• Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 15, 2012
  • Season #: 1
User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 49 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 49
  2. Negative: 18 out of 49

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 15, 2012
    0
    I don't know why this had to happen. Napoleon Dynamite was a very good movie, but this show just completely destroyed it. The comedy worked in the movie, but now they are going for a more modern day animated show, and making it dumber. The take the characters of the film and put them in ridiculous situations that make the characters lose any humor or interesting traits. All in all, this isI don't know why this had to happen. Napoleon Dynamite was a very good movie, but this show just completely destroyed it. The comedy worked in the movie, but now they are going for a more modern day animated show, and making it dumber. The take the characters of the film and put them in ridiculous situations that make the characters lose any humor or interesting traits. All in all, this is a **** show. Expand
  2. Jan 29, 2012
    1
    Napoleon Dynamite, the movie, was an instant cult classic: a strange and funny world filled with strange and funny people; a strange and funny that is all too familiar in our own lives. We relate, we cringe, we laugh. Napoleon Dynamite, the animated tv series, is just like the movie except it's not strange or funny. I didn't relate, I didn't laugh, but I did cringe.
  3. Jan 16, 2012
    0
    I thought the original movie was among the worst movies I ever watched, but this new television series couldn't even measure up to the movie. It combined a horrible written story with the same monotone voice acting from the movie. The animated characters were every bit as expressionless and boring as the actors in the movie six years ago.

    Fox made a bad decision to order this series. It
    I thought the original movie was among the worst movies I ever watched, but this new television series couldn't even measure up to the movie. It combined a horrible written story with the same monotone voice acting from the movie. The animated characters were every bit as expressionless and boring as the actors in the movie six years ago.

    Fox made a bad decision to order this series. It has a chance of survival only because of the likability of the movie it has spun off of and its position in the Sunday night lineup (between The Simpsons and Family Guy at a time when few networks offer any new programming). I would encourage you to find something else to watch during this 30 minute block on Sunday nights. Maybe with the lack of viewership Fox will realize how bad the show is and replace it with something worthwhile.
    Expand
  4. Jan 25, 2012
    0
    This really is awful. I loved the Napoleon Dynamite film but this cartoon is just awful. It's not funny in any way and the humour just isn't the same as the film. If you really love the film don't bother with this.
  5. Feb 7, 2012
    4
    lame re-visiting of old jokes. this can't last, it really has nowhere to go and they are going to run out of jokes fast. it's better than watching infomercials or american idol though.
  6. Jun 20, 2013
    0
    El show es demasiado estresante, pues en algunos momentos intentan de una manera estupida hacer reir.xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Metascore
46

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 22
  2. Negative: 10 out of 22
  1. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Jan 17, 2012
    30
    While animation liberates Napoleon and his world from the usual physical restrictions, it somehow lessens the overall appeal of the character and setting.
  2. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Jan 17, 2012
    40
    If you were reduced to hysterical laughter by the concept of herbal breast-enlargement cream in the film, you will likely be so again by the superpower-conveying acne medicine in the TV show. If not, well, welcome to Normal Town.
  3. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jan 17, 2012
    30
    Other than re-living some of Napoleon's favorite catchphrases from the 2004 movie, there's not much enjoyment to be gleaned from this obvious, unfunny episode.