• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 10, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3
Nashville (2012) Image
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 147 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Hayden Panettiere, Charles Esten, Connie Britton
  • Summary: Veteran country singer Rayna James (Connie Britton) goes on tour as newcomer Juliette Barnes (Hayden Panettiere) seeks to be the new star.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Music
  • Creator: Callie Khouri
  • Show Type: In Season
  • Season 1 premiere date: Sep 1, 2012
  • Episode Length: 60
  • Air Time: 10:00 PM
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 32
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 32
  3. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Oct 22, 2012
    100
    Nashville is the best new show of the fall. [29 Oct 2012, p.37]
  2. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Oct 9, 2012
    100
    It has Emmy caliber performances from its two leads and an authenticity that won't quit.
  3. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Oct 10, 2012
    90
    Happily, Nashville, with its unexpected intelligence and surprisingly low-key attitude, not only met all my cockamamie expectations, it exceeded them.
  4. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Oct 8, 2012
    80
    It all blends together in an entertaining, easily digestible hour.
  5. 80
    It feels lived-in, confident. That's a good sign.
  6. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Oct 9, 2012
    80
    It's a high-class entertainment that takes its locale and its characters seriously and treats the audience to some enjoyable music along the way.
  7. Reviewed by: Phillip Maciak
    Oct 9, 2012
    63
    While plenty of Nashville is compelling, detailed, and beautifully acted, plenty of it feels boilerplate.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 32
  2. Negative: 3 out of 32
  1. Jan 31, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Nashville is an OK show. It's not hard to impress me, all it takes is a good story line. At one point I thought the original storyline took a sharp turn, but it sure did come back. The series starts off with Rayna James and Juliette Barnes being opposites, but towards where the season is now, they partner up with the tour. I like how the writing took a turn like that. This is a great show, but it isn't at the absolute top of my list. Expand
  2. Apr 29, 2014
    10
    Nashville is awesome!!! Ever since I started watching this show I've been hooked! and has a bunch of interesting and deep characters, at leastNashville is awesome!!! Ever since I started watching this show I've been hooked! and has a bunch of interesting and deep characters, at least one of them is relatable to most people. The music is also great and clearly the actors/ musicians of the cast are very talented!!!!! many of the songs I'd like to download Expand
  3. Dec 1, 2012
    10
    Nashville is the best new series on TV this season. It is extremely satisfying to see broadcast TV get the music business right - or evenNashville is the best new series on TV this season. It is extremely satisfying to see broadcast TV get the music business right - or even mostly right. The characters have depth I've rarely seen in commercial television, and the actors are all pitch perfect. This show has everything you'd want - social relevance, human angst, love, honor, duty....... It's all there. I hope future episodes match the stellar beginning of its first few - and I hope the network has the sense to keep renewing it. This is a must see. Bravo! Expand
  4. Oct 13, 2012
    9
    It's hard to know where exactly this show will go, but so far I have seen a lot of promise. Connie Britton is the new Candice Bergen, she'sIt's hard to know where exactly this show will go, but so far I have seen a lot of promise. Connie Britton is the new Candice Bergen, she's just electric. Expand
  5. Feb 8, 2013
    8
    When I first saw the promos for Nashville I thought it looked really good. Now I like some country music but I'm not exactly a real countryWhen I first saw the promos for Nashville I thought it looked really good. Now I like some country music but I'm not exactly a real country music buff. So while I liked the actors who were in it from the start I wasn't exactly sure how long I would be hanging in because of the country music theme. The cast is great. I love Connie Britton and Hayden Panettiere. They're both terrific. Except for the storyline involving Kimberly Williams Paisley's character, I'm invested in the stories. I hope this show is around for a while. Expand
  6. Oct 6, 2013
    7
    Nashville was one of my favourite new shows from 2012 but towards the end it felt a bit predictable. However the performances by both ConnieNashville was one of my favourite new shows from 2012 but towards the end it felt a bit predictable. However the performances by both Connie Britton and Hayden Panettiere were good. Expand
  7. Nov 23, 2012
    0
    I sincerely tried to watch this show. I watched the first show and was bored to tears. I tried the second episode and was so bored that II sincerely tried to watch this show. I watched the first show and was bored to tears. I tried the second episode and was so bored that I could not make it all the way through. It is a very nitch show and I am not part of that group. God Bless ya if you can sit through this hour of misery every week. Expand

See all 32 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble?

    TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble? Image
    Published: February 14, 2013
    Which current TV shows have the best odds of returning, and which are likely to be canceled? We survey a group of industry experts to predict the fates of Community, Happy Endings, Vegas, Go On, The Following, Nashville, Beauty & The Beast, and more bubble shows.
  2. Fall TV Second Look: Nashville (ABC)

    Fall TV Second Look: Nashville (ABC) Image
    Published: November 9, 2012
    ABC's country music drama has been a hit with critics, but not as much with viewers. Is there still a reason to turn in after five episodes? Check the latest critical consensus inside.
  3. Fall TV Results: The Season's Best & Worst New Shows

    Fall TV Results: The Season's Best & Worst New Shows Image
    Published: November 6, 2012
    Get our final rankings of all new primetime shows that debuted this fall, and find out how each broadcast network performed compared to years past.