6 episodes
  18. Jun 20, 2013
    0
    El show es demasiado estresante, pues en algunos momentos intentan de una manera estupida hacer reir.xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
  19. Feb 15, 2014
    6
    Napoleon Dynamite only needed the movie for it to become a cult classic, but the show only over kills it . For people the comedy may have only appeared once, but the series may have just gotten people sick of it.
Metascore
46

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 22
  2. Negative: 10 out of 22
  1. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Jan 17, 2012
    30
    While animation liberates Napoleon and his world from the usual physical restrictions, it somehow lessens the overall appeal of the character and setting.
  2. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Jan 17, 2012
    40
    If you were reduced to hysterical laughter by the concept of herbal breast-enlargement cream in the film, you will likely be so again by the superpower-conveying acne medicine in the TV show. If not, well, welcome to Normal Town.
  3. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jan 17, 2012
    30
    Other than re-living some of Napoleon's favorite catchphrases from the 2004 movie, there's not much enjoyment to be gleaned from this obvious, unfunny episode.