• Network: CBS
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 23, 2003
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7 , 8 , 9 , 10 , 11 , 12
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 23
  2. Negative: 3 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Shales
    Mar 3, 2013
    30
    Navy NCIS may not be ghastly, but it's a mutation, gratuitous and clunky. We don't need another criminal investigation show and we don't need another military justice show, and this series is those two, two, two shows in one.
  2. Reviewed by: Aaron Barnhart
    Mar 3, 2013
    30
    But if its idea of entertainment is a new domestic terrorist threat every week - as it is in tonight's debut - no thanks. As for the stars, Harmon is Harmon, an acquired taste I never acquired. [23 Sept 2003, p.E1]
  3. Reviewed by: Steve Johnson
    Feb 28, 2013
    30
    As slow-witted as its redundant title would have you believe. [22 Sept 2003, p.3]
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 80 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. May 21, 2011
    10
    My review goes out to the whole show this is definitely one of my favorite series it provides a fair amount of dramatic episodes to keep the attention of viewers. the cast all show great acting skills on the portrayal of their characters and there backgrounds and i will definitely carry on watching and would recommend it to all crime drama fans Full Review »
  2. Jan 10, 2011
    10
    Great start to a wonderful show.
    Many of the characters in this series are deeper and more complex than their competition, and offer an almost
    unlimited direction and scope to grow into.
    Unlike other procedural crime shows, this one mixes the serious and the funny with quirky humor and enlightened gags.
    Many of the story arcs are short, but they are introducing many others that are proving interesting and should provide viewers some fun.
    The writing is done well, and the acting is even better.
    I would like to see some more of the back-story of some of the leads, and maybe a bit more action; not necessarily shooting or car chases, but more mental or in-depth action.
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 14, 2014
    2
    I love, love, love this show but please get rid of Bishop. She is very cute but pulling this show down. She will never make it. I'm not comparing her to Ziva but the poor thing is boring. She will never be a Kate or ZIVA. Full Review »