NCAA® March Madness® Image
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 0 Critics Awaiting 4 more reviews What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Be the first to review!

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: March Madness returns to CBS with live coverage of the NCAA Men's Division I Basketball Championship. CBS has been televising the Tournament since 1982 and has been the exclusive broadcaster for all games (except the Tuesday play-in game) since 1991, the exception being 2003 when daytime first round games were moved to ESPN to accommodate CBS News' coverage of the Gulf War. The Tournament, one of the most popular events on the U.S. sporting calendar, is a single knockout tournament staged annually at various sites across America. The 65 team field is currently made up of 31 automatic bids for conference tournament winners and 34 at-large bids determined by a selection committee. The selection committee also determines the seedings for each participant. The tournament takes place over three weeks beginning in mid-March. There are four regions (West, Midwest, East and South) with 16 teams each and the winner of each region qualifies for the national semi-finals, which are better known as the Final Four. During the first week, there are 16 games each on Thursday and Friday and 8 games each on Saturday and Sunday which reduce the field to 16 teams. The 16 teams are better known as the Sweet 16. During the second week, there are 4 games each on Thursday and Friday (the Regional semi-finals) and 2 games each on Saturday and Sunday (the Regional finals) which determine the Final Four participants. During the third week, the National semi-finals are contested on Saturday and the National Final on Monday night. This guide begins with the 1978 Tournament, as that was the first year in which all games were televised on one network or another. NCAA Tournament Champions prior to 1978 are as follows: 1977: Marquette University 1976: Indiana University 1975: UCLA 1974: North Carolina State University 1973: UCLA 1972: UCLA 1971: UCLA 1970: UCLA 1969: UCLA 1968: UCLA 1967: UCLA 1966: Texas Western University 1965: UCLA 1964: UCLA 1963: Loyola University 1962: University of Cincinnati 1961: University of Cincinnati 1960: Ohio State University 1959: University of California 1958: University of Kentucky 1957: University of North Carolina 1956: San Francisco University 1955: San Francisco University 1954: LaSalle University 1953: Indiana University 1952: University of Kansas 1951: University of Kentucky 1950: City College of New York 1949: University of Kentucky 1948: University of Kentucky 1947: Holy Cross University 1946: Oklahoma A&M 1945: Oklahoma A&M 1944: University of Utah 1943: University of Wyoming 1942: Stanford University 1941: University of Wisconsin 1940: Indiana University 1939: University of Oregon Expand
  • Genre(s): Sports, Sports
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of
  2. Mixed: 0 out of
  3. Negative: 0 out of