• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 15, 2012
  • Season #: 1
Napoleon Dynamite Image
Metascore
46

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 49 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The animated comedy is based on the 2004 movie, with Jon Heder reprising his role as Napoleon.
  • Genre(s): Comedy, Animation
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 22
  2. Negative: 10 out of 22
  1. Reviewed by: Nancy DeWolf Smith
    Jan 13, 2012
    80
    The TV series picks up perfectly where the movie left off, adding spice along the way.
  2. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jan 3, 2012
    75
    It's far funnier than Fox's two still relatively new animated series, Bob's Burgers and Allen Gregory. Mickey Mouse it's not, though.
  3. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jan 13, 2012
    60
    Whether Napoleon will work as a weekly animated series may depend on how well a teenager fits in with the other oddballs who populate Fox's Sunday-night animation bloc.
  4. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Jan 13, 2012
    40
    Over all, though, Sunday night's episodes are neither here nor there, lacking the oddball singularity of the movie while not yet achieving the satirical bite that would make the TV show interesting.
  5. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Jan 13, 2012
    38
    At least with the movie, the actors relayed a vulnerability that sparked occasional empathy. That pathos got lost in the transition from live action to animation.
  6. Reviewed by: Liz Kelly Nelson
    Jan 17, 2012
    30
    Taken together, the monotone voices and 2D characters end up falling flat.
  7. Reviewed by: Michael Murray
    Jan 11, 2012
    25
    The characters are readymade jokes unto themselves, and the plots unfolding around them seem like little more than scenes found on the film's cutting room floor.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 19
  2. Negative: 5 out of 19
  1. Jan 20, 2012
    10
    Napoleon Dynamite hit all the right notes in this new animated series. I laughed out loud many many times. The cast is back and is just asNapoleon Dynamite hit all the right notes in this new animated series. I laughed out loud many many times. The cast is back and is just as solid as in the motion picture. If you want to enjoy a great show with friends, pick Napoleon Dynamite. The writing is stellar and everyone should experience this show! Lucky! Expand
  2. Jan 23, 2012
    10
    I loved it, I like how it features satire, blue comedy, and the sitcom format. Te animation was great, i was pretty entertained from beginningI loved it, I like how it features satire, blue comedy, and the sitcom format. Te animation was great, i was pretty entertained from beginning to start and laughed pretty hard. I honestly prefer this way more than family guy and NPD is 2nd to the Simpsons. Expand
  3. Jan 16, 2012
    10
    We thought this was really great. It reminded me of early Simpsons-style humor with the Napoleon Dynamite characters. The Chuck E CheeseWe thought this was really great. It reminded me of early Simpsons-style humor with the Napoleon Dynamite characters. The Chuck E Cheese band in the first episode had us laughing out loud! I also love Seth Macfarlane (especially Family Guy), but I'm glad to see something a little different. Expand
  4. Feb 15, 2014
    6
    Napoleon Dynamite only needed the movie for it to become a cult classic, but the show only over kills it . For people the comedy may have onlyNapoleon Dynamite only needed the movie for it to become a cult classic, but the show only over kills it . For people the comedy may have only appeared once, but the series may have just gotten people sick of it. Expand
  5. Jun 5, 2012
    5
    The show acted as if the movie never happened, the show lasted as long as it should have. I appreciated the show, but i never really caredThe show acted as if the movie never happened, the show lasted as long as it should have. I appreciated the show, but i never really cared much for it. There's nothing special or new about it, just another family guy-style cartoon that never made it bigtime. Expand
  6. Feb 7, 2012
    4
    lame re-visiting of old jokes. this can't last, it really has nowhere to go and they are going to run out of jokes fast. it's better thanlame re-visiting of old jokes. this can't last, it really has nowhere to go and they are going to run out of jokes fast. it's better than watching infomercials or american idol though. Expand
  7. Jan 25, 2012
    0
    This really is awful. I loved the Napoleon Dynamite film but this cartoon is just awful. It's not funny in any way and the humour just isn'tThis really is awful. I loved the Napoleon Dynamite film but this cartoon is just awful. It's not funny in any way and the humour just isn't the same as the film. If you really love the film don't bother with this. Expand

See all 19 User Reviews