• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 10, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Nashville (2012) Image
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 136 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Veteran country singer Rayna James (Connie Britton) goes on tour as newcomer Juliette Barnes (Hayden Panettiere) seeks to be the new star.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Music
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 32
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 32
  3. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Oct 22, 2012
    100
    Nashville is the best new show of the fall. [29 Oct 2012, p.37]
  2. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Oct 9, 2012
    100
    It has Emmy caliber performances from its two leads and an authenticity that won't quit.
  3. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Oct 10, 2012
    90
    Happily, Nashville, with its unexpected intelligence and surprisingly low-key attitude, not only met all my cockamamie expectations, it exceeded them.
  4. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Oct 8, 2012
    80
    It all blends together in an entertaining, easily digestible hour.
  5. 80
    It feels lived-in, confident. That's a good sign.
  6. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Oct 9, 2012
    80
    It's a high-class entertainment that takes its locale and its characters seriously and treats the audience to some enjoyable music along the way.
  7. Reviewed by: Phillip Maciak
    Oct 9, 2012
    63
    While plenty of Nashville is compelling, detailed, and beautifully acted, plenty of it feels boilerplate.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 30
  2. Negative: 3 out of 30
  1. Apr 24, 2013
    10
    I had about given up on TV with the senseless reality shows...til Nashville came along. I am a professional musician..this show is incredible. Music, the acting...these actors sing better than most of the mega stars and the acting is a 10. Great writing, great casting. I believe in TV again. Way to go, this show is tops. Expand
  2. Oct 11, 2012
    10
    Nashville is an incredibly unpredictable show filled with amaZayn cast. LoveIT!!!! It provides normally unattainable views of how celebrities live, even though only one episode aired, one can tell it is going to be spectacular Expand
  3. Dec 1, 2012
    10
    Nashville is the best new series on TV this season. It is extremely satisfying to see broadcast TV get the music business right - or even mostly right. The characters have depth I've rarely seen in commercial television, and the actors are all pitch perfect. This show has everything you'd want - social relevance, human angst, love, honor, duty....... It's all there. I hope future episodes match the stellar beginning of its first few - and I hope the network has the sense to keep renewing it. This is a must see. Bravo! Expand
  4. Oct 13, 2012
    9
    It's hard to know where exactly this show will go, but so far I have seen a lot of promise. Connie Britton is the new Candice Bergen, she's just electric. Expand
  5. Feb 14, 2013
    8
    I'm a huge fan of Connie Britton and Country music, so I really wanted to like this show. It hasn't disappointed. Maybe too many soapy plot threads running around, and Rayna's corrupt daddy (played poorly by Powers Boothe) is sooo tired and cliche; but other than that there's lots to like. Music by T Bone Burnett, great cast and characters. Great "Inside music industry" stuff. I love this show. Expand
  6. Oct 16, 2012
    7
    It reminds me of a tv version of the movie Country Strong. Moving with the times or be left out. It seems to be plodding along nicely, great cast and writing is not bad. The pilot was likeable and ambitious. It doesn't cater for the kids like Glee does but a more respectful audience and therefore instantly gets credit. I'll continue watching and see where it goes. Expand
  7. Nov 23, 2012
    0
    I sincerely tried to watch this show. I watched the first show and was bored to tears. I tried the second episode and was so bored that I could not make it all the way through. It is a very nitch show and I am not part of that group. God Bless ya if you can sit through this hour of misery every week. Collapse

See all 30 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble?

    TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble? Image
    Published: February 14, 2013
    Which current TV shows have the best odds of returning, and which are likely to be canceled? We survey a group of industry experts to predict the fates of Community, Happy Endings, Vegas, Go On, The Following, Nashville, Beauty & The Beast, and more bubble shows.
  2. Fall TV Second Look: Nashville (ABC)

    Fall TV Second Look: Nashville (ABC) Image
    Published: November 9, 2012
    ABC's country music drama has been a hit with critics, but not as much with viewers. Is there still a reason to turn in after five episodes? Check the latest critical consensus inside.
  3. Fall TV Results: The Season's Best & Worst New Shows

    Fall TV Results: The Season's Best & Worst New Shows Image
    Published: November 6, 2012
    Get our final rankings of all new primetime shows that debuted this fall, and find out how each broadcast network performed compared to years past.